We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cavendish Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cavendish Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 644: English reviews
Start your review of Cavendish Hotel
 Click to rate
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We used to stay here in the 1990's and early 2000's, when we lived nearer to Derbyshire than now; this was our first return visit in 15 years, so we were slightly apprehensive. To our great relief it is still superb. Others have commented positively on the setting (near Chatsworth), the views and the tranquillity, and we endorse those comments....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilandJudith
Management response:

Dear Phil and Judith Delighted to hear your return to the Cavendish was a success. Thank you for your kind comments; everyone here will be very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that we can welcome you back on future occasions. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the country house hotel you have always wanted to visit. Although fronting a reasonably busy road, it is very quiet as the rooms overlook Chatsworth Park to the rear. The House can just be seen in the distance. The staff could not do more and the food is exceptional by any standard. The building is old and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael P
Management response:

Dear Michael Many thanks for your trouble in feeding back your comments, and thank you for choosing to stay at the Cavendish; I was pleased to learn that you were well looked after. We have tried in past renovations to cure the creaking floorboards, but I too feel they add to the charm somehow! I hope we see you again...

Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was wonderful. Beautiful cakes and scone. The staff on the other hand were a let down. Bit pompous and odd. No conversation and far too attentive!! Like to try lunch. Dinner wasn't that great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
Management response:

Dear Mary Thank you for your comments. I would like, however, to clarify some of the points you raise. Perhaps you might call me personally at the Cavendish to give me an opportunity to fully understand. Kind regards Philip Joseph

England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I haven't stayed here, but we visited for a coffee stop whilst driving through the area. We were given a choice of sitting in the conservatory area or in the lounge, and chose the lounge for the log fire! Coffee and tea was served in silver pots, accompanied by gorgeous home made biscuits- we will be back for afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weekenderinthesun
Management response:

Thank you for visiting us - I hope that your first time will become a regular stop. Many thanks for the feedback, the team were pleased to learn that you had been well looked after. Look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were staying here so as to use it as a base to explore Chatsworth House, the accommodation was quite nice, I'd describe it as 'authentic' the meals were ok from the main restaurant however the restaurant is of higher class & service than the hotel lends itself, in this sense I would say they are mis-matched

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gregf674
Management response:

Dear Greg Thank you for your time with the feedback - I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have two restaurants as I am sure you are aware, the idea is that one offers a more formal experience than the other, hopefully catering for most tastes. I hope we see you again at the...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently visited the Cavendish for afternoon tea, the service from the staff was excellent, but i have to say we were disappointed with the sandwichs and a little let down by the standard of the cakes. my wife makes cakes at home and i suppose we expected something a little extra special from a quality hotel such as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
Management response:

Dear Mick Many thanks for the feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry you were disappointed; we do make all the items on the afternoon tea freshly in house. We have moved towards a more up to date selection to keep things more interesting, which generally has met with favourable response from our guests. I will of course be...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very comfortable stay we always have;- Good dinner Good breakfast Quiet,good premier rooms, good wine Good service Good all over every time we stay wonderful location especially now Eric has gone , at last!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David J
Management response:

Dear David So glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the Cavendish, thank you for the feedback. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Reviewed 16 February 2017

Afternoon tea was a gift for my birthday. It has been excellent. We arrived 30 mins early but were seated straight away. A really nice setting. Had coffee for 2 and hot chocolate for 1. A good selection of sandwiches, made a little more special because of their shape (circular). A mix of meat and vegetarian ones and all very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellivas
Management response:

Dear Ellivas Many thanks for your comments; very pleased to hear that you were well looked after. Very interested to hear your comments about the content, not always possible to please everyone all the time on that particular issue, but very glad that you felt it was good. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Words just can't explain the exquisite 8 course tasting menu. It was fabulous, not too much and delicately presented. The service was the best we have ever had but it is always the same when ever you go and no matter how busy it is. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with attention to detail everywhere you look. You definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoCraig21
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

There is a lot to recommend this hotel. The room was very comfortable, beautifully furnished and with a lovely outlook over parkland. Extras like bathrobes, fresh milk in the fridge and a super shower enhanced the experience. Add to that the dining experience, the lounge and the very friendly and attentive staff and you have everything you want for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Witchfinders
Management response:

Thank you for your kind comments, I appreciate your time and trouble in feeding back. Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Philip Joseph

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
5.4 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
9.8 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
370 reviews
15.9 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
5.3 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
24.1 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Price Range: RM842 - RM1,517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cavendish Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We haven't stayed here”
 of 5 bubbles maryfD2325JT, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“"The Spencer" room was beautiful, windows looked out over patio and pastures in the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Happy4u325, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a superior room if you can”
 of 5 bubbles updated, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views out the back give wonderfull views of the Chatsworth estate”
 of 5 bubbles roberto820, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior or Inn rooms have stunning decor and views”
 of 5 bubbles josmithbarnsley, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5