We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of The George Inn
 Click to rate
Selby
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for breakfast on the first last Saturday and at eleven thirty now menu we were told they'd taken them down we then pointed out that it clearly states that breakfast was served while 12 so after a very rude reply she gave us a menu so we ordered 2 large 1 medium 1 small we complained several times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes, the place has been spruced up .....ish. Because of the refurbishment, we decided to give it another try. The menu is very similar to its predecessor, great if you like lots of greasy food. As a previous writer experienced, the mixed grill was missing some items - though in my case, I got two pieces of chicken. The steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cantuccinibiscuit
Hull
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was going to put a 2 on the review but I changed it to 3 as you never know what might be happening behind the scenes (lack of resources, chef lost his glasses, etc). Ordered a mixed grill for me and my partner ordered fish and chips. After a reasonable (but not excessive) wait our food arrived-well, most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Selby is a working town that has seen better times. But after meeting many townspeople at the newly re-opened and re-named George Inn I conclude that the town is on the up. Sited next to the abbey the George has been refurbished to cater for those who want to dine or just call for a drink. It's hotel rooms have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordons527
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Great stay at the george inn. Friendly helpfull staff, lovely clean room , quiet with comfy bed , good shower and great view of abbey. will stay again. Also in a good location and free parking near by

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We are working really hard here at the George Inn to make guests feel really welcome so that they continue to return-We are pleased that is the case with you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We walked in to a loud and unattractive pub and sat at a filthy table. Someone came to take the glasses and condiments away and clearly saw the state of the table. Never returned to clean it. Would not recommend to anyone. Horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taylorrevelator
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the newly refurbished George Inn. The room was fresh, clean and spacious. The bed was really comfy and the room had TV and coffee making facilities and had ensuite. The staff at the George were friendly and welcoming and the food was really tasty and great value. Would definitely recommend and will be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claire h
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Great stay at the George , the bed was very comfortable and the room lovely and clean. Could not fault the food and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu is a Kings Feast with lots of choice, I had a smothered Rump Steak cooked jut right and my wife had a large mixed grill again cooked just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Lynn
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The George Inn is clean and comfortable Staff are friendly and rooms are enough to sleep soundly in at a reasonable price. The pub itself has a good choice of drinks and cheap and cheerful food. The pub is now fresh and modern whilst keeping some traditional charm! The perfect combination

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Well booked this on bookings. Com and what a complete let down ... have to say before I complain the staff were wonderful and attentive and more than happy to help .. the manager not so much in fact when asked can we book he wasn't interested at all so another member of staff who was off duty at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libbie Loo H
R S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations on this occasion. Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered. We agree with your comments about the hotel needing a cash injection and we will be closing our doors on the 23/01/17 for 4 weeks to complete a £500k+ refurbishment of the...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
11.1 km away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
532 reviews
13.4 km away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
10.7 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#6 of 9 in Selby
291 reviews
0.6 km away
Hazeldene Guest House
10.6 km away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Food & drink at the hotel
The George Inn Pub
The George Inn Pub
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Market Place, Selby YO8 4NS, England (Formerly Londesborough Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Price Range: RM321 - RM392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Speak to Richard who is the manager responsible for all the development”
gordons527, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask to be far away from the nightclub if your a light sleeper”
ap384, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms are awful”
Librarian2013, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not at the front, and try get a top floor room”
VickiN733, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“As it says on its website best to get rooms away from over the bar below!!”
magpiefox, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5