We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Derbyshire Derby

1.1 km from South Normanton centre
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,379: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for couple of nights at the end of January for workshop with work. Decent rooms and good food, slightly disappointed as I was charged for newspaper. Hotel has basic gym and a small swimming pool, staff pleasant and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desamp76
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Desamp76 Thank for your review, I am pleased you had a good stay for business at The Derbyshire. I will ensure you comments regarding the helpful and friendly staff are shared with the team. We do offer newspapers which can ordered for our guests however if guests request this a charge for the paper will be made accordingly. I...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again a New Years Celebration. All the best from the quality of the meal, the trimmings, the service and a comfortable bed at the end of the night At last a disco that doesn't make the quests deaf. An all round great, enjoyable party night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Roy W Thank you for celebrating with us over the festive period. I am so pleased pleased you had a fantastic time and taken the time to write your review. Plans for the festive period this year are under way and I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Anna

CUMBRIA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very large hotel with plenty of parking. The sleep quality is average but the location good. The restaurant at night is questionable but the breakfast is good. Very easy to find from M1. Pleasant staff

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MULCASTER2
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear MULCASTER2, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay, I am glad that our hotel facilities and location met your needs and I sincerely hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. Kind Regards Anna

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a half board basis. The breakfast is a buffet inc pastries, fruit, juices and everything for a great hearty English breakfast. The evening meal was outstanding beautifully prepared and cooked food. I had the lamb stew 👌🏼recommend!! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was hosting s wedding while we were staying but still very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillauz
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Lillauz Thank you for your kind review, I am so pleased you have a fantastic stay with us, The team work very hard to make every guest stay memorable. Thank you for recommending us and I hope myself and the team can personally welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Kelso, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As PH hotels go, this one needs a Defibrillator. I expect the hotel hides behind the fact that it has a high throughput of people staying,,,,,,,again because of the location. The choice in the area is very limited. The rooms are ultra dated, do not pay extra for superior rooms. not a lot of difference. Beds are lumpy, mattress toppers!!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham R
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Graham R, I am sincerely sorry you felt let down by your stay I would be keen to personally speak with you regarding your feedback. We do have so many great comments regarding the hotel and facilities and I am sorry that your impression was not a good one. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Anna

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is really easy to get to right next to the M1 at junction 28. We were here for the spa and were not disappointed. All staff we met with were lovely no matter where they were wheather on reception or doing the massages etc these ladies are a def asset to your buisness. Facilities were more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rach371
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Rach371 Thank you for your kind review regarding your spa day at The Derbyshire. I am so pleased you would return and recommend the the hotel. Your kind comments regarding the spa team will be shared and we really appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that some inconsiderate guests parked inappropriately and be assure we take on board this...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff from booking in. The room was clean and lovely and warm. There were tea and coffee making items. Iron and board. Hairdryer. Shower gel,shampoo and hand lotion. The bar is nice and relaxing with good staff. The evening meal in the restaurant was lovely. Great service from the staff. Breakfast the next morning catered for all tastes hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthea D
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Anthea D Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay. Customer service is the heart of our business and we really appreciate your honest review. This will be celebrated with the team. I hope we can welcome you back for another weekend break very soon. Kind Regards Anna

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean hotel, friendly staff. Rooms appear good size. Might not be as modern as most hotels but couldn't fault it in any way. Restaurant food was great, bar prices a little steep but what you would expect based 4 start hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Charlie S Thank you for reviewing your business trip, I am really pleased you had a very good stay. I hope we can welcome you again in the future for either business or leisure. Kind Regards Anna

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on a Travelzoo deal with 4 family members, which included dinner and a bottle of wine per room,as part of package. Average wine, but still very pleasant. Room was warm and cosy, and we did have access to the Spa (however it was so busy we had to queue to go in). Dinner was mostly great - excluding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicia_taylor86
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear alicia_taylor86 I am pleased you had a really enjoyable stay at The Derbyshire. It is great to share your comments with the team and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so pleased you would recommend the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact...

Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall this is a good hotel, functional rooms that do the job and a nice bar and restaurant area. In parts the place feels a little tired so hopefully there will be some refurbishment. Breakfast staff were very friendly and the choice of food on offer was very good, wide range from cereals, fruit, toast to cooked food. Cooked breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kdw72
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear kdw72 Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and we were located great for a stopover. We have started refurbishments in our public areas and these do look fantastic. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Anna

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
541 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,250 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.6 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
677 reviews
6.2 km away
Dakota Nottingham
Dakota Nottingham
#1 of 1 in Annesley
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: RM334 - RM432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Walsall, United Kingdom
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Kent

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the reception was useful. Think most rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles essjay2730, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have difficulty handling luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Bohojen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your in a wheelchair and want to use the pool get a coat and umbrella ready!”
 of 5 bubbles garykovacs, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our experience - quiet and restful - room in the 230 area”
 of 5 bubbles 417royw, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 248anthead, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5