We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heartland Hotel Croydon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Croydon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Balclutha, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just had a corporate event at the Croyden Lodge and the food and service were excellent. Special thanks to Tania Henare and KB for the delicious and copious amounts of food, and Sandra Brock for clearing our tables so efficiently. Great night had by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelley K
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very unimpressive on the outside and very surprising in the inside. There are 2 areas of the hotel and we stayed in the newly refurbished side. The rooms were striking if a bit boudourish. Very small bathroom but fine for an overnight stay. Staff were ultra friendly and the evening meal was very good. Breakfast was slow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikbannister
Kiwi & Aussie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here again on our latest travel back to New Zealand. Since our last stay the rooms have been upgraded and are beautiful. We stayed in the suite with a separate kitchen, living room and bedroom. The bed was soft and very comfortable which is a must for us when traveling. We dined in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charmlee
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Gore is worth a visit. Nice town and came across this hotel. The reception and restaurant is all revamped and just lovely. Their premium rooms with one king are also revamped. We stayed in rooms that are older. However they are clean and had two rooms with KS beds good bathroom separate toilet. All clean tidy. Heated Nothing to complain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Hi Julie C, Thanks for a great review, Gore is a really cool place and sometimes gets a bad rap. You should think about coming when we have the Moonshine Festival or the Hokonui Fashion Awards. all the best and we look forward to your next road trip Mathew & the Team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a two night stay in the Heartland Hotel Croydon and thought it was wonderful. We stayed in one of their suites, (we were offered a very good rate as it was a last minute booking) and it was great to have separate rooms for bedroom and lounge/kitchen. Fantastic large modern bathroom, with bathtub, perfect for relaxing after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joycey300
Riverton, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I had an unfortunate experience the last time we stayed here and, as a result of my customer service feedback form and Tripadvisor review, I was contacted by the General Manager. Our latest stay could not have been more different, we had a room upgrade and a wonderful meal in the restaurant. the staff could not have been more helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prisonerfan
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Hi Prisonerfan, I am so pleased you had a nice time, sometimes things don't always go to plan and it is how we deal with the situation, I would like to think this situation has been dealt with and I am just so pleased we could show you how good we really are. All the best and see you again...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 October 2016

As a business traveller I stay at this hotel on a regular basis. Always greeted with warmth and a genuine smile. As a matter of general "chit chat" I asked what sky programmes they had available as I'm a keen football fan, and wanted to know whether they had access to the ESPN sport channel to watch a live European...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MSSCORPIAN
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear MSSCORPIAN It was our pleasure to be of assistance :) Thanks for the great review and see you next time All the best Mathew Brettell General Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the original 1960s units that were renovated in about the 1980s so the room was modest but clean and has everything we needed. Typical Southland people - warm and friendly. Great value stay and would happily come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shouldhavebeenanAB
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the nice review. Being friendly is all part of the industry just some do it better than others :) All the best Mathew Brettell General Managers

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Had a family birthday relative gathering here recently. Pleasant friendly efficient service. Great variety on the menu. Quality fresh food, (ie market fish tasted fresh, not frozen and then cooked). Salads were nice and colourful, crisp and fresh. I had the pan fried orange roughy, baked kumara and salad, very good! Think everyone was happy with their meals, the steak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippi1980
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Hi Pippi1980, You will be the chef's best friend, thanks for giving our food a glowing report, it makes it all worth while. Take care and please look out for our new summer menu coming soon. Thanks Mathew Brettell General Manager

Southland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Stayed one night for a function also being held on site. New rooms are very stylish and well appointed a pleasure to spend a night there. The restaurant and bar also have been very tastefully done up, the staff were friendly and obliging. Pity the guest bar had closed before 11pm( on a Sat night) as a few of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy626
GoreManager, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Croydon, responded to this review

Thanks Lucy626, we are proud of what has been achieved with the new make over of the hotel. I will pass on your comments to the team as they do like a bit of guest recognition. All the best Mathew Brettell General Manager

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
2.0 km away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
40 reviews
2.4 km away
The Reservation B & B
2.6 km away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Charlton Motel
Charlton Motel
#4 of 5 in Gore
22 reviews
1.1 km away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Croydon

Address: 100 Waimea Street | Croydon, Gore 9776, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Price Range: RM405 - RM564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heartland Hotel Croydon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Heartland Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Croydon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles nikbannister, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are large and extremely comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Prisonerfan, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I have only stayed in the superior room which are tops not sure about others”
 of 5 bubbles 596craigf, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Definitely ask for the upgraded superior rooms. Also, if you can, the ones facing west away from the road as these will be a little quieter.”
  • Clean, modern bathroom
  • Beautifully appointed room
 of 5 bubbles Lelonline, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the linked building keep you dry going to and from the main hotel and the parking.”
 of 5 bubbles Prisonerfan, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay