We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abisko Lodge and Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Abisko Lodge and Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We have travelled widely through New Zealand and overseas in the last twenty years or so and have never met a more uncooperative and grumpy manager. Not a good look when dealing with the public. Hope his break away improved his attitude. The Lodge was clean and comfortable and ideally placed for local shops/cafes etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesleygam
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi lesleygam, I am not sure you stayed with us. How do I come at this? 1) A thorough search of our booking system does not find a booking with your name. 2) No one at this establishment has had a break/holiday in the past three months. 3) Your comments “Uncooperative and Grumpy” and not in step with the common...

Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2014

Beside the Lodge, there is a building with 2 large apartments. Ours slept 8 in 3 bedrooms, with ample extra hanging and drying space. Nice and clean. 2 bathrooms was slightly tight for 8 separate adults but enough. Beds comfortable, but unfortunately the hot water system failed twice, so we had to be patient for hot showers. Probably the system...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Loreen B, Thank you for taking some time and reviewing your stay at Abisko Apartments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have a little mishap with the HWS and being an electrical appliance, does not give you warning when it will go on the fritz. We did get a new thermostat installed and...

Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great place to stay in Methven. After a full day on Mt Hutt it felt like we were coming home, comfortable rooms, great spa and relaxing lounge area. Awesome heating in rooms. Owners were very helpful with recommendations on places to eat and are super friendly. Walking distance to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylie-taylor
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Kylie-taylor, "Felt like you were coming home"!!! Thank you so much – this is probably one of the nicest things someone could have said. We spent many hours renovating last year and furnishing the apartment to make it as comfortable as we could and homely – to be told we achieved this is very rewarding: Thank you again. Both...

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, although I think it was a 3 bedroom with the additional bedroom locked. The apartment was very well finished, spacious, exceptionally clean and tidy with good amenities. The log fire had been lit and heated the place very well. The owners were very accommodating in allowing us to check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roughy67
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Roughy67, Thank you for taking some time to offer us thoughts on your stay in our apartment. The apartments were recently renovated and should have been spick and span for your stay. There is new bedspreads and comforters on each bed and extra blankets for those cold nights. Cleanliness is the most important aspect for us. We strive to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Besides being close to everything like the 2 pubs, transport and all the places to eat and besides being a comfortable clean place to stay the lasting impression that I took away from Abisko was the way the owners treated us. They were great. They helped us with a room swap and were always available to answer our questions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark r
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Owner at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Mark, Thank you for your lovely comments about us and our little town that we have grown to love. Methven has a lot to offer and is a laid back kind of place where nothing happens in a hurry (except the emergency services). Smiles are free in Methven. We are so glad that you were happy with the accommodation...

Muswellbrook, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place was amazing to stay at! the hosts are so lovely and friendly and have great knowledge of the local area ! The room was perfect and more than we expected. Loved the fire place in the lounge room and the cats !!! would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area for a lovely homely place to stay! Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sairz_loves_holidays
Abisko_Campground, Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Sairz & Muzz Thank you for your comments – it is great to hear that you guys had a great time with us in Methven. Winter in Methven would not be the same without the roaring log fire – we are lucky to have one and it makes for such a lovely atmosphere to relax in, at the same...

Canterbury, NZ
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night recently after finding good recommendations on trip advisor. Great reception & help on arrival with recommendations for local eateries etc. The room was large, bedding for 4 people, and it was exceptionally clean and tidy. The queen bed was really comfy & once the heating warmed up the room was really toasty. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TischlerAndHubby
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Guest Relations Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi there TischlerAndHubby, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and please accept my apologies for being tardy with my response to you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the lodge and we are very happy that you found our rooms warm, bed comfortable and our rooms exceptionally clean and tidy....

Auckland
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We booked one of the apartments for our biking group Smokin 'Arrows, and it was cosy and comfy. Would be excellent for a family on a ski holiday too. Hosts Leunne and Alex were really cheerful and helpful. Highly recommend it. Cosy woodfire burner in lounge and 2 toilets in the apartment.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AucklandJax
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Guest Relations Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi AucklandJax, Thank you for your comments. I hope the Smokin Arrows crew got home safe and sound and without too many saddle blisters… We are happy you enjoyed your apartment. The fireplace is surely a hit. Some years ago, a travel expert recommended that we have it pre-lit for guests to walk into the apartment to the soft glow...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My partner, two month old and myself recently spent a wonderful weekend at Abisko Lodge. We were delighted with how homely and welcoming the lodge and the managers were to myself and my family. we we spent our evenings by the gorgeous fire relaxing and getting to know our hosts. Definitely recommend Abisko! thank you for such a great experience,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A-Renouf
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Guest Relations Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi A-Renouf, It was great to see you and your young family recently on your visit to Methven. The main feature of our lodge is the warm and friendly atmosphere which is shared amongst us and our guests. During winter, we have the log-fire burning in the lounge area where you can enjoy a coffee, some music and a chat...

Reviewed 27 April 2013

I have been to Abisko Lodge for four ski seasons now. I have never met more wonderful people than Alex and Leunne. They are so knowledgable of the area and helpful. Nothing is a bother. The location is great. The view of the mountain from the lounge room is simply breath taking. My evenings are spent having a 'night cap'...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Docedm
Abisko_Lodge_NZ, Guest Relations Manager at Abisko Lodge and Apartments, responded to this review

Hi Docedm, Thank you for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your self-contained apartment. I agree, the views of the mountains are, at times spectacular – just a pity we could not have put on one of those special sunrises we sometimes get. This really showcases the mountain well. Methven is a real hub for the ski enthusiast...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.2 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
111 reviews
15.1 km away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
178 reviews
1.0 km away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Central Luxury Apartments
Central Luxury Apartments
#10 of 21 in Methven
31 reviews
0.7 km away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 21 in Methven
169 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#4 of 21 in Methven
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Abisko Lodge and Apartments offer Methven (Mt Hutt) motel style accommodation options close to the foothills of Mt Hutt, Canterbury, South Island, New Zealand. Mt Hutt Ski Area is one of New Zealand’s most popular ski areas with its close proximity to Christchurch, over 680m (2240ft) of vertical and annual average snowfall of 4m (13ft). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abisko Lodge and Apartments

Address: 74 Main Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range: RM331 - RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abisko Lodge and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Abisko Lodge and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abisko Lodge and Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments are great for families.”
 of 5 bubbles 873bradj, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“For 1 or 2 people ask for the apartment out back. Its fairly private with good heat, kitchenette, outside sitting area, comfy double bed,couch, small wardrobe and dining table. The shower/bathroom is slightly narrow but adequate. I consider it a good value.”
 of 5 bubbles KeithB942, 11 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Alex and luenne are very good at accomodating large groups.”
 of 5 bubbles Helen_Anderson, 10 Mar 2012 | Read review
“If travelling as a group ask for apartment- it is a home away from home, with kitchen & 2 bathrooms, ideally located in town.”
 of 5 bubbles Dot_Rowe, 9 Mar 2012 | Read review
“2 x 3 bedroom apartments, great for larger groups travelling together. very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretM503, 10 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay