We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Pub Methven

Hotels.comUS$43*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Blue Pub Methven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 60: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Pub Methven
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good Pub Food. Excellent price and very friendly service. Well worth a visit. Not fine dining but lets be realistic, clean premises with nice decor, you wont go away feeling hungry. Landlady even helped out with taking a family photo outside for us. Will we be back? YES

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dweavers
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm pub & got to meet the friendly locals. Great for a feed or a quick handle. Haven't stayed in the accommodation but may consider next time. Family oriented & friendly staff. Looking forward to my return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmannn
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in on Anzac Day for lunch. Food was great but the initial service was appalling and we should have taken that as a hint and left then. The male staff member seemed more interested in sorting out menus than serving us and his attitude and service didn't improve. The three stars is for the food. I'll vote with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We called in for lunch on a slow Monday. The woman behind the bar was friendly and welcoming - after she saw we had kids with us she offered to get a high chair for our baby and a smaller seat from inside for the toddler. The food was outstanding. We had fish and chips and the chicken salad. Both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina A
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review - we do hope you come and see us again.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Cold wet day on a public holiday, but we made our way for an overnight stay in Methven. On arrival we decided to have lunch at the iconic Blue Pub. Only a few inside but a warm welcome from the barman. Ordered our meals and drinks from a simple no fuss menu and played a game of pool while waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buckoinchch
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Yes the log fire is a winner in the bar isn't it. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the food too!

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Awesome stay, with plenty of entertainment. Friendly people. Sufficient/basic rooms which is exactly as needed! Pub downstairs made for a more interesting and convenient stay with 'decent' pub meals. Thanks, guys!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y8757TBsimonb
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again:)

Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Visited here on a miserable day for lunch.Found the open fire welcoming. The pub atmosphere is enhanced by the open fire. I found the price of a beer expensive, and the meal quite basic, but generous. This is a pub, where people have the choice of where they sit, to eat. I had the steak meal which I thought was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 62Peter1952
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Cheers! Please come again:)

Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2016

In the middle of Methven, indoor and outdoor seating. Fantastic on point service from all staff, free and generous wifi, huge meals. Used by locals and tourists, still retains that country welcome, icon in the town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosemarykiwi
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're glad you had a good time!

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Not a great experience with the family. Staff not welcoming, food average and amenities poor. The menu is limited and food poor quality - limited options and not tasty, the fish was from frozen/packaged. Not recommended for dinner. Disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dougal M
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

Oh no! We really do not like to hear that you did not feel welcome at The Blue. Our staff pride themselves on customer service so we will follow up with all our front line staff on this matter. Regarding our food, we do have an all day menu as well as an evening a la carte menu which we...

Hope Island, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We chose this pub over the brown pub across the street as it looked less grubby. That may have been the case but $9 for a beer at a pub is getting ridiculous. It was empty, no decent service (despite being early evening), no atmosphere, no fire even though it was a cold night and was ready to be lit....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sail_Scarlett
MethvenPubs, Manager at Blue Pub Methven, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at The Blue Pub. The fire was indeed ready to be lit and in fact is always roaring in the bar, however the only day we can think of that this was not the case was when someone had pushed a large log of wood into the log...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.5 km away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
121 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern X Lodge
Southern X Lodge
#20 of 20 in Methven
8 reviews
0.7 km away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 10 in Methven
49 reviews
0.4 km away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.5 km away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget accommodation in true authentic kiwi pub style. Warm, clean and comfortable rooms with singles, twins, doubles, king size beds and two quad rooms to cater for larger groups. Large common room and TV lounge as well as fully renovated kitchen and bathrooms. High speed Wi-fi. Off street parking, restaurant and bar on site. Mt Hutt ski area transport departs across the road. Walking, mountain biking, golf courses, rafting, fishing, skiing & snowboarding all close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Pub Methven

Address: 2 Barkers Road, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Price Range: RM187 - RM235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Pub Methven 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Blue Pub Methven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Pub Methven staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Pub Methven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unsure about rooms”
rosemarykiwi, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“good property with character”
FrankandTonia, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“stayed in room 10 which is warm as it gets sun”
Zentraveller08, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the rear-facing rooms at all cost. The front may be noisy due to visitors wandering the street, but at least you avoid the noise of the refrigerator- and air-conditioning units.”
JKaz87, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Avoid room 7. The beds are a bit spongy.”
CreativeAnarchy, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$43
Hotwire.comUS$43
Orbitz.comUS$43
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates