We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Loch Altan

Share
Traveller (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Traveller (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Room & Suite (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Babysitting
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Donegal Airport16 km
Eglinton Airport63 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
140
86
35
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
140
86
35
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal bar food two nights loch altan refurbished room free wifi lovely hotel no lift seafood chowder freshly cooked breakfast saturday night amazing scenery errigal mountain evening meal haddock beautiful area two night stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Was part of a party of 8 of us that stayed for weekend (groupon deal) 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal (in the bar) the food was excellent and quite reasonable no-one had any complaints, there was a good turnover of customers throughout our...More

Thank bigmac14758
Response from OstanLochAltan, Owner at Hotel Loch AltanResponded 5 days ago

We are delighted that you and your group of friends enjoyed your stay with us here at Ostán Loch Altan and that you then took the time to write such a positive review of your weekend. All our staff are locally sourced and it gives...More

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had our wedding reception here on the 6th of oct 18. From the beginning of our wedding planning the management and staff were a dream to work with. Nothing we asked, big or small, was a problem. The staff worked to...More

Thank myah5
Response from OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch AltanResponded 4 weeks ago

We are all really pleased that your wedding day at Ostán Loch Altan was such a perfect one for you, your husband and all your guests, many who travelled such long distances to celebrate with you both on your special day. We also enjoyed the...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had our wedding reception in Loch Altan on 15th September 2018 for approx. 350 all day guests and everything was perfect from start to finish. Sean and the staff were excellent from when we began planning the wedding at the beginning right up until...More

Thank sineadandrichard2018
Response from OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch AltanResponded 9 October 2018

All the staff here at the hotel are thrilled that you wrote such a positive review of your wedding day on the 15th September. They are very grateful for all your kind comments about the service that they provided to both of you and to...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

This was my third stay in the Loch Altan hotel and it won't be my last. On each return, I and my fellow windsurfers are made so welcome, to the point where seeing the hotel staff again is something I look forward to as a...More

Thank PassingBy_Just
Response from OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch AltanResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your lavish praise of your return visit to Gortahork and to Ostán Loch Altan. We all look forward to the annual visit of Peter Hart and his wonderful group of windsurfers. The staff here really love to have you with us year...More

Reviewed 18 September 2018

We stayed a night at Hotel Loch Altan after traveling from the far north of Ireland. I looked at two rooms and one did not particularly smell clean, the other seemed fine. Unfortunately, the bed in our room was old and lumpy. I woke up...More

Thank sculptor-for-fun
Response from OstanLochAltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch AltanResponded 19 September 2018

I am very pleased that you took the time to write such a fair and balanced review of your recent visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I regret that you didn't get a good nights sleep and that you had a backache for...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
John F
19 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tom F | Reviewed this property |
Yes ......
1
Vote
MichaelHolg
5 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Patrick B | Reviewed this property |
Hi Michael, sorry for the delay in replying, I was away in Europe working. The hotel has large screen TV's and I would be surprised if they did not show the matches, it is a very friendly customer orientated family run hotel.
0
Votes
RoisinMc1
12 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jan T | Reviewed this property |
Think you might find it too quiet no music in bar across the street when we stayed, although music in hotel but not great.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"If possible get a room overlooking the loch."
RichardGalway
8 Dec 2017
Read review
"If one wants charming Donegal staff, then this is the place to stay."
FebruaryCorkIreland
1 Aug 2017
Read review
"Rooms at back of hotel are quieter & better views."
GerriFisher
9 Jun 2017
Read review
"216 wont be beaten."
noram936
31 May 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandGortahork
NUMBER OF ROOMS
39
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing