We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Derbyshire Derby

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,381: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

Late arrival and early departure but in the time we were at this hotel it had a comfortable and friendly feel, helpful reception, spotless bedroom, lovely linen and great big fluffy towels. Breakfast had plenty of choice, although as always the buffet is never hot enough. As for the premier inn across the road, this was a better price and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MEG246
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear MEG246 Thank you for sharing your review of your stay, I am pleased you had a very good experience and that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Anna

London
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during the week and visited for work purposes. The hotel is accessible, clean and mostly full of business people. Check-in was swift, even though it was late (I arrived at 22.00). My room was clean, comfortable and warm. The beds were quite bouncy and the duvet tog was low (no spare blankets in the cupboard)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JodyHatter
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Jodyhatter Thank you for sharing your review with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we can welcome you back again when working in the area. We do serve food in our restaurant and bar until 9.30pm. We have also in addition a room service menu which offers flexible dining options. Kind Regards Anna

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Warm friendly hotel with reasonable rooms. Always clean. Gym, pool and spa are all pleasant after a day in a meeting room. Breakfast is always warm and varied with plenty of seats and tea and coffee served. The décor is slightly dated, but on the whole, staying at The Derbyshire is always a pleasant experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemmabullimore
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Gemmabullimore Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel facilities and made use of our leisure club and spa. I hope we can welcome you back very soon for another business trip. Kind regards Anna

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel is VERY dated. I suppose this isn't always a bad thing, but it is too tired to be seen as a viable place to stay, especially with a premier inn across the road. My room was dirty to say the least, there was Pubic hair all over the bathroom, the room looked like it hadn't changed since the 80's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henryhoover
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear henryhoover I am very saddened to read your review and that your experience was not to your expectation. I am also very disappointed that you did not bring any of the problems to our attention whilst you were staying at the hotel, I am confident that we would have addressed this at the time and ensured you had a...

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Dinner 2 Courses -Bed very comfy and Breakfast so much choice plus use of Spa facilities Sauna, Steam Room Jacuzzi Pool great price good food friendly Staff all walks of life at the weekend so not for you if you are fussy - but normal folk you will love it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear GaryC Thank you so much for sharing your weekend stop over stay with us, I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and also took advantage of using the leisure and spa. I really hope we can welcome you back again very soon for another great stay. Kind Regards Anna

lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Cant praise the staff enough at this hotel...nothing is any trouble for them. From start to finish everything was first class for the two days we stayed and we cant wait to return. The hotel is very nice, the room was spot on, facilities are great, staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is lovely. We are looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Mandy S Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am so pleased to read your comments and fantastic stay. It is great to read your comments regarding our team and that you enjoyed all the facilities at the hotel. I hope that myself and the team can welcome you back again...

Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

I booked a spa day via groupon as a present for myself and my mum. The hotel reception and bar area are very nice. I didn't think £3.95 for an average coffee was too lovely! A nice man at reception directed us to the leisure club & we made our way down. Despite being a bit late the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethPowell
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear BethPowell, Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to share your spa day with us, I am pleased you had a fantastic day and thoroughly enjoyed your experience. I will ensure your comments are shared with the whole hotel team. I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future for another great experience....

Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Our room keys consistently did not work. There was no one at reception to help and when a man did turn up there was no apology or explanation as to why everyone was kept waiting....surely at a hotel it is kind of important for the reception desk to be manned....This man was also extremely rude and unhelpful, refusing to give...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Drazen C
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Drazen C I am sincerely sorry to receive your review regarding your stay, I am saddened you did not bring this to our attention during your visit, I am confident if you had spoken with our management team we would have done everything possible to address your concerns to ensure you had a good stay. We receive lots of...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time here. Is a great hotel! The staff were especially pleasant, the lobby area very comfy and nice to sit in. Me and my hubby ate here both nights and we really enjoyed the food. No complaints with our double took either! Great experience all round!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LFlatley
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear LFlatley Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased you had a great stay and your comments regarding the team and very much appreciated. We pride our hotel on the service and quality so it is lovely to read your review regarding your stay and meals at the hotel. I hope we can personally welcome...

Woore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Stayed in this hotel for two nights. There were 7 of us who booked a table in the restaurant for 7.00, We ordered our food at 7.07. We then had to wait an hour for it to arrive at our table, others who had ordered after us were served first. When the food did arrive it was cold, and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yvonne A
Anna P, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne A I have attached the following response which I have already posted to another guest which dined with you. As mentioned we are saddened by your comments as they do not represent the full events of the evening and we take all feedback very seriously. Please as I have mentioned feel free to contact me directly at the...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)
Viewed
Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
542 reviews
17.7 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
8.8 km away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
679 reviews
16.6 km away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.8 km away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: RM333 - RM449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Walsall, United Kingdom
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Kent

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from The Derbyshire Derby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Near the reception was useful. Think most rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles essjay2730, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for ground floor if you have difficulty handling luggage”
 of 5 bubbles Bohojen, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your in a wheelchair and want to use the pool get a coat and umbrella ready!”
 of 5 bubbles garykovacs, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our experience - quiet and restful - room in the 230 area”
 of 5 bubbles 417royw, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 248anthead, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5