We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lochiel Motel & Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimate
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lochiel Motel & Guest House
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 2: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

By arrival the office looks quite run down upon entering, one was taken over by the cigarette smell. The unit looked ancient and never updated after they were built. The layout was strange basin outside the bathroom and one could see mold in shower, towels strongly smelled after cigarette smell and looked old. But when the TV did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pluisthecat
98catscan, Manager at Lochiel Motel & Guest House, responded to this review

Oh Dear! I think you must be confusing us with somewhere else you may also have stayed. Although we do have an old style office area, it is - in an Edwardian house. We do not have any rooms or units with a layout as you describe. There is no bathroom with a basin outside of bathroom, and most certainly...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2014

The one bedroom unit was (we were told) all that was available for two people although no sign of any other guests. Guesthouse and breakfast unavailable. Very dated (1970's). concrete block walls, toilet area walls showing mould. Shower wall peeling off. $95 but try elsewhere first

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank greenbabe2014

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waimate hotels
21.0 km away
Glenavys Waitaki River Motor Camp
6.3 km away
Kelceys Bush Farmyard Holiday Park
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Waimate Criterion Hotel
#4 of 6 in Waimate
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Lochiel Motel & Guest House

Address: 100 Shearman Street, Waimate 7924, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waimate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lochiel Motel & Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try elsewhere first”
 of 5 bubbles greenbabe2014, 5 Dec 2014 | Read review
1 of 1