We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punakaiki Resort

Save
Traveller (339)
Room & Suite (99)
Pool & Beach (15)
Ratings and reviews
GreenLeaders Platinum level
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good42%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“eco suite”(42 reviews)
“one night”(57 reviews)
“across the road”(35 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Private Balcony
Air Conditioning
Pool
4 Star Hotel
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
47 km to Westport Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
182
255
151
55
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
182
255
151
55
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco suiteone nightacross the roadpancake rollsrooms are largelittle priceythe main hotelremote locationgreat view of the beachnew zealandtasman seaboth sidesbeach sidefish and chipssound of the wavespancake rocks and blowholessouth island
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No balcony as advertised, poor quality motel type accomodation, 2 chairs for 4 people, 3 cups for 4 people, electric blanket did not work, exposed live wires of items plugged into power point, find somewhere else to stay !!More

Thank Karsim18
Response from Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki ResortResponded 1 week ago

Dear Karsim18, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. We will be speaking with our housekeeping team as to why...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this resort is great, and it is awesome to hear the waves rolling in as you drift off to sleep - however drifting off to sleep was difficult when the bed and pillows were so uncomfortable and hard. Tossed and turned all...More

Thank AussiesQld
Response from Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki ResortResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AussiesQld, We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us and take your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service to our guests. Thank you for your positive comments relating to our location and...More

Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

If you are traveling through the west coast of the South Island.. this is a must stop over. Beautiful views, good service and food. Take a walk to the blow holes and experience natural amazement with history. The beach is in front of the hotel...More

Thank Obie1000
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This hotel on the beach front has beautiful views. However this very tired looking hotel could do with a total remake. The rooms could do with repainting and repair to walls and all fittings. The bathroom in the unit we had was very damaged.The staff...More

Thank KiwiJeoff
Response from Jacob W, Guest Relations Manager at Punakaiki ResortResponded 7 June 2018

Dear KiwiJeoff, Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback and for the compliment in regards to our location and the views. Although we don't enjoy receiving negative feedback, it provides us with the details we need to know moving forward with our...More

Reviewed 30 May 2018

We stayed in this hotel in 2015 and thought every aspect was fantastic - so we so pleased to book it again. As you can imagine the location on the beach remains fantastic, the sunsets beautiful and the night sky incredible. I have never seen...More

Thank lin4197
View more reviews
About
Description
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ...More ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room Service
Spa
Breakfast included
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Platinum level
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (339)
Room & Suite (99)
Pool & Beach (15)
Dining (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
BlokeinBristol
9 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jacob W | Property representative |
Hi Kevin, Thank you for your enquiry. For Punakaiki Resort it would be recommended to make a reservation. However we do not have camper van site facilities at our resort, I believe there are other properties in Punakaiki if... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms on the beach are great locality"
Read review
"If you can get a discount rate........maybe, however there are other Hotels"
Read review
"Do check out which rooms give the best ocean view - the waves are awesome."
Read review
"the Eco rooms, go for the top floor, better view and no noise from above. Eco units are bigger also"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing