We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waipu Cove Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waipu Cove Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Waipu Cove Resort
 Click to rate
Salford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were really pleased with the unit size at this motel and so well set out. Nice sitting area, the kitchen had all the equipment we needed, even a colander which you don't get in most places. The toilet and shower looked like it had been upgraded fairly recently and the bed room was roomy, bed comfortable. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suesalford
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and my apologies for the smokers next door. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, the pools and the location and maybe get to see you both again some time. Wishing you safe travels. Kind Regards.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

waipu cove resort We have been in waipu cove resort couple of time. Location is nice the restaurant over the road is amazing it's close to the beach and have a swimming pool. The big downside is the cheep and nasty beds that are not appropriate to this cost of accommodation, the beds are what you expect when you go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goren I
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hello Goren, Thank you for your review and sorry the beds were unsuitable for you. For your information Room 6 had and has a new medium motel super king bed when you stayed and no comment was made re comfort to us at that stage. A 2 week survey was put in place on the bed you found uncomfortable in...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There were 7 of us. The rooms and beds were comfortable. We had a good time in the pool and spa. The dampener was the manager was not exactly welcoming. If you have more than two cars in the group it pays to check in advance if there will be secure parking for all the vehicles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenf545
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Resort can only park 1 vehicle per apartment and this is mentioned on all our booking sites and confirmations. However extra vehicles can be parked on the road verge which is generally secure. High occupancy is only through the peak summer season and the rest of year parking of more vehicles is not normally...

Leeuwarden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time in Waipu Cove Resort. The appartments are super clean and very well equiped. Easy to make your own meals. Dishwasher and in our appartment (2 bedroom) and a landrymachine and dryer. Very good shower. There was no cleaning service when we stayed for 3 days. Every day towels and kitchen linen are refreshed and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dian W
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes it is the perfect place for a relaxing get-away and only one & a half hours from Auckland City. Waipu Township also has a Four Square for groceries, but Magical Mangawhai is a great spot to visit. Would love to see you back again...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Lovely place to recharge. Rooms were super. Manager was helpful and available. There is a spa and pool. Resort is smallish and private. Very close to the beach. The beach is white sand all tides and huge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are now pleased to advise the pool has heating to take away the chill and would love to see you back again. Wishing you safe travels.

Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We had a one bedroom unit and found it to be an extremely comfortable and immaculately clean place to stay after a very long flight. Well appointed kitchenette with everything you need to cook a meal, and free laundry also available on site, which was very helpful. Free wifi and parking next to your unit and a cute little patio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CassieS99
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Cas for your great review and it was a pleasure to accommodate you both. We wish you safe travels and hope you enjoy your time up North. Kind Regards.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Only stayed one night at the Waipu Cove Resort. Friendly staff and clean rooms with a separate bedroom. Great shower and bathroom area. Also a nice outdoor area to relax in at the rear of the unit we were in. Very close to beach for a stroll or just to sit and watch the waves. Nice place overall and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kej5
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you back sometime. Wishing you safe travels.

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Pretty good value for a stay right next to the beautiful Waipu cove beach. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, well set up, very helpful staff. The only negative is that if you are expecting anything resort-like you will probably be a little disappointed. It does have a nice outdoor swimming pool which would be good for the summer but nothing else....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WainuiTim
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi WainuiTim Thank you for your review and love to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes re-branding is on the cards once all the upgrade projects have been completed in the next couple years. We do have the pool area with swimming pool (which should be heated in the next month) and heated spa pool. We did once have a...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 September 2016

So handy to lovely beaches, and several great restaurants. We went for a lovely morning walk on the beach, great to walk out of your unit and be able to walk straight on to the beach. The swimming pool looked good but a bit cold when we were there but apparently it is soon to be heated. Friendly helpful service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne Beavon B
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Hi Lynne, Thank you for your review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It will be a pleasure to see you back. Safe Travels, Kind Regards.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Studio Units tiny. 2 bedroom apartments ok-full kitchens but one bedroom sits next to another studio unit meaning you can hear everything. No tvs in bedrooms of 2 bed units, one small 1 in lounge and very uncomfortable furniture to sit on. Modern units, nice outdoor area to relax & generally reasonably quiet. Single beds have shocking mattresses very lumpy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank no1pokachic
WaipuCR, Manager at Waipu Cove Resort, responded to this review

Nothing much to say here except there is always two sides to every story. All I will say is no wonder there business finds it hard to accommodate some of their workers. No one should have to put up with such attitude and rudeness to spoil their day.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
33.0 km away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#17 of 35 in Whangarei
85 reviews
0.1 km away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
310 reviews
1.5 km away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
10.9 km away
Mangawhai Lodge
Mangawhai Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mangawhai
46 reviews
1.7 km away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Waipu Cove Resort

Address: 891 Cove Road, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Price Range: RM437 - RM776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waipu Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waipu Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waipu Cove Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We took a bigger apartment and that was great!”
 of 5 bubbles L5832FNdavidh, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a downstairs unit that was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 277MarkM277, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles NeilMarshall2267, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-6 are road side but furtherest away from the pool and on the ground floor. There are 1st floor rooms on other blocks.”
 of 5 bubbles Jorneyman, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“There aren't any”
 of 5 bubbles W00dway, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5