We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Queen Catherine Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Queen Catherine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Queen Catherine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2013

stayed for 1 night after a 20 mile plus day on the cleveland way. Lovely villlage and great hotel. room was nice and clean, staff welcoming. had a bar meal which was just what we needed after the walk. if you are looking for fine dining you may be disappointed but for a bar meal it is okay. good range...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edwardbeaum0nt
north east
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the Queen Catherine a week ago and liked it so much we invited our friends who manage one of the most popular pubs in the north of England to come and join us. They enjoyed their stay too and are looking forward to returning. On arrival we were immediately shown to our rooms, dinner reservations taken and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alastair1969
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've just spent the last four nights at the Queen Catherine while on a course, nearby. The pub was comfortable, the food tasty and reasonably priced, and the staff really friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to return there. It's position on the edge of the North Yorks Moors is ideal as a base to explore. By the way, I passed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Sandra K, Owner at Queen Catherine Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Congratulations and good luck for the future!

Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We only spent one night but the landlord and landlady were very welcoming and the rooms were extremely clean. Breakfast was lovely and all staff friendly. We had a lovely night and my Hubby was on crutches so ideal night out/night in. The other pubs in the area were trying to be a little more 'gastro' which made them less...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne A
Stockton on Tees
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel, which is in a very good location. We had a warm friendly welcome and shown straight to our room. The room was very warm and cosy with extremely comfortable beds. The building itself oozes character and a feeling of history. The really brilliant feature were two open fires, one in the lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean S
Durham, England
Reviewed 17 January 2013

After spending years visiting & walking around the lovely village of Osmotherley, we for the first time visited the Queen Catherine hotel for a post walk meal & pint. The pub opposite was our usual stop off, but to be honest we dont feel the same welcome these days. Walkers seem to be overun by diners ( might just be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheekybaldy
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It's true, on the outside this pub looks ordinary. There's no pretence at being a 'gastropub' like The Golden Lion across the street. In fact we only ate here instead as they took card payments whereas The Golden Lion didn't! But we gave it a go and were very pleasantly surprised. I start every review at 5 stars and then...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ovloy
Bristol
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at the Queen Catherine Pub for three nights very friendly, food good, nothing to much trouble for owners and staff rooms a bit small but it is an old pub, the village is lovely, only down thing the church bell goes dont stop at night so if you are a light sleeper ask to be at the front.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BristolPriscilla
Lake District, England
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed 1 night after meeting friends for dinner. £35 for single b&b was very good value in this location. It is however only a dining pub with a few rooms so expect some noise from the bar area. Basic clean room with working freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities,comfortable bed and good breakfast . Very friendly staff. Oh and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rarrar
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Stopped over on a Friday night as part of a Motorcycle tour of Yorkshire and the Borders.. Bar was nicely packed out, good family atmosphere early in the evening and even after the kids went still nice place to be. Very good selection of beers, and the food was also very good. Both dinner and breakfast. My only wee gripe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kaybe_1200

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osmotherley
2.4 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
342 reviews
9.5 km away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
245 reviews
14.4 km away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
7.5 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Brompton
447 reviews
0.0 km away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#2 of 12 in Patterdale
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Queen Catherine Hotel

Address: 7 West End, Osmotherley, North York Moors National Park DL6 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Catherine Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Catherine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles RichardGoddard, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“There aren't any. Look for local B&B's.”
 of 5 bubbles 993TomP993, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do not get room 4. Ask for a room this is not over the bar if you go to bed early.”
  • Water damage on the wall in room 4
  • Room 4 shower stall
 of 5 bubbles WalkWithMe, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask at the time of booking about the dimensions of the room.”
 of 5 bubbles luciacU8747GM, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I had no noise from the bar or outside. My rear room was closer to the church bells though. Didn't stop me sleeping. They were actually quite nice!”
 of 5 bubbles 956philr, 11 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5