Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive

Ctra Fed Chetumal Pto Juarez Pto Juarez Km 266.3, 77750 Mexico
Traveller (8000)
Panorama at the Barcelo Maya Colonial
360
Panoramas (70)
BMAYACO POOL
Pool & Beach (2563)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 769
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
RM 868
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#62 of 77 all-inclusives in Riviera Maya
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal family-friendly all-inclusive resort in Puerto Aventuras does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Barcelo Maya Colonial, a nice option for travelers like you. Adoratorio, ruinas Chac-hal-al (1.4 mi), located nearby, makes Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Puerto Aventuras landmark. The rooms offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as paid wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Barcelo Maya Colonial Hotel features room service and a concierge. In addition, as a valued Barcelo Maya Colonial Beach Resort guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. Puerto Aventuras has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Latitude 20, The Divot, and Pelican Point Restaurant & Bar, which are serving up some great dishes. Should time allow, Puerto Aventuras Marina is a popular marina that is relatively easy to get to. Barcelo Maya Colonial looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Puerto Aventuras.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Mini golf
Tennis court
Water park
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Ctra Fed Chetumal Pto Juarez Pto Juarez Km 266.3, 77750 Mexico
Name/address in local language
10,996Reviews1,247Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6,730
  • 2,355
  • 953
  • 501
  • 457
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sherrill C wrote a review Mar 2020
Tofield, Canada62 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Colonial in Feb '20. I am unsure why anyone would give this resort a poor rating. It is top notch. Amazing quality & variety of food, cheerful helpful staff, wonderful snorkeling & marine life. The resort is huge. We were only off site for 2 days, & still did not manage to see/do everything. Some things cost extra like bowling, surf rider, & the arcades, but you'd pay extra for those activities off resort anyway. The manager at the Beach bar at the Tropical was wonderful, attentive & entertaining. The staff were conscientious & thorough at cleaning our rooms, although there were times when we found towels on our balcony & a pillow in the bathroom. We just laughed. The front desk staff were wonderful, always answering our questions with patience & humor. The beach did have rocky spots, but that was part of the charm. We watched the staff working hard early in the morning to ensure the beach area was clean & free of debris. There was never a time when we waited overly long for service. The beach bars had self serve beer taps that the guys loved! It was windy when we were there, but still plenty of sunshine, & the wind kept it from feeling overly hot. We were on the 3rd floor & there was an elevator in our building. The shows were fine, the dancing & costumes were great. Overall, we had a fantastic time & have nothing negative to say. We will be back and highly recommend this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 20 Mar 2020
Dear Sherrill c: First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Maya Colonial to enjoy your holidays and for having taken part of your time in valuing your stay with us. We appreciate your support with your opinion in the guest satisfaction survey, which will be sent 48 - 72 hours after your check out to your email, to help us continue to improve and make the stay at the Barceló hotels an unforgettable experience. Please, do not hesitate to contact us at maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com for your next visit so we can give you a more personalized follow up on your reservation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us when you visit the area. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JackNB wrote a review Jan 2020
New Brunswick89 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our trip didn't start good, when we arrived at the lobby for our check in they told us there was no room at the Colonial and we would need to go to the Tropical. We were at the Colonial in 2017 and we loved the location. Knowing that we went ahead and booked it. Some people got upgraded to the Palace which is a 5 stars and some at the tropical which is clearly a downgrade. The reception was not receptive at all making any changes. We even tried to upgrade to the newly build Barcelo Riviera Maya which was clearly empty but the price they were asking was outrageous ,160$ US/per night on top of what we already paid.

The resort itself is huge but easy to walk if you want to exercise a little bit, having access to the Colonial, Tropical, Beach and Caribe is clearly a plus.

Beach: the best beach is in front of the Barcelo Maya Beach and Caribe but you have to be careful for rocks in the water especially when it's windy and you can't see. I strongly suggest bringing water shoes.

Room: The Colonial and Tropical rooms are old and moldy in desparate need of an upgrade, last time we were there in April it wasn't as moldy. We felt it was always humid in the room even our bed was disgusting.

Service: The service there is always top notch same as what it was before, they are always taking care of you and making sure you're having an awesome vacation. We made sure to tip a lot for when we received a good service which was all the time. We even tipped our omelette guy every day.

Food: We were there for 10 days and provided with 7 a la carte restaurants. Our favorites were the Sante Fe, the Tokio, the Kyoto and the italian which were all super delicious and fast. The buffet food can get repetitive but having a different theme every night was good. Food was always delicious and I can hardly understand the people complaining, you should go to a place like Cuba and you'll know what is terrible food.

All in all out it was an awesome vacation, but we wouldn't return to the Colonial or Tropical if they are not making any modifications to their rooms. The Barcelo Maya Beach and Caribe seems to be newer and having the best stretch of beach would definitely be the best option.

After a bad experience with the check in and seeing people getting an upgrade to the Palace and us it the musty and moldy Tropical room, I'm willing to give the resort another chance but they need to fix some issues.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear JackNB: First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Maya Colonial to enjoy your holidays and for having taken part of your time in valuing your stay with us. We appreciate your support with your opinion in the guest satisfaction survey, which will be sent 48 - 72 hours after your check out to your email, to help us continue to improve and make the stay at the Barceló hotels an unforgettable experience. Please, do not hesitate to contact us at maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com for your next visit so we can give you a more personalized follow up on your reservation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us when you visit the area. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terry_the_traveller wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is great, very clean and looked after. The staff is very friendly, the beach is clean and gorgeous with palm trees, clear water, you can feed fish off the pier. Great selection of food, food is always fresh, drinks are never watered down, waiters are attentive. Tips do make a difference for these people, cleaning ladies come from little Mayan villages and are earning $7/day so even if you leave them 2-3 dollars per day it makes a huge difference for them. We stayed in Jalisco's 2nd building, it was far enough from the noise and was quiet during night time. Higly recommend this hotel and we certainly will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear TerryTraveller77 Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. On the other hand we are glad that we have enjoyed the beauty of our beach, as well as the friendliness of our staff. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debby A wrote a review Feb 2020
Sherbrooke, Canada9 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I booked a last minute vacation to the Barcela Maya Colonial and we were very impressed. The hotel was practically spotless and the staff was always cleaning. Even the washroom at the dive centre was very clean (we used this one while at the beach) and usually at other hotels in the Caribbean, the beach washrooms are not very clean - actually a little disgusting. The beach was awesome and if you like to snorkel, you're in luck. The snorkelling at the pier is great and lots of big fish, rays, tropical fish, etc. Best yet, look under the pier as schools of fish hang out there. If you want to swim with big turtles, head down the beach towards the palace and go into the water in front of the lifeguard chair. Just amazing and we swam wih about 5 or 6 of them. The snorkelling in front of the BMC is also great and you don't need to go very far into the water. If you like to walk along the beach, beach shoes are recommended because in some places in front of the other hotels, the beach is a little rocky and with shells. As for the food, it was great. Went to 3 a la carte restaurants (Kyoto, Marenostrum and Sante Fe) and all were excellent. Buffets were good too (food was hot) and a big thanks to Josué Morales in the Buffet Tropical who unexpectedly went above and beyond and Alex Garcia as well. Service was friendly and professional and I wish I remembered everyone's names. Rooms were also very clean, but ours had no sunlight on the balcony, so our cloths were humid, but hey, it's Mexico and to be expected. Shows were not that great; however, one really stood out - Il Divo, the singers were incredible. There were 2 magic shows and two shows with couples competing and of course a Michael Jackson show. There is a lot of places to walk and lots of things to do at this resort. And for a large resort, no need to reserve chairs - plenty for everyone and it was fairly quiet too. I would highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear debaustin1: On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer. We appreciate your support with your opinion in the guest satisfaction survey, which will be sent 48 - 72 hours after your check out to your email, to help us continue to improve and make the stay at the Barceló hotels an unforgettable experience. Please, do not hesitate to contact us at maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com for your next visit so we can give you a more personalized follow up on your reservation. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing us when you visit the area. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review Mar 2020
Ladysmith, Canada7 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 5th trip to the Barcelo. We just love it here. The place is beautiful and laid out so well. The beaches are amazing and you can swim without getting seaweed all over you or stepping on a bunch of rocks. It’s great for kids as there are a lot of water parks there.
The food options are extensive with so many places to choose from to dine. We love the beach grills especially Captain Morgan’s where we were served each day by Jesus! Such a great guy, knows what to offer everyone for drinks. It’s amazing that with all the travellers there he can remember his regular people’s drink preferences. Really good at his job.
I really need to mention the server in the Colonial/Tropical buffet, Davis Balam. This young man was truly the best server I have seen anywhere. He could spot us coming in through the crowd and get a table ready immediately. He then showed up with the drinks he knew we would want along with ice for our water (not usually given so ask for it if you like cold water). This guy could give lessons in customer service and at such a young age. I can’t say enough about this young man.
We did find though that the quality of the suites had declined as well as the housekeeping service. Being our 5th time there I guess we expected some perks but didn’t receive any. Two double beds when we requested one king. Broken cabinet door that they knew about but didn’t fix. Just a few small things but it wouldn’t stop us from coming back to the Barcelo. Beautiful resort!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear Chris M Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success We would like to take the opportunity to explain that, due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not in a position to guarantee a room with a king size bed, also We are sorry to read about the cleanliness and disturbances caused in your room, we assure you to share your opinion with the department heads to improve. On the other hand, thank you for referring members of the team by name, as we will now be able to address them individually and let them know the positive impact they had on your stay. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Inspire64591716597 wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Barcelo Riviera Colonial as many others say a very nice and well maintained complex thanks to the many hardworking workers who make sure it all looks beautiful.
I am not very interested in whether the rooms are updated but the most important thing is that they are clean and disinfected, there is no unpleasant smell in the rooms, the bedding is clean and changed regularly, the refrigerator is regularly replenished, the air condition in the room is very good
As for the food different tastes I believe there is no need to comment.
You can always find something for yourself and you can't stay hungry, food quality at a high level and plentiful.
A la carte restaurants have food that deserves high marks. Seafood restaurant and Steak restaurant in the first place.
I would especially like to thank Carlos Escobar and his team who were kind to us as well as everyone because I have no objections to the services we received
Wi-Fee is free and covers very well so I have no objections here either
I'm sorry we didn't have more communication with the entertainment team, I can only single out Edurdo who came every day to talk and wish us a nice and pleasant stay in the resort.
Thanks for all!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Ayllón, Director General at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear guest, We want to thank you for sharing this opinion about your recent stay at the Barceló Maya Colonial. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we offer a high quality service and a different and memorable experience. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. In addition, we thank you for your wonderful comments about the service received from our colleague Carlos Escobar. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our clients appreciate their services and attention in such a detailed way. We invite you to enjoy our benefits by enrolling in our "my barcelo" program that you can find on our website barcelo.com. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us at maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com for your next visit so that we can give you a more personalized follow-up to your reservation. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pierre G wrote a review Jan 2020
Montreal, Canada35 contributions53 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is nice nothing to say about the facilities, the food but I have reservation with customer service. We did not get the type of room we asked for (communicating room) we had to wait until 10 pm to get our baby crib which was on the reservation. When on the kid got sick and throw up in his bed the maid said she could not change both bed sheet because the hotel was full, Being full for a hotel should be good that mean you should be profitable but is this really bad excuse of not supplying the basic services like replacing bed sheet. If you lack personnel or material to supply the services when you are full, it is a management issue! the customer should not suffer for it
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear Pierre G: In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, at Barceló we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Best Regards maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Britt wrote a review Mar 2020
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany3 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Im really not sure why there are harsh reviews on here. I have to imagine that they are either blinded by their own privilege or just aren’t easy to please in general. My husband and I stayed in the Tropical section of the resort for seven days and we had an amazing time. We got up each morning and played one of the many sports available to us, grabbed delicious food at the buffets and restaurants, laid near the pool and beach, (both absolutely stunning), and enjoyed the evenings with shows, drinks and walks around the immaculate grounds of resort. No, the workers don’t always speak good English, but guess what? You’re in Mexico. If you’re struggling to be understood, simplify your word choices and remember you’re a guest in their beautiful country. It is a naturally humid climate so you may feel your room get a bit damp from time to time but, they are clean and very well equipped with toiletries. I see some people complained about the food, don’t worry. No, it’s no Michelin quality, but you always have choice and it truly is great.

If you have booked here or are looking to book here, don’t let the negative reviews drive you away! I would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Dear guets Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BMBrueggemann wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort complex is four hotels within the Barcelo family. There are lots of restaurants, pools and nighttime entertainment to choose from as you are able to mingle through three of the four complexes. The food was good and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beaches were rocky in areas which limited some access to the ocean and also rocky in some areas in the water. The pools were massive and there were plenty of areas to choose to lounge during the day at the pools or on the beach. The water in the pools was cold even though it was around 80 degrees the entire time we were there. Our three grand-kids under the age of 5 all were shivering in the water and as soon as they got out. As adults we felt it was also cold and chose to lounge by the pool more than be in the water. The rooms were always clean and the bed was comfortable, however, the sheets were terrible. They were like plastic and caused you to sweat at night no matter how low you had the air condition running. My wife and I resorted to sleeping on clean pool towels in order to get a decent sleep and not endure the musty smell of the bedding.
All in all, we thought it was a good quality resort except for the bedding aspect of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 10 Jan 2020
Dear BMBrueggemann Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. Accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties you had with the comfort of the sheets. Regarding our pools, we deeply regret your disappointment regarding the temperature. We will transmit your comments to our corresponding departments for review and improvement. On the other hand, thanks for your lovely comments on the service you received from team members. We will make sure to convey their kind words, which will mean a lot to them. Once again, we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Footer65 wrote a review Mar 2020
Omaha, Nebraska3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, the facilities are really nice and well kept and clean. Agree with others, that the rooms are always damp, but this seems to be the norm in the tropical resorts. The food quality was subpar at best. Almost no variety of tropical fruit, other than pineapple, kiwi, and passion fruit. All the watermelon, cantaloupe, honey dew, peaches and plums were all terrible and un ripe. I have celiac, so couldn’t try most of the deserts or breads. The ice cream and frozen yogurt was the absolute worst I have ever had. The service in the main buffet is almost non existent. If you want something to drink, you need to get it yourself. Never tried any of the actual restaurants, because having to make reservations multiple days in advance seems ridiculous. We went with a large group of about 80 people. Most that did get reservations were mostly no earlier than 9:00 PM. All of the bars are way understaffed and slow. The mixed drinks are all very weak. Probably about 1/4 the amount of alcohol that would normally be in a mixed drink. Any of the fruity mixed drinks I tried all tasted like they were made with artificial sugar substitutes, so they were not drinkable. they only have Pepsi, so any mixed drink that should have coke, like rum / coke was almost non drinkable. Some of the drinks I tried, like pinia colada’s, tasted like turpentine or paint thinner. If you order a latte or capachino, it’s mostly hot milk and no espresso. I had to then order some straight espresso to flavor the warm milk. Most of the bartenders don’t speak much English, so can’t hardly order anything other than the basic drinks, which are mostly un drinkable, because they don’t understand, or act like they don’t. Most of the times, if I ordered a latte, I got water in a bottle. I don’t know if the food and drinks are better in the upgraded Palace and Adult sides, because they wouldn’t even let us in to look. The entertainment in the theater was sub par. The sound system is way too small for the venue. The Michael Jackson show was probably the worst show I have ever seen.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t expect much for food or drinks unless maybe you stay at the Palace or Adult side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear X3345PEjeffn Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We regret to read that our buffet offer, as well as drinks, did not live up to your expectations, since our professional chefs strive to surprise our customers with a high gastronomic standard and the possibility of enjoying the best of local cuisine , as well as the best international delicacies. We assure you that your comment about the food, drinks and the service you received during meals has been discussed with our Maître in order to prevent such situations from recurring in the future and we sincerely apologize for not fulfilling your expectations in This time. Also we regret reading of your disappointment with our entertainment offer. We will continue doing our best to bring performances which are of good taste and variety so as to guarantee quality entertainment for all our guests in the future. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from knapp2023123
2 contributions
Super cheap when you compare other resorts in the world charging $ 35 USD/day. I think it was $17 cdn for 10 days
Melissa W asked a question Mar 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Can you smoke here....planning on coming out in July 2024
Answer from Tracy C
Concord, California2 contributions
you sure can! ashtrays on our balcony. We also saw people smoking on beside the pool and at the beach. I smoke, but I'm considerate of others, I do find it annoying that folks smoke near kids or the kids pool...even without kids just be respectful
Answer from knapp2023123
2 contributions
That gets you access to the entire waterpark for the day including the surfrider, kids park and waterslides. It is within the Barcelo complex so everyone pays the same if you want access. (I thought it was $15 USD per person but We only inquired and didn't actually go in).
suespagnuolo asked a question Feb 2024
Lansing, Michigan1,373 contribution110 helpful votes
Does the Marcelo' offer shuttle service to and from the airport?
Cassy T wrote a tip 22 Apr
Rye, Colorado4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool isn’t too crowded but to get a place in the shade, get there early. "
Read full review
Amber E wrote a tip 14 Apr
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend spending your money at another resorts there are sooo many wonderful resorts in the Mayan Riviera. "
Read full review
Nicole G. W. wrote a tip 7 Apr
Regina, Canada112 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want chairs by the pool or beach, put some of your clothing on them before 6 am. "
Read full review
Pioneer312562 wrote a tip 2 Apr
3 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own washcloths! They are reluctant to provide any!"
Read full review
grandmummy8 wrote a tip 1 Apr
Red Deer, Canada62 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get to the pool early to get a lounge. Book specialty restaurants early. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Riviera Maya area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 980 - RM 1,873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo maya colonial hotel puerto aventuras, barcelo puerto aventuras, barcelo hotel puerto aventuras, barcelo colonial, barcelo maya colonial beach resort, barcelo maya caribe & beach resort, barcelo maya tropical & colonial beach
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera Maya
NUMBER OF ROOMS
479
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BARCELO MAYA COLONIAL - ALL INCLUSIVE (R̶M̶ ̶1̶,̶1̶5̶4̶) RM 1,011: UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews, Price Comparison and 8,743 Photos (Mexico/Riviera Maya) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Which popular attractions are close to Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Nearby attractions include Cenote Cristalino (0.4 km), Cenote Azul (0.7 km), and Dolphinaris Barcelo (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kyoto, Dolce Vita Restaurant, and Captain Morgan Grill & Pool Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive have airport transportation?
Yes, Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Riviera Maya HotelsRiviera Maya Hotel DealsHotels near Barcelo Maya Colonial - All Inclusive
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire