We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Agoda.comUS$29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Swansea Tasmania
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We chose to stay at Pakbeng Lodge during our 3-day slow trip from Chiang Mai, down the Mekong to Luang Prabang - we had a superior room, which included dinner and breakfast, and they put together a lovely lunch for us to have on the boat to Luang Prabang the following day (additional, but very reasonable cost for the packaged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakage
Camille B, Sales & Marketing Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jakage, Greetings from Pakbeng Lodge. The team and I wish to thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay and that we met your expectations. It is true that the Lodge boasts an incredible view on the Mekong that we are glad to share with our customers. Relaxing times is...

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night and wished it were two. Everything exceeded expectations. The setting and views are stunning. The dining was great. The lodge and rooms themselves were exceptional and the service really good. Great place to relax for a day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin S
Camille B, Sales & Marketing Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kevin S, Thank you for your kind review. We would be more than happy to welcome you again at the Lodge for a longer stay. Why not give a sunset meal by the Mekong another go? Hoping to see you again in the near future, Best Regards, Melissa Woolley Sales & Marketing Manager

St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 4 July 2015

very good meal, excellent service, superb massage in the room, nce rooms with everything needed for one night stay. Comfortable beds and pillows. Accurate baggage service, convenient location for coming on the boat by river as there is a stepway from the pier up to the hotel. Be accurate after the rain as it is muddy and sleepery.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elena G
Camille B, Sales & Marketing Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elena G, The Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge's team joins me for thanking you for your king review. Our service has a real full meaning if we were up to our expectations. You have made our day and we wish to thank you once again. Hoping to welcome you soon on site, Best Regards, Melissa Woolley Sales & Marketing Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The food in the restaurant was amazing and the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning however they have only received electricity recently in the area so it's understandable. It is also quite difficult to get directly from the boat up the mud hill

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarel77
Camille B, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning, I hope that my reply will finds you well. Thank you very much for your warnm comment . I will let know all my staff that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the Air Conditioning we have it , but only in our Deluxe rooms and Suite , in the top building. I wish you to see you coming...

Melbourne
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Great views of the Mekong river and life across the river ( we were lucky to see elephants walking down to have a bath in the morning with their handlers). Due to a power failure at the top of the complex we were moved from the deluxe rooms which were very nice and had air conditioning but no tea making...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ivors-Trips
Camille B, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ivor, Yes you are right we had a power cut when you came at the lodge , as you must know it happens offently in Laos. That 's why we are equipped with 02 generators , one for each part of Lodge. Unfortunately when you came one of our generators wasn't working at all. When the pose came back...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We stayed here for just one night during our cruise along the Mekong. For a lodge basically in the middle of nowhere the accommodation is very good. The rooms are of an adequate size and there is a good shower with loads of hot water. The breakfast is excellent although the dishes came in a strange order. The evening meal...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JDB44R
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I stayed 3 nights here and wished I had booked for longer this was not possible due to river cruise schedule. During the day the hotel was very quiet and it was lovely to be able walk into the village and interact with the lovely staff. The food was fantastic and the views from the beautiful rooms lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oldyearlytravel
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Booked two nights here. The room and view was just perfect. In a deluxe room and it was very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and friendly and the customer service was excellent.The food was delicious and was included in the package. Okay the dinner menu choice was limited but the quality of the food could not be faulted. Without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DODCOL
Fort St. John, BC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We stayed at this Hotel during our upriver trip from Luang Prabang to Houay Xay. The hotel sits on nice grounds with a great view over the Mekong River. I had booked and paid for this hotel 2 months in advance of our stay there and when we reached reception to check we were informed that the Suite room that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apexster
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reader, We are happy to announce that during the second week of December 2014 we closed the upper wing of the Pakbeng lodge (Deluxe & Suites) for renovations. - Installation of air/condition units in all the Deluxe rooms. - Modification of all Deluxes & Suites to provide more natural lights in the rooms. - Upgrade of our...

Limoux, France
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

Overnight stop here whilst travelling down the Mekong to Luang Prabang.Lovely views from our balcony Room did not quite come up to standard There was no chair to sit on and the mattress was the cheap thin ones I expect to find in the cheapest hotel.Though not on our program it appeared our booking was all inclusive.The even meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah209
Stanislas F, General Manager at Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Sarah209, Thank you for your review "beautiful location". I can assure you that we do use regular mattresses and bedspring of international standards and not the thin cheap one. Is it possible that you stayed in a different hotel and not the Pakbeng Lodge? For the dinner, we use only fresh ingredients from the local market and our...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakbeng
0.0 km away
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
Nakaraj Princess Hotel
#1 of 7 in Huay Xai
13 reviews
0.2 km away
Mekong Riverside Lodge
Mekong Riverside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Pakbeng
146 reviews
0.6 km away
Phonemany Guesthouse
Phonemany Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Pakbeng
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Monsovanh Guesthouse
Monsovanh Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Pakbeng
119 reviews
0.0 km away
BKC Villa
BKC Villa
#4 of 12 in Pakbeng
15 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Monsavanh Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Pakbeng
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting by the bank of the Mekong, Pakbeng Lodge is halfway between the World Heritage Town of Luang Prabang, and Huay Xai, the main border crossing between northern Thailand and northern Laos, both towns reachable within a day by cruise.Attached to each of the Lodge's 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Deluxe Rooms, and 2 Suites, is a large terrace overlooking the river.The Lodge is an ideal point of departure for walks in the forest of an hour or a day, towards villages off the tourist roads. (Please see our section on Excursions.) It faces the Mekong Elephant Camp, which is dedicated to the protection of elephants in Laos. There, a wonderful opportunity exists to discover the life of an animal that contributes a strong element to the traditional culture, by participating in a walk or with their morning bath.The Pakbeng Lodge suggests you stay a few days in this protected area far from the beaten tracks. You will appreciate the comfortable atmosphere, the picturesque sunrise and sunset over the Mekong, and the comings and goings of the different boats that dock near the Lodge's beach. Your visit will consist of utmost relaxation but also of unusual encounters- an immersion into traditional Lao life. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge

Address: | Ban Done Khame, Pakbeng, Laos
Region: Laos > Oudomxay Province > Pakbeng
Price Range: RM155 - RM529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pakbeng Hotel Pakbeng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Pakbeng Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are quiet and offer a view of the river”
goodra, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river”
JeannieD_12, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe there are suites and deluxe rooms with separate dining room and perhaps the room facilities are more up market.”
paulineandaland, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“1st floor overlooking the River to see the elephants come down to the river in the morning,”
15MikeH, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on an upper floor for beautiful views over the Meekong River”
NottsForestfan, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$36
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates