We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wits End Mountain Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winterton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wits End Mountain Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Just completed our second stay here, Wits End offers excellent value for money for those seeking a self catering option. The Chalets are older but are very clean and have all the amenities one needs for an enjoyable getaway in the 'Berg. Each chalet has it's own braai area and DSTV. We found that the WiFi did not work that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
grabardrakensberg, Owner at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We appreciate guest comments. Graham.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 November 2016

This resort messed up my booking. I paid my deposit and then they booked me incorrectly. Afterwards they insisted I forfeit my deposit despite their error. Extremely poor customer service!! Be very careful when dealing with this unprofessional bunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrie R
grabardrakensberg, Manager at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for a negative report of our resort, which sometimes is good, but only if it is true. No where was your booking messed up. A year and a half ago you booked and paid a deposit and cancelled at the last minute. You were supposed to loose your whole deposit and we decided to offer you the booking...

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Wonderful get-away in surroundings so peaceful and majestic - one of the highlights of our South African 30 day tour! Self catering privacy, amenities close at hand, friendly staff, everything one could ant at the finger-tips. Comfortable accommodation in beautiful venue. Thank you Wits End

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosy W
grabardrakensberg, Manager at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

It is such a warm feeling to know you had a special stay and thank you for taking the time to put this review on and that everything was to your liking. We strive to make sure your stay memorable. It will be wonderful to host you again. Kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We spent a weekend at Wits End for a wedding. The accommodation is lovely. We stayed in a 4 sleeper unit. It is very spacious and well equipped with everything you need for self catering. I was very pleasantly surprised. The 4 sleeper two bedroom unit has 2 en suite bathrooms which was great. Wits end is great for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamTravel68
Reviewed 13 March 2016

We had a wonderful time at a wonderul place. Even though the weather wasn't great, our host Lynette made many suggestions and recommendations that resulted in us experiencing the beauty of Drakensberg. The fact that she allocated an entire house to us also helped. :) Ales and Eki

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aleš S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Our family booked at Wits end from a brochure picked up at the Getaway show and we were so pleasantly surprised on our arrival as the photos and info on the website are probably the most accurate I have seen of similar accommodation which is a huge benefit when booking a new place. From start to finish the booking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
grabardrakensberg, Manager at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is most appreciated. Here at Wits End we really do try and make it home away from home.

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2015

We booked to see The Drakensberg Boys Choir and were looking for an overnight stop. Wits End is opposite so we booked it not expecting too much. But everything about this place is great and screams out for a much longer stay. A warm welcome, and a nicely furnished chalet awaited us after the concert and the view from our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graham6892015
grabardrakensberg, Manager at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Wits End is beautifully situated in the center Berg and we are always ready for our "Walk ins"

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The Accommodation Is First Class Situated in the most scenic terrain imaginable. Whether its relaxation or adventurous nerve tingling excitement (As most Youngsters want) in our party there was myself, the wife, plus 2 Daughters (both are very active), and one grandson aged 7, From hiking, Horse riding, Falconry, Canopy tours (In the trees), canoeing, rafting in fact all water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kim r
Cape Town
Reviewed 13 October 2015

We spent two nights at Wits End chalets while in the Drakensberg to attend a wedding. I'm just sorry that we couldn't stay longer and really hope that we get back there before too long. The setting is magnificent and so tranquil. Only sounds you hear is bird song. My husband and son went for an early morning hike in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeCapeTown
grabardrakensberg, Owner at Wits End Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our resort and we are glad you enjoyed our forest walk. For your interest we are in the process of fencing our property in conjunction with 2 adjoining properties providing 120 hectares natural mountain landscape to enjoy, and intend introducing additional game to complement the game that already occurs.

Winterton, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We were helped by a wonderful Lady Lynette she is so accommodating, the place is clean and very friendly and a lot to do. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The rooms are neat and well serviced and the only thing missing is a shop

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reshma345

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
28.5 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
743 reviews
24.2 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
759 reviews
18.3 km away
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
49 reviews
35.4 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
567 reviews
17.7 km away
Cayley Lodge
Cayley Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winterton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Self-catering chalets with magnificent views of the Central Drakensberg mountain range close to the Ukhulamba World Heritage site. Wits End is situated on 80 hectares of unspoilt mountain landscape, where nature abounds, and has several private nature trails passing through an indigenous forest and alongside a large trout stocked lake, offering boating, fly fishing and birding. Wits End Mountain Chalets now offers a wedding and function venue. Seating up to 150 guests, our on site chef will co-ordinate all aspects of your wedding or function. Evening dinners and special functions by arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wits End Mountain Resort

Address: R600, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Price Range: RM535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Wits End Mountain Hotel Drakensberg Region
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wits End Mountain Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views from all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles graham6892015, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask for good view”
 of 5 bubbles lowryepp, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles sox033, 30 Oct 2011 | Read review
“Mmm... all rooms in our unit was a good room!!”
 of 5 bubbles sonjakoch1, 30 Oct 2011 | Read review
4 of 4