We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 October 2016

A good value place, big enough for a long stay. Everything was clean and tidy, comfortable bed, good heated pool and spa. Very close to the beach, couple of minutes at most. Easy to walk to Oasis shopping centre and restaurants etc along the boardwalk.Tram not far away and there is a bus very close which will take you to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpdascott
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for doing a review. We really appreciate your time. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and our great location! Also that you used our great facilities as well! Free internet certainly is getting requested more and more often and maybe something we need to look at in the future. Thanks for staying with us and...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here many times. We love the location (one street back from the beach but you can see the sea from the units) The rooms are clean and tidy and have nice outdoor access. Also a pool and car parking on site . The only disappointment this time was the cost of the Internet . Would recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalem763
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it! Great to see also that you are a repeat guest! Thanks for your lovely comments, we appreciate the feedback. As for the Wifi we will take your comments on board, you never know what the future can bring! Look forward to seeing you again...

Queanbeyan, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My family and I can't fault this hotel, we absolutely love the location so close to both Broadbeach and Surfers Paradise. Beach across the road and great cafe on the corner. Room was spacious, great views and nice pool area. Definitely can't wait to come back at Christmas, love this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ben_shara
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and also mentioned what a great location we have here and the fantastic near by facilities. We look forward to seeing you next time! Take care.

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Reasonably priced for a hotel room on the Gold Coast. Not quite on the beach front but only a 3 minute walk from the beach and a 15 minute walk to the main shops/restaurants and bars of Broadbeach. Definitely worth the money. Room was clean and tidy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle C
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us here at San Mateo. We really appreciate it! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future. Take care.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Paid almost $300 for a one night stay. Arrived Saturday midday and office closed but was advised key would be in safe. No problem there. Upon exiting lift on level 5 we were greeted with a stale odour. Our unit was in desperate need of a revamp. Blinds in 2nd bedroom broken and mouldy. Fan and light did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Susan, we are sorry to read both reviews you have left in the last few days. However we did apologise at the time with regards to your comments on the condition of the unit, and explained that it was about to be totally refurbished, new blinds, painted etc... with being fully booked for quite some time now unfortunately we...

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (thank goodness) the room was very dated and run down . The bed needed to be replaced as it was hard and sagged down with no ensemble. The manager when asked about the condition of the room just commented that the room was about to be painted , a run of the mill excuse it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Braford
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Good morning, we are disappointed you have not found your stay with us satisfactory. We always take negative comments very seriously. We have had quite a number of units refurbished and repainted in the building and they are looking great! This can be a bit of a process as I'm sure you understand in and apartment building with 30 units,...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

This is my second family visit to this hotel. (I stayed there in October/November 2015). It's a nice, budget priced hotel in a good location. We asked for the same room on the 5th floor (Room 514 I think?) because of the nice views. On arrival we were greeted by the manager who upgraded us to the sub-penthouse room 724...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, thanks for taking the time to do a review for us, we really appreciate it! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed yet another stay with us! We always endeavour to go out of our way for our guests and particularly our return guests! It's great to hear you enjoyed staying in one of our penthouses, and made...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Booked this place last minute and payed around 180 per night, low season. I was not expecting 5 starts but the place was so disgusting I couldn't stay there another night (2 in total). As soon as we opened the door at 10pm (hot night mind you) we were greeted with a thick smell of cigarettes, it was appalling! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M B
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Good morning, we are extremely disappointed to read your review, and dismayed to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We take all reviews very seriously. We are pleased to inform you that we are in the process of updating apartments here at San Mateo, replacing furnishings, painting where necessary, and updating bathrooms etc. We have also recently had...

Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Great value for money Clean and spacious Lovely management Free car park Great sea view I'm a bit stuck on what else to say the only reason it hasn't got five stars is because the wifi was very expensive.apart from that it is pretty much perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corey b
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Corey, thank you for doing a review for us here at San Mateo on Broadbeach! We really appreciate it! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found most things to your satisfaction. Please contact us in the future if we can help you with any further accommodation requirements. We would love to see you again in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2015

The building has an elevator and we stayed in Room 516 which is on the south east corner, 5th floor. There is nothing fancy about the room; decor is a bit dated, but overall it was clean and roomy. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, laundry, but only 1 shower. Double bed in main bedroom, 2 Singles in the 2nd bedroom. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graeme S
SanMateoGC, Front Office Manager at San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, firstly, many thanks for taking the time to do a review for us here at San Mateo on Broadbeach, we really appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your comments on how convenient we are to all the surrounding facilities, and of course if there is anything we can...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.1 km away
Grangewood Court Apartments Broadbeach
0.7 km away
Le Lavandou Holiday Apartments
Le Lavandou Holiday Apartments
#19 of 36 in Broadbeach
47 reviews
1.0 km away
South Pacific Plaza Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
Biarritz Apartments Gold Coast
#56 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
118 reviews
1.8 km away
Bel Air on Broadbeach
Bel Air on Broadbeach
#3 of 36 in Broadbeach
782 reviews
1.0 km away
Sandpiper Apartments
Sandpiper Apartments
#14 of 36 in Broadbeach
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast

Address: 93 Old Burleigh Rd, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Price Range: RM401 - RM926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast Broadbeach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from San Mateo Apartments Gold Coast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher the better,east, or north facing if you like the sun.”
 of 5 bubbles dpdascott, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great views from the higher rooms. Noise from the street is only noticeable when the balcony doors are open.”
  • Afternoon, from the balcony. Broadbeach and the G.C. hinterland in the distance
  • Dawn, from the balcony facing east.
 of 5 bubbles 573graemes, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the building have best views towards the ocean.”
  • Afternoon, from the balcony. Broadbeach and the G.C. hinterland in the distance
  • Dawn, from the balcony facing east.
 of 5 bubbles 573graemes, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
“We find the configuration of the rooms on the North East side to be better than the ones in the middle and less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles RicknSimon, 22 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Higher floor where you will get a view and on the north east side of the unit block”
 of 5 bubbles BMR18, 14 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay