We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Water Caye
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
See the most recent reviews
Showing 175: English reviews
seattle
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We stayed in one of the "Pelican Pouch" rooms, room#1. It was better than we thought it would be. It was a very comfortable dorm room with a flush toilet and shower, in-suite. We also had 24 hour wi-fi and it turns out this was the only room in the resort with this feature. This was a very relaxing vacation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trvlrSeattle
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 March 2016

We spent 5 nights here and initially, thought it might be too long a time on a small island. Turns out it was too short. We were upgraded from the new Brown Booby rooms which are much smaller than the cottages; there are no hooks or shelves for clothes (yet) and the hot water heater was on the blink -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvannoppen1
Reviewed 10 March 2016

The beach is idyllic and the reef is right there for snorkelling. The staff are infallibly friendly, and Alton, the maitre d', is a gift. He’s willing to make anything work any way you want it to. But the rooms are shoddy (no hangers, no clothes space, no chairs no screens on windows) and the food is okay, but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uhclem
PelicanBeachResort, Owner at Pelican Beach - South Water Caye, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time for the review! It's been a bit busy and we've focused on the guests not the buildings. Sorry about that - we're doing lots of refinishing over the next few months!

Gregory, MI
Reviewed 7 March 2016

My wife Kathy and I spent five nights and four full days here. It was very laid back, lots of good kayaking, swimming, and snorkeling right off the beach. I got to try a paddle board for the first time, and did lots of kayaking around the island. Kathy got a private snorkel lesson from Alton, and we both went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
Toronto
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The accommodations are quite lovely and there is a gentle peacefulness vibe to the resort. The food was excellent. The staff are very accommodating and welcoming. When my mask broke on one of the trips out, Richard let me use his personal mask so I would not miss out on the trip. I was very appreciative. The snorkeling was amazing,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 26 January 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our stay the first time we visited four years ago. But not so much this time. They've built new buildings and continue to do so, as evidenced by the continuous construction noise. They gated off the south end of the island, so resort guests have to climb over slippery rocks and walk through the water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ange H
PelicanBeachResort, Owner at Pelican Beach - South Water Caye, responded to this review

Hi Ange, Sorry about the construction noise and temporary construction debris in December as we finished up the transfer of our group facilities from another location to the northern end of this property. You will have notice that we did nothing to affect the privacy of the existing cottages! There were weather delays with the project and we are sorry...

Amherst Junction, Wisconsin
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This place is everything you'd want in a beach vacation. The owners are on-site and actively involved in running the resort. We had a beautiful cabana that was twenty feet from the shore. Excellent snorkeling, great food, lovely people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stickwaver57
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 22 January 2016

The perfect place if you want to really relax. It's the best snorkeling I've ever experienced, both off the beach and the side trips to local reefs. Swimming is perfect. Theresita and Leonard are wonderful hosts. Views are great from almost everywhere. The food is excellent, lots of fresh fish, lobster, red snapper. That said, if you want a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail L
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 January 2016

If you long for quiet time on an island and a peaceful beautiful vacation, this is the resort for you. It is on an island and you will need to come over in an open boat and the waters may be rough. They cannot control weather conditions! Once there you will be well taken care of. This is a place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie S
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

We loved this little island. It was so relaxing and unbelievably beautiful. The water was the perfect temperature Everything is low key and relaxed. The people who run the resort are very kind and accommodating. We enjoyed our snorkeling trips with Ritchie who speared a few lion fish and conch for us. The kitchen then cooked them for as an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristin B

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (288)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (61)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Water Caye
8.5 km away
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Coco Plum Cay
878 reviews
20.2 km away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
284 reviews
27.1 km away
Isla Marisol Resort
Isla Marisol Resort
#1 of 1 in Glovers Reef Atoll
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Bonefish Hotel
Bonefish Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dangriga
20 reviews
22.4 km away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dangriga
125 reviews
0.4 km away
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
Blue Marlin Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in South Water Caye
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Two special locations, one great vacation - South Water Caye and Dangriga! South Water Caye, our island getaway-seaside cottages and rooms with fantastic views and cooling trade winds. On a gorgeous beach, atop the barrier reef and within South Water Caye Marine Reserve. Snorkel from shore, dive, fish, kayak or do nothing at all. Environmentally-friendly facilities with separate student group accommodations. For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Address: Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Price Range: RM2,334 - RM5,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - South Water Caye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Hotel South Water Caye
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pelican Beach - South Water Caye staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Pelican Beach - South Water Caye staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A single cabin overlooking the reef”
margueriteo751, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Osprey and Heron are over the sea, the others further back, but there are no bad cottages. The rooms, over the restaurant are cheaper”
amy000, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Herons Hideaway can be windy...but romantic. Loved Egret right on the beach”
canada777-1207, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Heron's Hideaway is a single cabin where you go to sleep listening to the wake on the reef and have two private hammocks. Perfect!”
  • Heron's Hideaway
  • Back porch of Heron's Hideaway
elizabethk460, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Heron's Hideaway probably one of the more private rooms. Outstanding view.”
Happy415, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5