We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Pub Methven

74 reviews
Save
Traveller (17)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (4)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good35%
  • Average27%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“chicken curry”(2 reviews)
“great meal”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (74)Write a Review
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
17
25
18
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
25
18
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschicken currygreat mealgreat atmosphereon arrivalskiing
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Most of the restaurants in Methven seem to be closed or have limited hours in the off season. The Blue Pub was very inviting with its outdoor seating and blue exterior. Everything we ordered was very good and tasty: the vegetarian soup with wholemeal toast,...More

Thank InformedDecision
Response from MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub MethvenResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and the food at The Blue. Just to clarify there are a total of 8 restaurants plus 4 cafes open during the summer months in Methven which is pretty good for a smaller town. We tend to...More

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Avoid ordering their pizza. We were hungry and ordered two quite expensive pizzas. I think there is 3 options. Both was so bad we couldn't eat the "meatlovers" and the chicken was just as bad but we managed a few slices. We felt totally ripped...More

Thank Elizabeth777_12
Response from MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub MethvenResponded 12 January 2018

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Our pizzas are one of our more popular menu options and we usually receive glowing reviews on them. We will certainly check with the kitchen to make sure the usual high standards were consistent...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Methven is a small farming town with a few location worth the visit, this is one of them. Great atmosphere and good beers. I think we were there on Quiz night because the crowd was having lots of fun. When we left I notice no...More

Thank Bill S
Response from MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub MethvenResponded 12 January 2018
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your visit:)

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Entirely unimpressed! Stayed here the past two nights and wasn't worth the money. There isn't a reception, access to the accommodation is through the back of the kitchens with all the bins etc. Don't think there are actual hostel staff, only bar staff, and most...More

Thank Ellie B
Response from MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub MethvenResponded 12 January 2018

We're disappointed our accommodation did not live up to your expectations. We do feel that the information provided on our website - www.thebluepub.com/accommodation is honest and transparent. We do offer free Wifi but although we don't state unlimited, bar staff always continue to give out...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Wanted to take my kids to the famous Blue Pub where I'd seen Paul Urbana Jones and Gary McCormick the better part of 30 years before. We love playing pool together but couldn't because of no under 15s rule. Minor issue in the greater scheme...More

Thank allan220
Response from MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub MethvenResponded 12 January 2018

Yes I understand your frustration. Sadly for our pool table it's a matter of previous experience with unsupervised young people damaging our felt and cues in the past. Our table is a competition pool table and staff take great pride in keeping it up to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345614
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$43 - US$55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (17)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hmndesign
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from MethvenPubs | Property representative |
Hi there. Yes there is a shared kitchenette and small lounge area. The kitchen has a microwave, jug and fridge freezer for guest use. Cheers!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"This is a Pub not a hotel"
Read review
"Never ever stay at the Blue Pub, unless you want a broken back and love very poor facilities"
Read review
"Unsure about rooms"
Read review
"good property with character"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing