We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hitchin Priory

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hitchin Priory
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hitchin Priory
See the most recent reviews
Showing 374: English reviews
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

As you arrive at Hitchin Priory the kerb appear is magnificent. Approached by a short drive way up to the ancient building's façade, with a babbling stream/ponds to the right my expectations were high. Having eventually found somewhere to park--the car park appears to be shared with an insurance company and possibly others--clearer signage before the LV car park barrier...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John C
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Please4 accept my most sincer apologies for the poor stay at the priory. would you be kind enough to contact me to discuss your stay in more details. Kind regards

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding reception here in May in the marquee. On the lead up to the day Charlotte was really helpful, always on hand to answer questions either on the end of the phone or via email. We filled in a detailed plan of where we wanted items placed and I spent a long time doing a detailed table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cafitzg1
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I will address the issues you listed with my team. Kind regards.

Shefford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Ive recently had my wedding here at the Priory, and it was the most amazing day. Special thanks to Charlotte, you done amazing with helping us make it the most perfect day of our life's. A huge thank you to all the staff at the Priory, you all worked very hard and done so much for us. I fully recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahpepper32
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Stewart, Many thanks for your kind comments. I will certainly pass them on to my team. Wishing you both a long and happy married life.

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I chose this as another lucky dip hotel and the building & history seemed interesting. Like a maze inside where old & new buildings join so walked around & enjoyed exploring 3 times to find my room ! Bar had 8 blokes watching the football praying for an England win. The building & gardens are huge and nice to wander...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
Thierry V, Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I only wish we'd done enough to warrant another star. Kind regards

Essex
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I stayed on business last Thursday. A really nice hotel just one minute walk from the town centre. The building is beautiful set in it's own grounds. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were very good as was the food. I hope to stay again soon, many thanks to Thierry and his excellent team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Priory and I look forward to welcoming oyu back. Best regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

I wish I had stayed in Premier Inn. Very bad rooms and terrible breakfast. Needs a lot of investment to make the best of a nice old building and grounds. The room was in an Annex which internally was worse than armed forces barracks...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tonyandruth
Thierry V, Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. As imformed in the newsletter in every bedroom, we are in the process to refurbish our bedrooms as they are indeed tired. Would you be kind enough to email me (Thierry.viatge@chartridge.co.uk) and inform me of the issues you encountered . With kind regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Reasonable price. Few disappointments. Booked in at Priory Court ; no convenient parking for disabled. Advised to park in space close to accommodation - guests in rooms opposite where we parked annoyed! Room ; fan in bathroom inactive. No hooks in bathroom for robes. Insufficient hangers in wardrobe. No information in bedroom about facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank POPPYEWAN
Thierry V, Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment> We did have two parking spaces reserved for guests with disabilities next to the Priory Court, unfortunately inconsiderate able guests often tend to ignore the signage and stopped Blue Badge holders from using them. it is a shame. We also man our reception 24 hours a day and would have provided you with additional coat...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We held our wedding in the Marquee in May and we had a wonderful day. Charlotte who put together our wedding plan for the day did a professional and great job. Everything went to plan and was just as requested. The staff were extremely helpful, efficient, friendly and worked hard to make our day a success. The food topped the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathy201632
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

I am genuinely delighted to read that we provide you with a great day and I will ensure that Charlotte reads your comments. Wishing you a long and happy married life.

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

All the staff were amazing for our wedding day. They was all so helpful and friendly. We had our wedding in the marquee and it was just beautiful. The food was also lovely. The rooms i did see were a good size and clean. The bridal room was lovely and clean. I'm so glad we decided to have our wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chelseeroberts
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

It was our pleasure hosting your wedding and I am glad that we did not let you down. wishing you a very happy married life.

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Having read a number of reviews that berate this little gem in a lovely historical town, I would like to retort that for the cost of our room, I believe this to be one of the best "value for money" stays that my family and I have ever undertaken. The quirky décor mix of modern reception in a very old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil B
Thierry V, General Manager at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Many thanks for your email and kind comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and exploring Hitchin. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Thierry

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
3.2 km away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
219 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 km away
Offley Place Country House
0.1 km away
Lord Lister Hotel
Lord Lister Hotel
#7 of 8 in Hitchin
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Price Range: RM299 - RM522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hitchin Priory staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hitchin Priory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay here, but simply enjoyed a lunchtime snack.”
 of 5 bubbles GeoffLePage, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms in the main hotel seem to be of a good standard”
 of 5 bubbles jennie_hampel, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter in the annex, but the party that was on stopped at 12 midnight so it was not a problem for us”
 of 5 bubbles V2857LZcarolinem, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 71murrayg, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor, lower numbered rooms seem quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CliveP175, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5