We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an OK site. Showers are nice but the pitches are a little worn in places and get muddy when it rains. The kitchen is OK but the equipment is locked away so you have to traipse round to the reception to get the key and then traipse back. Also no tea towels provided so take your own. Pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank DesMcLeish
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Des. Thank you for taking the time to put up a review about us. We do keep the Hire cupboards with kitchen equipment locked to save them all getting mixed up and we can always provide anyone a tea towel to use during their stay if they need one. We do not leave them out as once one person... More 

Coromandel, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The tiny beachside motel (we couldn’t even close the door to the bedroom as the bed frame extended beyond the door frame) cost us $288 per night for three adults and one pre-schooler. The unit was not well cleaned and we arrived we found out we were surrounded by campervan sites. Our view was not of Waihi beach but several... More 

Helpful?
Thank kate_the_scientist
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Kate. As expressed during our phone conversation and email exchange, I am sorry you felt the unit wasn't up to your standards. I have talked to the housekeeping team and we are reviewing our cleaning procedures. We do not hide our unit location. We are a Holiday Resort, almost all our units are surrounded by... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I travel solo a lot and Waihi was recommended to me by a friend. I found Top 10 Holiday Resort on Google and I'm so glad I did! I had a powered site on the beach front and amenities 100 yards away. Right next to the beach, clean facilities and great BBQ areas. There's a superette close by that also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
wbtop10, Receptionist at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review our Holiday Resort. We really appreciate the effort to give us some feedback so we can continue to offer the best for our guests! So glad you experienced all that we have here. We like to be able to cater for all travelers, solo, couples or families and we all take pride in... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

The amenities here were fantastic, kids had a great time playing on the air trampoline and in the pool. They loved the slide into the pool as well. The BBQ facliities area was awesome. We had a fantastic time here.

Helpful?
Thank James B
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback James. We are glad that you had a good stay with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The camping site is fine and beautifully situated close to the beach. Kitchen is clean and the pools are great for the kids. Unfortunately it had been raining a lot and therefore we were asked to park our campervan towards one side that was less muddy. No problem with us. Staff was unfriendly and in the morning we were asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hans L
wbtop10, Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hans, Thank you for returning my call and for your candid feedback. I have taken steps to try to avoid having other guests feeling the way you did. As per our conversation we had a team discussion, taken your comments on board, and we have implemented more training for our new staff members. I am pleased you have agreed... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We found the ocean view motel very comfortable, especially the bed and the lovely linen which we didn't expect in a campground motel. The unit had everything we needed and the kitchen was well stocked with quality equipment including a coffee plunger for our morning coffee. Lovely falling asleep to the sound of the waves.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline N
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Pauline. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us. We love that ocean view too. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

If you don't have kids this park is not with $60 a night for a powered site. It was a shocking,rainy day and the site was a muddy mess. Toilet, shower block was a mile away. I think they must get their star rating for the activities they have for children.

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sue. We are so sorry that you had to experience our resort at this time of year. The weather has indeed been "shocking" and our sites have not faired as well as we would have hoped. I am also sorry to hear that the toilet and showers were a long way away. I can only assume that we have... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here since the 1990's. Great memories. Owners are friendly. Showers are hot and the camp is secure and clean. We stayed one night in a cabin but felt it was a bit expensive for its size. Location is ideal and close to beach and the rsa.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Hi Paul. Thank you for your support over the years and thank you for your lovely feedback. Your comments will help us with our future planning. Do also join us on facebook and check out our website to look for any special deals that we may for your future stays. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful site in picturesque Waihi, probably glad we were off season as this place would get more love than a three legged puppy in summer. Virtually On the beach, safe for kids but nice waves as well. Stroll down the beach to the flat white cafe for a refreshment. Park has great facilities, huge heated pool with proper slide, HOT... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
wbtop10, Receptionist at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to review our park, we really appreciate the feedback. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here as we do try hard to make this the best experience for the whole family. You are right we do get very busy in the summer time! Glad you could come and join us during our quieter time... More 

Whangaroa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Very pleasant 3 day stay in powered campsite. Excellent facilities, modern, spotlessly clean, staff extra friendly, kind and helpful. Surfing beach just over the road. Great beach walking and bush tracks at northern end. Best fish 'n chips in shop on other side of road! Destined to become one of our favourite stopovers. Thank you all, Nigel & Dale from... More 

Helpful?
Thank dale481
wbtop10, Front Office Manager at Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you were able to enjoy the local area too. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next journey. More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi
22.9 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
168 reviews
37.1 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
959 reviews
38.1 km away
Hotel on Devonport
Hotel on Devonport
#3 of 57 in Tauranga
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
8.5 km away
Bowentown Beach Holiday Park
3.5 km away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waihi Beach TOP 10 is the kind of nostalgic place that parents dream of. Offered are a huge variety of accommodation options, and the range of activities within the extremely well equipped facilities means the kids can have a blast while you relax and unwind knowing they are safe and occupied. To find out the full extent of the Resort’s capabilities and service, contact them today. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort

Address: 15 Beach Road, Waihi 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waihi
Price Range: RM414 - RM680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the pool and bouncy pillow areas.”
 of 5 bubbles DesMcLeish, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront units are very special.”
  • Just a Hop, Skip and a Jump and you are on the beach.
 of 5 bubbles staceyj459, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unit 1,2,3 and 4 have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles jollyrobert, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“only a few of the cabins or sites have views - so you need to get there early, or be specific when booking”
 of 5 bubbles sajehouse, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The motel units are best if you want an in room bathroom, otherwise there are plenty of toilet blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquiP330, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay