Radstone Hotel

Radstone Hotel

Traveller (253)
Room
Room & Suite (68)
Private Dining Suite or Function Room
Dining (27)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Larkhall
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Radstone Hotel is a luxury hotel tucked away in rural Lanarkshire within the picturesque Clyde Valley. The spacious and unique hotel combines modern and eclectic styles, resulting in a dynamic atmosphere. Be impressed by the grand foyer, perfect for meeting your friends and colleagues whether for a relaxing coffee or special occasion. The Opal Restaurant offers the ultimate social and dining experience, with a varied menu to choose from. The hotel is complete with state of the art conference rooms and a Function Room - the largest in South Lanarkshire which can hold up to 350 guests or be split to accommodate less retaining the perfect atmosphere for your wedding, celebration or meeting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to VisitScotland standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles957 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Radstone Hotel garners appreciation for its high cleanliness standards and the modern, luxurious aesthetic of its rooms and suites. While the spacious and well-decorated rooms receive accolades for their comfort, some guests have encountered housekeeping and maintenance issues. Opinions on service quality vary, with reports of both commendable and disappointing interactions. Amenities are generally well-received, though service inconsistencies are noted. However, the value proposition is a point of contention, as some reviewers consider the pricing for food and drink to be steep without a corresponding level of service.
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Modern
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
957Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 453
  • 243
  • 124
  • 73
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
susan wrote a review Aug 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is very picturesque great views neat garden,plenty parking and stunning decor in hotel building,staff are polite and helpful ,face covering was worn by staff in opal restaurant where evening meal was served.Our choice of meal was steak pie and creamed potatoes,steak was very dry no gravy and potatoes were also very dry with no taste and definitely not creamy with hard edges vegetables were very basic and pastry was ok but very flaky.Breakfast was inedible only fancied scrambled egg on toast,scrambled egg was like an solid omelette with black in the middle you could stand your fork up in it,scrambled egg should be moist and runny this was like a bad reheat certainly was not made fresh.Our room was a suite,you would expect a suite to have a high standard,not ours I’m afraid,the patio doors were dirty with bird droppings as was the balcony,the curtains were dirty with what looked like dirty hands or foundation marks on the inside,sofa had white marks on cushion backs,furniture was scratched and scraped,walls needed a coating of paint due to the amount of marks,bedroom lamps were very bright too much for a bedroom,no privacy at windows being on ground floor and facing level with carpark could do with some voiles or blinds.ensuite was nice but no handle in inside of shower door had to open from top.Tea coffee in room was ok but polystyrene cups (probably replaced because of COVID)were all that was available,I HATE polystyrene cups!!Dont want to totally slate this hotel it was a nice stay,will I return... probably not
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, your comments will be discussed with the team. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I can only apologise for all of these issues which have lead to you having a experience which is very much below the standards we strive to achieve. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Yours Sincerely, Jennifer Morrison Deputy General Cluster Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KR10 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our party consisted of 4 adults and 3 children aged 7,11 and 12.

The staff were very pleasant and the meal was served without delays. The standard of food was very good.
We all had a great lunch it was relaxed and nothing was a problem for any of the staff.
Our bill came to approx £209 this consisted of 3 courses for 6 and one adult having 2 courses. We had 2 rounds of drinks with one glass of wine.

Our family have been going to the Radstones Hotel on NYD for the last few years and will continue to do so.

It’s definitely worth trying.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Radstone Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear karinr910 Thank you for taking your time to leave us some feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your meal and I am glad that all of the staff were very attentive, I will make sure to pass on your comments to them. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and for new years day dinner next year. Kind Regards Chris Owen Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Josie wrote a review Jan 2023
Essex, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is really nice, the rooms are lovely and well laid out, food is good and staff pleasant, however, my 2 night stay for work seemed to be plagued with issues.
Check in was swift and was in my room in a matter of moments, the hotel looks like that of a 4 star, not a 3.
The room was well sized with a double bed, chairs, a desk, large mirror, Smart TV, a bath with overhead shower and good toiletries.
When I went to use the bath I found there was no plug so I had to get dressed again and call reception and ask for one, they quickly brought one up (albeit a well used old fashioned cream rubber plug).
I started to run the bath, was turning the knobs in all directions for about 15 minutes trying to get hot water with no luck, called reception again… there now was no hot water, they advised an engineer was on their way and they’d call me once they’d been, I didn’t get a call, the water didn’t run through hot again that night so was unable to wash.
At 6:30am the next morning, I was woken by the fire alarm sounding around the hotel… no need for my phone alarm that day!
Breakfast was great, cooked breakfast and also continental buffet.
The second night I got back and there was lovely hot water so ran a bath, went to the basin to wash my face and filled it with water, washed my face, went to let the water out… the push down plug was jammed in and stuck, this had obviously happened before because you could see all the scratches around it where it’d obviously been picked free in the past!
The rest of the night and the next morning I was brushing my teeth and washing my hands in the bath (rolls eyes).
On check out the next morning there was no mention from the receptionist about any of the issues the first night, no mention of the fire alarm so I didn’t address it again either.
Such a shame, because it could’ve been so good and could’ve been my regular hotel for my Scotland work trips!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine S wrote a review Feb 2020
Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For years the Radstone Hotel has been our family's go-to dining place for celebrations, special occasion meals or lunches to cheer or pick you up. The quality of food and extensive menu choice never fails to deliver satisfaction to a high degree. And on the rare occasion the restaurant feels the pressure staff are quick to step in with recompense and apology. The Opal Restaurant offers menus catering to every time of the day with views over the Clyde Valley countryside surrounding the hotel. Very quickly, the Radstone will undoubtedly become your go-to dining place too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kyle, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear L1981KDelaines Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, I am very happy to hear that you use us for lots of different occasions and that each time has been a good experience. I am always happy to hear from returning customers and I am sure the staff will be happy to hear all of your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Chris Owen Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Safari726439 wrote a review May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived to a warm and friendly reception, that set the tone for the stay. We went for the bigger family room and it was very spacious, well appointed and in good condition. We also chose to eat in the hotel and the food was very tasty and reasonably priced. The bar and restaurant staff were also very friendly and helpful with nothing being a trouble, including dealing with my food allergy. It’s a long time since we’ve enjoyed a hotel stay like we did here. Many Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 25 May 2022
On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for taking the time to award us with a 5 star review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay at the Radstone and that everyone you encountered were friendly and helpful. We strive on a daily basis to provide a high level of service and it's always great to hear such good feedback. Please be assured I have shared your positive words of praise with my team. We certainly hope to see you return in the future, and until then please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine C wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Five of us and a 23 month old went for dinner tonight . What a let down !! The portions were all a very poor size.The steak in the steak pie was chewy . The veg was hard and looked very unappealing .The babies chicken goujouns were hard and dried up. Wev never before been charged £5.95 for a meal for an under 2. His small bottle of fruit shoot was £1.75, how they can justify that I don’t know. When my husband mentioned all these faults to the waitress whilst paying the bill - all she said was ... il let the chef know . No apology ... no offer of a reduction on the cost of the final bill .... nothing ! What a disappointment , and a complete waste of money .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Dear Christine C, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. I woud really appreciate if it you could email myself to give us the oppertunity to discuss this further and to give us a chance to earn back your trust. I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Jennifer Morrison Assistant Cluster General Manager jennifer.morrison@rad.ltd.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy F wrote a review Jan 2020
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went as a 4 on the spur of the moment and we were very pleased we did. Excellent range of food with good portions of starters and sides for the smaller appetite. I had 3 courses none of which disappointed with the mushroom risotto and cheesecake being particularly good. A local restaurant with a good menu offering very good value for money
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Radstone Hotel
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear andyf292 Thank you for taking your time to leave us a kind review. I am happy to hear that you decided to give us a try and that you all had an enjoyable time. I will pass on all of your kind comments to the staff im sure they'll be delighted to hear. I hope to see you return again in the future. Kind Regards Chris Owen Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy 😀 wrote a review Jan 2020
West Lothian, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We returned this year after having a great time at the Hogmanay Ball last year. Once again we had an excellent night. From arrival the staff were courteous and friendly. The room we were allocated was spotlessly clean, although a little cool, it soon warmed up. Furnishings looked a bit dated, a more modern look in my opinion would be better. Bathroom was very clean, with lovely soft towels, shower great with adequate hot water and great pressure. The Hogmanay Ball was very busy, which created a great atmosphere. The food was very good and served quickly. As soon as the live band started the dance floor was full and this continued throughout the evening. Bar service was quick with no long queues, prices were reasonable in my opinion. Overall a great night, a friendly atmosphere and great fun. Didn't make breakfast but had a light lunch which was tasty, good service from restaurant staff. Great ambience in this hotel. Hopefully be able to return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD-Hotel-Group, Manager at Radstone Hotel
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear N649RYandrewr Thank you for taking your time to leave us some feedback regarding your experience here, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Hogmanay ball and also all aspects of your stay, I will make sure to pass on all of your comments to the staff and I hope to see you return again in the future. Kind Regards Chris Owen Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angelapearson68 wrote a review May 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Love the Radstone hotel Recently stayed in Crystal Suite, I felt I experienced 5 star accommodation, food and service. Big thank you to Chris hotel manager , all aspects of the hotel are so well managed.. I have been on the ‘shielding’ list so it was great to speak to Chris where he could re assure me of all the measures his hotel group were taking. This enabled me to enjoy stays and meals during the pandemic whenever restrictions were lifted. We have also enjoyed many family gatherings in the restaurant as well as Tribute nights
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAD Hotel Group, Owner at Radstone Hotel
Responded 25 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share the positive experience of your stay at the Radstone Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable time and that you felt comfortable staying with us due to the measures we have had in place for Covid 19. It is always our aim to provide a high level of service so I am pleased we were able to do provide this to you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and until then if you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, John Stirrat General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindahollins wrote a review Oct 2021
Poole, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we were in was a superior room called the arran b suite. The room was small and very plain, no pictures, only one chair, and the sink in the bathroom was tiny with a large tap. and you could hardly wash in it! The noise during the night of water coming down the internal soil pipe was quite disturbing , lack of insulation we assume.

The evening meal started off well with scallops and brie and cranberry bruschetta . The main courses were disappointing. The gammon was really several thin slices of ham with no taste and the poached salmon was totally tasteless but covered in hundreds of capers .The dessert of a Scottish sundae we shared .. and it was lovely.
Overall we were rather disappointed with the meal.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Arch asked a question Jan 2023
11 contributions17 helpful votes
Do any couples go to the ladies day tribute events or is it for women only ?
Hamilton, United Kingdom20 contributions49 helpful votes
Sorry, I don't know.
paulaagee asked a question Aug 2020
Cumnock, United Kingdom60 contributions65 helpful votes
Hi, is there any walks etc near this hotel?
Answer from ACC
Glasgow, United Kingdom34 contributions66 helpful votes
Not next to hotel, however short drive away some good walks.
R.H asked a question Feb 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom89 contributions48 helpful votes
Hi there, is there any restaurants near by? Going for birthday and would rather go out for a meal than in the hotel.
Answer from Bill T
Glasgow, United Kingdom30 contributions45 helpful votes
OOPS wrong Hotel, if wanting a Super meal try Wee Lochan, Crow Road Glasgow. Top fayre at very reasonable prices.
R.H asked a question Feb 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom89 contributions48 helpful votes
Hi there, is there any restaurants near by? Going for birthday and would rather go out for a meal than in the hotel.
Answer from DeeAll
London, United Kingdom35 contributions69 helpful votes
The hotel food is good but I think you would need to go into the nearest town for a restaurant, can't say we noticed one locally.
217amanda asked a question Aug 2018
Glasgow, United Kingdom194 contributions25 helpful votes
I have booked a suite, does it have a fridge?
Answer from 6HEATHFIELD
Aberdeen, United Kingdom53 contributions11 helpful votes
Sorry I don’t remember there bring one
Maureen M wrote a tip Jun 2024
Wishaw, United Kingdom42 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are very quiet.The beds are very comfortable. Its a beautiful well run hotel.I would recommend it"
Read full review
brian m wrote a tip Mar 2024
Armadale, United Kingdom754 contributions97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book before you lose out great place"
Read full review
JJ4950 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Centrally located with lovely outside areas."
Read full review
Bob M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Troon, United Kingdom441 contributions230 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book ahead, it’s a busy place. Enter by the second driveway from the motorway junction"
Read full review
Franmaz wrote a tip Jan 2024
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom875 contributions310 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take great care entering the bath as there is no handrail in place!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Larkhall area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 712 - RM 989 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Shawlands Park Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireLarkhall
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RADSTONE HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 294 Photos (Larkhall, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Radstone Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Radstone Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gouldings Garden Centre (3.3 km), Chatelherault (6.1 km), and The Bubbles Factory (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Radstone Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Radstone Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Radstone Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Radstone Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Radstone Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beefeater Hamilton, Da Claudio, and The Everest Inn.
Does Radstone Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Radstone Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Radstone Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatelherault (6.1 km) and Dalzell House (6.1 km).
Is Radstone Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Larkhall HotelsLarkhall Hotel DealsHotels near Radstone Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire