Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection

Beware this step in the dark at night. It’s between the bed and bathroom. You can see it next to the luggage.
Also they have no elevator
Traveller (153)
Panorama at the Inn on the Lake
360
Panoramas (37)
Executive Suite
Room & Suite (349)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 593
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Fall River
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice, Get a Free Night
380Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 115
  • 36
  • 16
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jean H wrote a review Jul 2022
Ottawa, Canada599 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Chose the Inn because it allowed pets. Had a decent-sized, ground floor room with a sliding door opening to a small deck with a table and chair to utilize. Parking was just outside the room, so it was handy getting the dog in and out. Lots of space to walk the dog around the property.

The room itself was a decent size with a hot-tub in one corner and a fridge, microwave and coffee maker, the decor is a little bit dated. The Inn is in a location where you can't easily walk to get something to eat, in fact, the closest place is several kilometres away. Your options for food would be to drive somewhere, order something in, eat at the restaurant or have room service.

Since we were staying there for several days and had a dog with us, eating became a bit of a challenge. You can't leave a dog alone in the room and you can't take it to the restaurant, so we had to result to room service for two of our meals. Prices aren't cheap and selection is limited.

Our room wasn't cleaned the first day and when we spoke to the staff about it we were informed we had to hang the "Clean Room" sign on the door, otherwise they don't do it. We weren't told about this.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the location is nice and quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fred11Halifax_NS wrote a review Jul 2022
St. George, Canada49 contributions41 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was great and nice and spacious. Particularly liked the bathroom with a seperate toilet with second vanity unit in it. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Taxi was arranged for airport transfer and arrived on time. All in all a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no lift but staff helpfully assisted in getting our bags to the room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
66rickyboy wrote a review Jun 2022
Kelowna, Canada12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the Halifax airport late in the evening after a horrible flight experience with delays and being re-accomodated and had no hotel booking anywhere. Jim, the shuttle bus driver that night set the tone for us. We were hungry as we had not had the opportunity to eat for many hours but their restaurant was closed and there were no nearby restaurants open. Jim took it upon himself to go into the kitchen and round up some left over quiche and some Nova Scotian fish filets and brought it to our room on a tray with plates,cutlery and condiments. All this even though his shift had already ended. This set the tone for our entire trip to Nova Scotia and I would most highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John B wrote a review Apr 2022
Southwest Nova Scotia, Canada69 contributions43 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is good. Convenience to airport is nice.

I stayed in Room 351. This room (and ones like it) are hazardous. Immediately after entering this room there is a noticeable step down (and the room is not very large). Similarly there is a noticeable step up to the bathroom entrance AND to exit to the balacony. On my first attempt at going to the bathroom I tripped on the step and fell face first in to the wall. Definitely a horrid start to the stay. As a retired engineer I looked at the room and realized that the 'sunken' part of the room was not providing any value and could be easily removed. The floor could easily be built up so that there is one level common to the entrance, door to the bathroom and exit to the balcony. Nothing would be lost in terms of room usage and guest safety would be greatly improved. Shame on Ascend and Inn on the Lake for sacrificing guest safety.

Despite having a very long day and being exhausted, the bed was not conducive to sleep. On the previous night I had spent at a Wyndham hotel and its bed was so comfy it was hard to wake up. Inn on the Lake provided uncomfortable sleep and as a result I did not sleep much.

And finally, the breakfast. Choice Hotels advertises a Grab n Go Breakfast. Hmmmmmm. Cold muffin and cold yogurt is what equals a Grab n Go Breakfast. Not even any fruit offerings. I don't stay at the hotel for its free breakfast offering, but a muffin and yogurt is not a breakfast - no matter how it is advertised.

I have stayed at Inn on the Lake previously and really enjoyed it. But that was a different room. After this last episode I will drive longer and stay somewhere safer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: AVOID 351-358, which are the single queen rooms. They are hazardous.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E D wrote a review Oct 2020
25 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful view with the leaves in full change. Picture perfect except that it is literally next to a main roadway. I was not about to enjoy the balcony or open the window without excess noise of cars/sirens. It got stuffy fast.

Unfortunate about location. But the atmosphere is really romantic and the food in the restaurant was very tasty. The server was very friendly and efficient. All staff seemed to really enjoy working there and were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike A wrote a review Mar 2023
30 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife's birthday present - a weekend getaway at this wonderful inn.

After I made the booking, I received a call from the manager who wanted to ensure our stay would be perfect. He asked if there were any special needs and what the occasion was.

When I explained it was for my wife's birthday, he assured us we would habve a memorable experience - and he wasn't kidding.

On arrival the reception staff were very warm and thorough, and when we got to our room, we discovered a beautiful plate of chocolate covered strawberries and merengues, a small box of chocolates, a bottle of sparling wine with flute glasses, and a nice birthday card.

The restaurant and pub on site are amazing, with delicious foods and drinks at very good prices, and the restaurant staff inquired if we had discovered the treats they had left for us.

The atmosphere is so warm and cozy. We met people and had great conversations in the pub.

I cannot say enough good things about this Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
wasagakim wrote a review Oct 2021
Wasaga Beach, Canada1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel looked decent upon arrival. The stairs leading up to the hotel are a pain to carry up our luggage.

The room itself was fine.

We did have to ask someone to come up and help us with a tv issue

I was not happy with the breakfast offered. We had to ask for it. The front desk staff went to get it and came back with a plain white box. Inside were two tea biscuits, to tiny apple juices and one other thing I can’t even remember.

Staff itself was not very friendly.

I likely wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone or stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pack light if your room is not on the ground level. No elevator so you will have to carry your bags.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Nelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 15 Oct 2021
Due to staff shortages we're not able to open for breakfast yet. The price of our rooms never did include breakfast so the complimentary box breakfast was just a small gesture on our part. Sorry you were not happy with it. We've had nothing but compliments on our staff so I am disappointed to hear of your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven S wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We first went here on arrival from the airport since it was listed that dinner (and the sign outside) said dinner served until 9:00. As we entered the restaurant at 7:50, we were told to go into the pub instead since the restaurant closed at 8:00. So we stepped into the pub at 7:52 and were seated. The waitress walked past us several times saying she would be right with us. Finally at about 8:10 she stopped at our table and told us no orders after 8 even though we had been sitting there before 8:00.
2 weeks later we had to return because of our hotel reservations. Things were no better. The restaurant was closed on Monday. So I asked the front desk what was available in the area for dining. He told me that he did not think any restaurants would be open since it was Monday. He did give me a list of pizza delivery facilities. I find it ridiculous, that a hotel that closes its restaurant on Mondays, does not keep an available list for their guests. Despite this, a quick google search revealed there were 5-6 available only 8-9 minutes away.
Next, they do not advertise that they have no elevator. This could be a serious issue for the disabled.
Lastly, in the room there is a step down/up between the bed and bathroom or entrance, this is a potential hazard at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There is no elevator for people with health issues or disabilities. No restaurant service on...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Susan Nelson, Owner at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection
Responded 15 Jul 2023
I'm sorry you experienced these issues. I'll be looking into solutions going forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rxalcal wrote a review Feb 2020
30 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oliver’s was a very appealing atmosphere - busy but relaxed. We made a reservation and were glad we did on Friday night.
The food choices were plentiful and the waitress was great. My husband had the rib special - he said it was “good” but that’s not his highest complement for ribs. I had the curry chicken which smelled amazing but was bland and almost tasteless.
Both of us had wet linen napkins when we sat down to eat. Obviously had not had enough time in the dryer. Haha.
Overall, it was fair. Seemed like a decent place but maybe we just didn’t pick food choices that they excelled at.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NSNeena wrote a review Jan 2021
New Glasgow, Canada198 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful room with fireplace, whirlpool tub and balcony overlooking the lake. Room was very clean as were all areas we were in. Check in was very easy and front desk lady was helpful in explaining COVID protocol for breakfast and on site restaurant as this was our first visit. A wonderful place to relax and unwind.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Lisa
19 contributions1 helpful vote
Oh I have no idea sorry
Answer from Roygiggey
Saint John, Canada39 contributions43 helpful votes
I do not know but you can find it online
Answer from Cindy2013_13
Toronto, Canada118 contributions54 helpful votes
Yes the lake side have 4 or 5 drive ups on the first floor and the pool has 5-6 rooms I believe but you do have the view of the highway in the distance. Yes there are fridges in the king suites. Can't comment on the others sorry. Enjoy
Pam M asked a question Jan 2017
Halifax, Canada1 contribution
Are you able to enjoy alcoholic beverages poolside during the summer months?
Answer from NinoandBunny
3 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm not sure but I would think so.
ChicagotresonceMatt asked a question Aug 2016
Chicago
smokeing rooms?
Answer from Mai
Timberlea, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
No smoking in the rooms, you can on the patio but make sure the windows are closed or else the smoke detectors will go off and there's a $250 fine
donnabrassor wrote a tip Mar 2024
Edmonton, Canada23 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book through the Inn on the lake page because it takes you to the Choice hotel website."
Read full review
Link B wrote a tip Jul 2023
Worldwide13 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check what days the restaurant/tavern is open re: meal planning. "
Read full review
Steven S wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no elevator for people with health issues or disabilities. No restaurant service on Monday or after 8:00. "
Read full review
Joan C wrote a tip Jan 2023
Nova Scotia, Canada169 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about stairs, and when the restaurant is open."
Read full review
fred11Halifax_NS wrote a tip Jul 2022
St. George, Canada49 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no lift but staff helpfully assisted in getting our bags to the room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Fall River area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 631 - RM 751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn on the lake hotel fall river
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityFall River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN ON THE LAKE, ASCEND HOTEL COLLECTION: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 565 Photos (Fall River, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Nearby attractions include Escape Artists (7.3 km), Sackville Lakes Provincial Park (5.1 km), and Cineplex Cinemas Lower Sackville (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kaiser's Sub & Sandwich Shoppes, Good Day Kitchen & Cafe, and Tom's Family Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection have airport transportation?
Yes, Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Inn on the Lake, Ascend Hotel Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire