We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 2 hotels in Mt. Cook Village

The Hermitage Hotel

2,074 reviews
Save
Traveller (1098)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (62)
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average21%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“a la carte”(75 reviews)
“premium room”(71 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,074)Write a Review
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
567
634
399
144
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
567
634
399
144
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanorama restauranta la cartepremium roompanorama roombuffet dinnernew zealandmount cookthe main hotelaoraki wingtop floorwakefield wingpublic areassir edmund hillaryamazing viewsgift shoptasman glacierhotel rooms
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hermitage while travelling around NZ on our honeymoon. The mountain view was spectacular, especially as we had clear skies for most of our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We greatly appreciated...More

Thank danchalk
Reviewed yesterday

As we neared the hotel we had amazing views of Mount Cook. It was stunning.Unfortunately it was a very hot day and our room was on the ground floor with no AC. overlooking the car park. Everyone in the group spent an u comfortable night....More

Thank Thomas186336
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We got an upper premium corner room with awesome views spacious and modern. The Sir Edmund Hillary museum attached is excellent and with a variety of film presentations some time spent there is recommended. The rustic bar is cool unfortunately the panorama restaurant was closed...More

Thank Gm9234
Response from Agathe-FrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Hermitage HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Gm9234, We are pleased to hear your stay with us was a comfortable one and that you enjoyed our facilities. We definitely do recommend a visit to the Planetarium and Museum to learn more about the fascinating history of Aoraki Mount Cook and Sir...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

We were travelling by coach from Christchurch to Queenstown and the tour called at the Hermitage Hotel in Mount Cook Village and wow! What a beautiful place with lovely gardens overlooked by the mighty Mount Cook. We were booked in for lunch which was an...More

Thank Jade-Stamford
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Easily one of my favourite hotels that I’ve ever stayed at. It’s located right at the start of the Hooker Valley Hike at the base of Mount Cook. The rooms are spacious and the beds are huge. The views of Mount Cook on a clear...More

Thank Walden777
Response from Agathe-FrontOffice, Front Office Manager at The Hermitage HotelResponded yesterday

Dear Walden777, Thank you for your 5 star review and your kind words. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services and catering options. Snowy days spent strolling through one of the National Park walk and by the Snowline fireplace are definitely...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456362
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$114 - US$390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1098)
Room & Suite (321)
Dining (62)
Pool & Beach (7)
Hotel & Grounds (695)
Bathroom (24)
Family and Play Areas (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PennyW
11 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kyr008 | Reviewed this property |
Yes. But if one is missing in your room, can always ask the housekeeping for one. :)
1
Vote
musafir_sf
11 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from John W | Reviewed this property |
There are many activities, most of them outdoors involving trips to the lake, glaciers and other nearby natural wonders. There are also the documentaries and other 'shows' held in the Sir Edmund Hillary auditorium adjacent... More
0
Votes
wakakok762
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Kerrie H | Reviewed this property |
sorry we drove from Wanaka. other direction
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Mountain view rooms are worth the price"
Read review
"The larger building provides better Mountain View’s."
Read review
"Request a view of the mountains. Some rooms overlook parking areas..."
Read review
"Insist on being close to public areas"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite