We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The George Hotel

    Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
    011 44 844 499 5710
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Savings alert: 12% below average rate

    The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$52
    US$52
    US$52
    Traveller (223)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Pool & Beach (7)
    Overview
    • Excellent19%
    • Very good36%
    • Average24%
    • Poor13%
    • Terrible8%
    Travellers talk about
    “half board” (25 reviews)
    “north tyne” (21 reviews)
    “three star” (10 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Breakfast Buffet
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness centre
    Pets Allowed
    Spa
    Meeting Rooms
    3.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$52
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$52
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$52
      View Deal
    View all 10 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (709)
    There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    211 - 215 of 706 reviews

    Reviewed 18 September 2015

    Once up-market 'posh' hotel now comforable (if a little drab) and unpretentious with some of the original features ( stair carpet held with brass rods, art nouveau brass door hangles, taps in bathroom cleaned so much over the years the chrome is now down to...More

    Thank June S
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 2 October 2015

    Thank you for leaving an informative and honest review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at The George. All of the bedrooms in the main part of the hotel have been refurbished how ever the bathrooms will be done at a...More

    Reviewed 18 September 2015

    Our room was small and the decor dated. The bathroom was in need of refurbishing also. We had a very small double bed which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. We had a disappointing dinner. The pâté was nice however the tempura prawn dish tasted...More

    1  Thank Trish S
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 2 October 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can inform you that all of our double beds are the standard size however we do have rooms with queen and king size beds. I apologise that you were not impressed by your dinner,...More

    Reviewed 17 September 2015

    Had a group here on as hearings holiday, room was spot on, staff amazing, food delicious, will definitely look forward to returning. Many thanks. The best bit was I only live 20 miles away but decided to stay due to my room being paid for,...More

    Thank coachdriveradam
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 17 September 2015

    Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hoep to see you again in the future.

    Reviewed 15 September 2015

    We spent a week here and found that all of the staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable and when it said the water was hot it really was (I think this was a first in any hotel I have stopped...More

    Thank Alan B
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 17 September 2015

    Thank you for your honest and positive review, we are glad that you enjoyed uour stay with us. I shall look into your comments regarding the wall paper. Once again thank you for your review.

    Reviewed 14 September 2015

    We decided to book a long weekend at this hotel as it was only £278 for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast for both of us. The grounds of this hotel are fabulous, right on the river where you can watch trout jumping. The staff...More

    1  Thank 628Margaret
    Response from GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George HotelResponded 17 September 2015

    Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We did have an issue with the boiler over a couple of days however that was resolved and the pool is up to full temperature. I can assure you the...More

    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,162 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
     
    Walwick Hall
    136 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Humshaugh
     
    Slaley Hall
    3,027 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Slaley
     
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    159 reviews
    #3 of 6 hotels in Hexham
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Spa
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$71 - US$163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 43
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Northumberland >
    • Hexham >
    • Chollerford
    • Also Known As
    • George Hotel Chollerford ,
    • George Hotel Hexham
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (223)
    Room & Suite (46)
    Pool & Beach (7)
    Dining (6)
    Hotel & Grounds (146)
    Bathroom (38)
    Family and Play Areas (4)
    Nearby
    Best Western Beaumont Hotel
    159 reviews
    6.82 km away
     
    Slaley Hall
    3,027 reviews
    16.46 km away
     
    Walwick Hall
    136 reviews
    1.87 km away
     
    Langley Castle Hotel
    1,162 reviews
    11.77 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    The Crown Inn
    184 reviews
    .87 km away
    Barrasford Arms
    25 reviews
    2.75 km away
    The Red Lion
    134 reviews
    5.34 km away
    The Rat Inn
    445 reviews
    6.09 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Hexham Abbey
    713 reviews
    6.70 km away
    Chesters Roman Fort
    497 reviews
    .81 km away
    Border History Museum
    48 reviews
    6.73 km away
    Hexham Old Gaol
    29 reviews
    6.77 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    michelle19650
    24 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from GeorgeChollerford | Property representative |
    Some 10 months later for answer, better late than never.. the answer is yes, you can bring a pooch though as we have a limited amount of dog friendly rooms so it on a first come first served basis, so to avoid disappointment... More
    0
    Votes
    helen01522
    9 August 2016|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from tchell2016 | Reviewed this property |
    Nearest shop is in village,15 minutes walk,or some snacks in garage opposite,not alot round hotel,go to Hexham on bus,5 miles,or get taxi,£10
    0
    Votes
    rubydoll
    5 December 2015|
    AnswerShow all 8 answers
    Response from Trish S | Reviewed this property |
    We stayed in September for one night and there was no entertainment that night, so not really sure.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "no lift, anyone with mobility problems should ask for a low room"
    Read review
    "go somewhere else"
    Read review
    "319 is a garden view"
    Read review
    "Find another option, maybe a B&B."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing