We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park

Save
Share
Jalan Kinabalu A4 Road, Ranau 89300 Malaysia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (375)
Room & Suite (149)
Dining (44)

About

#2 of 79 in Ranau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 750 square Kilometers Kinabalu Park was converted into a National Park in 1964 for its geographical importance and the abundance of flora and fauna. In December 2006, UNESCO awarded Kinabalu Park as Malaysia's first World Heritage Site for its "outstanding universal values" and its role as one of the most important biological sites in the world. Located 1,585 metres above sea level, Kinabalu Park showcases a complete and interesting ecological system unrivaled anywhere else in the world. It also carries lowland, mountain and alpine vegetation that are not seen anywhere else between the Himalayas and the New Guinea. Kinabalu Park also plays host to the annual Mount Kinabalu International Climbathon event, proclaimed as the "World's Toughest Mountain Race" and attracts top mountain racers from around the world.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Hiking
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Fireplace
Interconnected rooms available
Separate living room
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Malay
266Reviews4Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 115
  • 24
  • 12
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Aishah AB wrote a review May 2022
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia1 contribution
I just bought an expensive Skechers shoes for travelling and also as my birthday gift to myself. It's like a self-reward to me after my hard work. I landed in KK and drove to KK right away on the same day and checked in to Hill Lodge during the evening when the rain starts pouring. It was a very tiring journey. I have many luggage as I am travelling with a baby. When I am picking up the luggage into the room, I forgot to bring my shoes together into the room because as a Malay, we rarely bring shoes inside our house. I left it at the verandah exactly near the door for a while. After some minutes, I take my shoes in but it was torn into pieces. My newly bought Skechers was torn into pieces! I was just about to begin my holiday but it was already spoiled. And then at 11 PM, some dogs (5-6 dogs) brawled and keep barking at each other just beside my room. My baby was awakened by the barking and starts wailing. We were also awakened by the noises and struggled to contact the counter as they are closed after 10 pm. To contact the manager, we need to search her number through their website. After 20minutes, a security guard comes and shoos the dogs away. It was a terrible experience and no one comes comforting us or saying sorry about it. It was a really awful experience. I am okay with the old furniture, poor facilities etc, but not this. I never expected SSL to be this terrible because it has many chains of businesses. But it is. I really don't recommend you guys to stay here. The only good thing is, the food is quite nice. That's all. To SSL, please install a fence at the verandah so that the dogs will not loiter around the verandah.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to highlight our shortcomings during your recent stay. We take into account all your valuable comments and will further evaluate our products to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Gary S. wrote a review May 2022
Malaysia223 contributions51 helpful votes
Located at Kinabalu Park, we stay at Liwagu Suite #01. The suite is quite a distance from the reception. And once we arrive at our suite, the door was unable to open, the door lock is semi damage, we only able to open it with the help from the staff. The suite is big and spacious with living area and the bedroom on the 1st floor. Water heater is manual, need to pre-heat it 30 minutes before use. The breakfast at Liwagu cafe was quite a variety of choice if food and it also included a live egg station & noodles station.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guest leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
GS wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
World class service! All staff were super friendly and fantastic. Food was wonderful. The Kinabalu Lodge was extremely cozy and homey. The interior and facilities were perfect! Bravo to Sutera Sanctury team for job well done! Keep it up!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kiru wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions
Booked 2 rooms for me & my friends . Stayed at Liwagu Suite 4 for 1 night and was highly disappointed. The room smelled like urine & damp cloth. Very unpleasant! Phone line was not working. My husband had to walk over to the liwagu restaurant to order directly, which wasn’t an issue the first time because our room was in the same building as the restaurant the staff sent over the food without an issue . However , my husband went to order room service the second time for my friend who stayed at the Hill Lodge at 8:40pm (because the phone at the Hill Lodge was not working as well) , the staff were refused to send over the food by themselves and had the audacity to ask my husband to send the food himself when it was raining even though we were informed early by the staff that room service was available until 9pm. We are frequent guests at Sutera Kinabalu Park , this is our 4th visit here and by far the worst experience compared to the other minor issues we faced during our previous visits. Staff were not pleasant & rather rude on most occasions however, the waitress at breakfast on 25th April was polite. Truly not the best stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to highlight our shortcomings during your recent stay. We take into account all your valuable comments and will further evaluate our products to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Mandy Y wrote a review Mar 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia4 contributions2 helpful votes
Stay at the Peak Lodge 1 for 3D2N in March 2022. The veranda of the place allows direct view of Mount KK. Manage to capture the mountain early in the morning. Perfect place for relaxing with clean air and away from the city into the mountain. The room comes with fireplace and can ask for more fire woods for burning. Perfect during night time when it is kind of chilly outside.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Stuart294265 wrote a review Feb 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia380 contributions414 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the rooms in the restaurant building. The room was very nice and spacious with upstairs balcony bedroom. The staff in the restaurant and check in were outstanding. Many Thanks. One small thing to fix is Astro - many channels were listed but only a few available - not an issue of its sunny and you walking but if you are stuck inside with rain you would need some TV (also no wifi in room for alternatives to Astro viewing)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Depends on your budget - stay at this place when visiting the area!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 4 Apr 2022
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
FFMJ wrote a review Feb 2022
Senawang, Malaysia1 contribution
Pro- I would certainly book Sutera Sanctuary Lodges again if i visit kundasang it looks like an awesome vacation accomodation. the location is also closer to view mount kinabalux. Cons - room heater available but not enough the room Very cold. Also parking is limited very far from our room. Dial for the hotel front desk, tell them the toilets clogged,but the staff did not show up be there to clear it. Hopefully the management can look into it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Azrina J wrote a review Nov 2021
29 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed at the garden lodge. Loved the barbecue facilities provided but charges applied. Clean. And loved the surprise they had for my mom’s birthday. Thank you for that. Breakfast was good as well however price was a bit steep for an add on breakfast for my child. And the room was ready only at 2.30pm which was past check in time. However, all is well!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve our services to ensure each one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Audrey Penelope D wrote a review Oct 2021
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia29 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
Great location, great service from all staff (from FO to F&B), nice and clean lodge. I stayed at Hill Lodge (Room 4) with my husband, and the room has a great view of Mount Kinabalu. I book a room without breakfast, so I can't comment on the breakfast. But for dinner, I went to Liwagu Restaurant. They serve a tasty ala carte menu that ranges from local to western cuisine. The price is a little high, but for the standard of the hotel, I'd say it's reasonable. They are no longer providing bottled drinking water in the room, but there is a water refilling station outside so you can refill your drinking water anytime. Bottle is also provided for a fee. Few things that may be need to be upgrade in the future; -To install double lock at the main door for extra security. -power socket near the bed (each side) -Water refilling station needs to be service frequently (when I refill my water bottle, the color of the water is yellow). Overall, good place to stay. P/s: We also meet Ben, the cheeky Great Dane!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Hill Lodge room 1-4 has the best view of Mount Kinabalu.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve our services to ensure each one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
thecw wrote a review Apr 2021
Subang Jaya, Malaysia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Pros 1. warm, clean, comfortable beds 2. basic amenities provided 3. water bottles not provided however there is a refilling station right outside. very environmental friendly :) 4. excellent location before climbing Mount Kinabalu the next morning Cons 1. found a cockroach in the wardrobe 2. it rained the day so the water dripping from the trees were quite loud throughout the night. we stayed in hill lodge 10 and the trees were hovering over the lodge. shouldn’t be a problem for other chalets. 3. carpet needs cleaning
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve our services to ensure each one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$23 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahRanau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park
Which popular attractions are close to Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Nearby attractions include Mount Kinabalu (7.4 km), Kinabalu Park (0.4 km), and Desa Dairy Farm (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a 24 hour front desk, and a gift shop.
Which room amenities are available at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include 89 Station Restaurant, Nabalu Kundasang, and SS Chinese Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Last POW Camp Memorial (15.2 km).
Does Sutera Sanctuary Lodges @ Kinabalu Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.