We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of The New Inn
 Click to rate
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night as we had a funeral to attend in the area. The hotel is well furnished and very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.We had an excellent meal in the restaurant, and the provided breakfast was also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Bed and breakfast approach rather than hotel. Room large and clean. Bed not very comfortable. Breakfast - not much choice, not very good quality. My partner, who never really complains about food, says that the scrambled eggs tasted as though they were made with dried eggs and he did not eat them. Service quite friendly but not great. Pub closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bowersalison
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Great venue for a get together. Relaxed atmosphere in a proper old fashioned pub. The food was very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had lunch for 10 people and everyone enjoyed their meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trish H
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch with a friend, just before xmas as we wanted to see what the food was like. Landlord and staff seemed very friendly, restaurant was fairly busy but only half full. The food arrived quickly and was what I would call pub food, nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Service was reasonable but the waiter had his...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debsdick
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Celebrated our friends 25th wedding anniversary here with their family. The food, service and friendliness of the staff was superb. Very professional and efficient. We had booked a room in the hotel which again was very good quality. Clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. We would recommend staying and dining here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jat121
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Dined with friends from Reading. Lovely meal. Service good but serving staff not in your face. A very pleasant evening. We had time to chat. We're not rushed and neither were we neglected. Parking was ample too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I wanted to escape somewhere away from the city for the weekend, after booking (and abruptly cancelling) a different hotel we stumbled across this gem on Late Rooms. Our whole experience was delightful, the rooms were spacious and warm (bathroom slightly dated but still lovely) Dinner was gorgeous, staff accommodating and sat us right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We had our second anniversary night in this hotel as it was close to work and home. We checked in to a room with no hot water and no electricity (all rectified quickly) and apart from the shower curtain being mounted 350 mm from the wall and making the shower a tad narrow the room was clean and tidy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ewan29
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Visiting the New Inn to check out the restaurant for a group visit later on. The menu looked good and not too expensive and the staff were helpful and charming. Pub gardens very pretty at the front. Bringing a group of 30 - 40 here and will write further after visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindypindydbwoods
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.See you soon at your group booking.

Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel room very old ran down and smelt of damp, most the light switches didn't work including the main bathroom. The lock on the door wasn't great and difficult to open. We booked a table in the restaurant but was more like being sat in the bar. The table wasn't set correctly. The staff didn't know the menu and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob S
BerkshireBetty, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Yes you did stay a few weeks ago, and checked out and everything was fine-nothing mentioned. You returned 3 weeks later to have a meal. At the New Inn the same food is served right throughout, there is no separate restaurant, all three areas are the same and were you were sitting is a very popular table.That is the way...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heckfield
1.0 km away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
326 reviews
6.0 km away
The Kingsley at Eversley
4.7 km away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
10.6 km away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
620 reviews
3.1 km away
The Wellington Arms
The Wellington Arms
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Turgis
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Odiham Rd, Heckfield RG27 0LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Heckfield
Price Range: RM321 - RM498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Heckfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No idea about rooms. We just had dinner there!”
 of 5 bubbles 204janetf, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Ewan29, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its likely that all rooms are pretty quiet. The pub is hardly used so no noise.”
 of 5 bubbles JonahSwashbuckler, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Sorry did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles tiggeregham, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 11 which was a good size. En suite had both bath and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles moirah616, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5