We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boundary Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boundary Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of The Boundary Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited things in and around Matlock with the wife and two children. Room was huge, breakfast nice and staff really friendly. What's more, through Booking.com, it was only £50 and that was with breakfast included. Would definitely use again when visiting these parts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you want greeting with a friendly face don't come here ! We checked in the guy wasn't the happiest . The room was spacious but there was dust / dirt on skirting board and on the carpet . It was clean other than that. Our tea tray one of the saucers was sticky and dirty looked like toothpaste ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikkijhj
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel set away from main Pub that it is attached too. Food in restaurant excellent and plentiful. Got good deal for one night with standard double with breakfast. Breakfast was adequate and enough to see us through the day. Nice and close to East Midlands Designer United, which was our destination and we were able to shop while feeling refreshed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianbarker365
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for one night to visit family, we spent the afternoon outdoors because the sun was shining and the kids loved the outdoor play area. The room was spacious, bright and clean, the breakfast was lovely!! Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. we hipe to see you again very soon

Reviewed 8 March 2017

We calls in for lunch and found the staff very friendly. We had the menu for smaller appetite. When the meals came they were good value. As the nominated driver I was surprised to find I paid over £3 for a pint of soda water and lime

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. please ask for the Manager on your next visit as there may have been a mistake on the price charged for soda & Lime. wee look forward to seeing you

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Overnight stay with wife and 2 grandchildren. Spacious family room with double bed and 2 singles. Slightly dated furniture, but everything clean and comfortable. Only complaint about the room was the hot tap in the bathroom sink barely trickled and the plug didn't work. Making my morning shave quite a chore. Nice breakfast of cereals. Full English. Fresh juice. Tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we have had all the water checked in the Hotel and all repairs have been completed. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

cost was £80 for b and b which is fine if its a nice place but unfortunately the room was very very dated and in a poor condition, also its more of a motel than a hotel with the rooms in a separate block from the bar and eating area. several of us had the food which was pretty dire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

we are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. if you had made us aware of any thing you was not to your liking we would have put this right immediately. We hope to see you again

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I will definitely recommened this hotel to anyone. The hotel is situated very close to the M1, so it is perfect if you are travelling and need to stop. We had a double room with a bath, a flat-screen TV, tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water in the room. It was very practical to get some dinner and drinks in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnadiah
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this place on the Thursday, for a Friday night stay, somewhere to stop while visiting family. We were not disappointed, the room was huge and spacious, clean, we comfortable really could not fault it, for £45.00 for two with breakfast for one night it was more than a lovely stay. The breakfast was very nice, hot, tasty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicki R
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for you great review. sorry the room was too hot for you. Just to let you know for your next stay, the radiators do have regulators on them that can be turned down, making the room temperature more comfortable. We hope to see you again very soon.

Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Came to the Boundary with 2 other couples. We all had a double room, paid the same price. Soon discovered that we all had very different rooms. We had a room with a small double bed & small bath. Another couple had a jacuzzi style bath and a bigger bed and the final couple had a kingsize bed, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were not completly satisfied with your room. the room prices are set centrally so I will pass your review on. please, if you stay again let us know about anything you are unhappy with and we will do our best to accommodate you

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
1.2 km away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,443 reviews
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
564 reviews
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
208 reviews
6.6 km away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
592 reviews
14.7 km away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please be aware when booking that at the weekends we are a live entertainment venue and this WILL affect the noise levels in the rooms. All entertainment stops at midnight. We can have entertainment Thursday through to Sunday depending on the time of year. Please ask when booking about whats on when you intend to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boundary Hotel

Address: Lea Vale | Broadmeadows, South Normanton DE55 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: RM259 - RM450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Boundary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boundary Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Boundary Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check before booking as function room is under hotel rooms.”
ianbarker365, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
C773UMsimonm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are events nearby on the weekends so you can hear some noise coming from there”
jnadiah, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 has jacuzzi bath but room 14 nicer !”
dilysShropshire, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms are quieter.”
860sl860, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5