We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 454: English reviews
Drakensberg
Reviewed today NEW

My wife and I have visited The Nest (out of season) in both the cold of winter and the heat of summer, and have only good memories of both our stays. This family hotel is a peaceful destination at which both staff and owners go out of their way to make one feel welcome and at home. I have no...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbT6690UK
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is what I call a quirky hotel. It's not perfect, but if you want a comfortable getaway with good grub, then it's excellent. It's one of the old style family hotels, which are so rare these days. We went for a 4 days break in the New Year. The place was packed with guests - obviously for this time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamakudu
Drakensberg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice place to stay. Very good food, and very nice presentation Food served in a smoke and CELLPHONE free restaurant cellphone free makes people more social then any social media congratulations for this idea, spread the word

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank williamwG657QU
Reviewed 1 week ago

My first visit was about thirty years ago when I was five years old. The comfortable room and swimming pool was what I remembered the most and now, years later The Nest was a clear choice to stay at while visiting with my husband from Wales. Main thing you need to know is that the food is exceptional. For dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately we all had either rashes or flea bites after our stay at the Nest. What a beautiful place but the staff is not managed well at all. The Restaurant staff is slow and unfriendly and the only person who is actually getting things organized to keep guests happy is the manager (he tried really hard). Our entire block didnt...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSI333
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the Nest with our family and our Japanese daughter in law pronounced this the best part of our family holiday. The facilities are geared towards family time, relaxation and soaking up the splendour of the mountain views. The meals are standard plain fare, the most welcome part not having to plan around feeding the family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renewalsh
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we truly enjoyed hosting your fun-filled group!

Drakensberg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Value for money. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly and helpful staff. Aircon in rooms is recommended but evenings are cooler. Bed was comfortable. Gardens and surrounds kept neat and tidy. Staff pleasant and helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review...we hope to see you back in the mountains soon !

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The nest is a great value family holiday, and if you enjoy your food, this is the place for you. The nest is well situated in the central berg, and many activities are an easy drive away. We were a family party of 5 with 3 adults and 2 children. We enjoyed our stay, however feel that the management could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W8505VOjeng
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your valued review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Management and the Nest team enjoy interacting with and trying to please guests so we were a little surprised at your comment. However we will continue to be vigilant as far as our guests are concerned and to improve on our standards.

Durban
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was dirty and we were given keys whilst they cleaned the room, sheets and pillows had stains. we were given a room with beer bottle caps and chips still present on the bedroom floor, only afte rwe kicked up a fuss was the room cleaned , we had no DSTV for the first day and no telephone for the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajesperim
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

I suppose it is always important to look at these Trip Advisor reviews within the context of all the other hugely positive feedback we receive – both on Trip Advisor and our internal guest returns. As you say you were given keys whilst our cleaner was still cleaning the room so it was hardly “only cleaned after Mrs Moodley kicked...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely stay. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in the Drakensberg with lots of daily activities. The food is great. Overall good value for money. Staff service needs to improve a bit.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tarryns2017
TheNestSouthAfrica, Manager at The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, we enjoyed hosting you. We will continue to work on improving our Hotel and our service.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterton
10.9 km away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
711 reviews
7.7 km away
Drakensberg Sun Resort
Drakensberg Sun Resort
#2 of 5 in Winterton
743 reviews
5.6 km away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.0 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
27.9 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
559 reviews
18.3 km away
Winterton Country Lodge at Rose Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Nest Hotel is the oldest and most well-known of all the Drakensberg resorts. The Hotel offers multi-award winning leisure accommodation and world class conference facilities.Celebrating its 76th year of welcoming guests in 2009, The Nest Hotel has a strong following of guests who make a point of coming year after year, returning to this most special place of comfort, wonder and beauty. The hotel offers excellent value for money as rates include all meals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel

Address: R600 | Champagne Valley, Winterton 3340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Winterton
Price Range: RM405 - RM587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nest - Drakensburg Mountain Hotel Winterton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Nest - Drakensberg Mountain Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to be away from the staff quarters - can get a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles mamakudu, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Phone or e-mail all your questions through booking. You don't ask, you don't get told.”
 of 5 bubbles RingoPest, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wifi is only at the reception, might consider this in choosing rooms :)”
 of 5 bubbles theberntraveler, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Berg rooms great”
 of 5 bubbles PeterD247, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles boblin2010, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay