We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kanani House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kanani House
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 8 January 2015

We stayed at Kanani House between 27th and 31st of December, 2014.I personally had such an amazing time there (being my first time staying in Watamu).The staff were amazing,most notably Elvis! He is friendly......and is such a great cook!!! The fact that he was able to put together an amazing meal even outside the menu was quite impressive. I really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKW
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 10 days at Kanani House from the 15 Feb 2014 and have nothing but praise for the place. It was hot but a very brisk wind saved us from feeling that it was too hot. We saw no unpleasant insects of any kind and have nothing but praise for the staff. The huts ( and yes, they are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lillebeth2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Kanani House sits on a beautiful coral cliff, boasting breathtaking views of turquoise seas dotted with fleets of dhows, bountiful birdlife and a cool ocean breeze. The house is at the northern point of the popular Watamu coastline, away from the hustle bustle of the village, Turtle Bay and noisy Italian resorts on Blue Bay. There are three bedrooms cottages,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjr1975
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here in October and loved the place. We were the only guests and received great service from its staff. Elvis was very friendly and cooked us delicious food. You just need to think what kind of food you want or choose from menu, and he would cook it for you for the price of raw ingredients. In August...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sergej V
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kanani is, as you say an eco hotel and it's great to have it's unique qualities appreciated by our guests. Do feel free to email me through the website about the experience you had with Gertrude, the manicurist - We don't want to recommend anyone who...

london
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The thought of this place is lovely but the reality is so different - if you are looking to get away and be close to the nature, sleep pretty much in the open air that could be a the place for you. I must say I found sleeping in the open hut quite difficult because you can hear every noise...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank oksana g
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with your partner on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and were...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This could have been a really excellent hotel, but unfortunately it is not properly looked after. On our second to last night, the weather changed to be a lot colder. Because of this, a lot of little creatures entered the room. We understood that the huts are open air, and that mosquitos, ants, etc could enter. However, we expected that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David79986
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with you at length on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We only had 2 short days but we thoroughly enjoyed the place. Elvis the caretaker cooked up a storm specially for us 3. The place has only three huts, but more would take away the nature of the place. Expect a place that is somewhat out of town (by tuk tuk a couple of minutes), which means you are right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ackersimons
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here in August after a busy and exciting week on safari. Kanani is so relaxing with the sea breezes and sound of the sea. The food is amazing and Elvis is a brilliant cook. His fish in coconut and chicken curry were especially good. We spent a lot of time beside the lovely pool. In August the sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanatlomond
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kanani House for three nights in January 2013. During a fabulous trip planned by Royjan and Clare Taylor of Kenya Snake Safaris / Bio-Ken, we used Kanani as a "base" for expeditions into the Arabuko-Sokoke Forest and Mida Creek. Kanani is very peaceful. The view from the pool deck overlooking the Indian Ocean is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leslie P
Salerno, Italy
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Kanani was exactly what we needed between one safari and the other. Here we have learned a special lesson: the less you have the more you relax! It's hard to describe how relaxing this place can be, how well the staff and Elvis (a great cook) can take care of yourself, how you can forget about the rest of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lyllidar

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#10 of 25 in Watamu
839 reviews
0.0 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
233 reviews
0.0 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 25 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.0 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
672 reviews
0.0 km away
Villas Watamu Resort
Villas Watamu Resort
#8 of 21 in Watamu
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kanani House is set on six acres on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. We have 3 double bedrooms, which can be rented individually, or the whole house can be rented on an exclusive basis. Kanani is fully staffed, with a great chef and two house stewards so our guests can relax completely.Kanani House was designed and built by an English couple with a passion for Kenya - we wanted to give guests a real taste of Africa at the coast. We have a strong environmental commitment, local and sustainable materials are used wherever possible and almost everything is handmade by local workers. We were inspired by the upcountry private safari lodges as well as the local architecture to build a house more like an African Village than a conventional western house. Each bedroom is a private cottage with en-suite bathroom set in the landscaped indigenous garden. The rooms are screened for privacy but open to the sea breezes. Kanani is a Robinson Crusoe experience - we have no landline, TV or computers, so you can get away from the stresses of modern life and unwind. Access to a small private beach is at low tide through our tunnel - hand carved through the fossilized coral rock, and securely gated, or you can walk or take a tuk tuk to the public beaches. If you're feeling less adventurous, you can just laze by our infinity pool overlooking the ocean. There are lots of great things to do in and near Watamu: snorkeling, diving, dolphin watching or sailing in the Watamu Marine Park; walks in the Arabuko Sokoke forest and the Gede Ruins, canoe trips, fishing, horse riding and windsurfing can all be arranged. We hope you can come and stay at Kanani House soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kanani House

Address: plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range: RM401 - RM979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kanani House Hotel Watamu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kanani House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kanani House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleeping 8 is a bit of a squash! It could also benefit with another bathrooms for communal use and guests”
 of 5 bubbles sjr1975, 5 Jan 2014 | Read review
“We stayed in the second (middle) room”
 of 5 bubbles Sergej_Vohrin, 30 Oct 2013 | Read review
2 of 2