We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

A Plus Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of A Plus Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hostel grounds look decrepit, but the owners keep the kitchen, bathrooms and rooms very clean. We stayed two short nights to hike Tongariro. Just let the owner know you plan on visiting the National park, and he’ll find another couple with a car. Basically you drive to the end of the crossing, leave one car there, then drive to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audream9
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to stay if you like nice talks with everyone around you. Ian, the owner of the place knows everything about the neighborhood, local attractions and the best way to discover that. Don't hesitate to ask! And actually talk to everyone, you'll make the most out of your journey when you open-up, not just staring at your mobile. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ian the owner and also his son really make a difference. Frankly saying, the bedrooms, toilets and the kitchen are not the newest models, but still ok and working. We stayed just one night, it was pretty calm. Car parking directly in front of our room. There are a lot of furniture and stuff spread around. There is definitely a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M598MCvanessas
Olfen, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel itself is old and tired with lots of graffiti everywhere, facilities are ok, it was good for one night or passing through. bed comfortable and good shower, parking out front and tea/coffee available in kitchen

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owners, without exception, were the most helpful I've ever come across giving me tips on the local amenities and attractions. It was the perfect location for the Tongoriro Alpine Crossing and many other walks round this area that I wasn't aware of. I had only booked 2 nights but would have liked to have stayed a lot longer because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marjlee
aplus360, Owner at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you so much, and i hope you have many happy times and adventures i new zealand, come back soon

SUDAMERICA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed two nights here and even when it's nothing fancy it's a very good option considerating that you have a single room for only 20,50 US dollars. The owner assisted me with everything I needed it. Good budget opinion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NEWSTED1981
aplus360, Owner at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you so much and i hope yu are happy in this country of paradise. look after yourself and share the love

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The hostel is old and looks ramshackle /rundown. Lots of graffiti on the walls, that I guess somebody thought would look like art, but it really just likes like some sort of abandoned building. Beds are of terrible quality. Kitchen and room were dirty, the sink in the room has not been cleaned in probably a year, there were hairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pixxidix
aplus360, Manager at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your response. Have a nice day and be kind

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

It was the perfect place to stay for the Tongariro Crossing. The owner gave me really good tipps and organized a FREE shuttle for me! So if you want to save money, then come to that hostel! Cheers, Tom

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
aplus360, Owner at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your comments and may you have a great day

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

While I wouldn't consider myself a "professional" backpacker I have stayed in quite a few hostels and this is by far the worst. The owner was always making unfunny jokes to the point where it was just awkward, made worse by the fact we were a group of non-native English speakers. The bedrooms were dirty with the rules of hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke X
aplus360, Manager at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your views, with the constant flow of travellers coming through your comments are unwarranted but have taken them into consideration to do better, We clean constantly, and yes we do leave disinfectant in the bathrooms because it takes is one person to go in to the bathroom to mess it up..i hope the rest of your trip...

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This place is great - maybe not the flashest, but everything works, everything is in place and most important - owner and his fam are your new friends that do think with you and will do the upmost to make sure u get the best out of whatever your plans are. Even simple thing like kitchen drawers having contents written...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martins Z
aplus360, Owner at A Plus Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your comments and have a great day

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
1.6 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
263 reviews
1.6 km away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
113 reviews
1.2 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
#15 of 17 in Turangi
77 reviews
1.9 km away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
166 reviews
1.5 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
a 10 minute walk from the i site and supermarket.we are happy to pick up and drop off.deals with local shuttle to do the tongariro crossing.a relaxed family vibe in which to do hiking, skiing, trout fishing. thermal activity. hiking in the kaimanawas forest park, exploring the local glow worm cave at okapata down shaft, and central located in the middle of the north island, to do hawkes bay winery , taranaki and mt egmont, and a half way point between auckland and wellington ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Plus Backpackers Lodge

Address: 41 Te Iwiheke Place, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: RM125 - RM263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A Plus Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your A Plus Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A Plus Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from A Plus Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“share the love :)”
 of 5 bubbles chloe1436, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“end of the corridor, distance from the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles 60petrag, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have patio doors onto a green area and they look nice”
 of 5 bubbles Bernadette54, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“shops nearby”
 of 5 bubbles 492zanej, 29 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I went for single room and was very pleased with it”
 of 5 bubbles TSCBone, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5