We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sun Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sun Island Resort
Sun Island Resort
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,013: English reviews
Start your review of Sun Island Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff of the hotel was not very pleasant with us. And the welcome(reception) for a honeymoon is nice it's a pity one would have liked being cherished. We were not able to eat two meals on our stay and nothing was made. On the other hand the staff in charge of room is very well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank el0die03
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Sun Island Resort was indeed a great place for honeymooners. We had a water bungalow that was really nice and private. Exotic island, many activities & a variety of food. The couple spa is a must try.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yasmine_effat
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Sun Island Resort & Spa, With private terrace and direct access to the lagoon from your room, Water Bungalows provide the best Maldives experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in the Maldives and are looking forward to see you again.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed on this beautiful island for two weeks. We stayed in a Superior Beach Bungalow. Spacious and good room with everything you would expect. Extra bonus for the outdoor shower! The beach was right outside the door and there was two sun beds belonging to the room. The water is absolutely magical with exotic aquarium fish wherever you look,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soju2017
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, The marine biodiversity in the Maldives is truly amazing with quite a lot of different fish to be found right at the beach. The baby white-tip reef sharks are completely harmless and fun to watch, most commonly can be found near jetties patrolling the area. We advise all our guests to choose the All...

Romania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have been here 10 nights with my mom , and we enjoyed our stay ! The island is very beautiful , the most beautiful i.ve ever sow in Maldives ! The service is good , they treat you nice , always there for you ! Rooms are old , looks horrible ! And the food is bad also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Our hydroponic plantations grow bananas and variety of herbs and other vegetables - definitely worth a visit during stay on the island. The buffet style restaurant offers wide variety of food suitable for most, we are deeply sorry that it was not up to your expectations. We are happy that you enjoyed...

Hannover, Germany
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is very nice and the service is good but the whole is severely impaired by an extremely long transfair with over three hours waiting time alone at the airport Male on the outward flight as well as more than five hours waiting time on the return flight

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralfm88
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, There are 5 domestic flights available every day and transfer timings are scheduled according to international flight times. Unfortunately there can be longer wait times if international flights arrive without enough time gap for check-in for the closest domestic flight. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to see you...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were only here for 4 nights. Big mistake! I wish we had stayed longer. After a room upgrade as the Superior Bungalow we had booked was really not up to scratch (very tired and in need of major overhaul) We were moved to the sunset villas. There are beautiful. Personally I preferred it to the water bungalow that we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TPGINGER
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Sun Island Resort & Spa, We are pleased with your feedback on recent stay in our resort and are delighted to know that you have had a fantastic time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the island again!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sun island has so much to see and do it's amazing. We came on a 10 day All inclusive holiday. Shame all inclusive didn't include the 9 dollar magnum ice creams from the golf bar and that we had to pay for any cocktails or alcoholic drinks other than cheap alternative brands. Smoking policy is so 20th century! Overall great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, We advise all our guests to choose the All Inclusive meal plans as they include not only drinks during / outside of meal times in the main buffet style restaurant but also wide range of paid recreational services such as the gym and many others. The current All Inclusive offer is already...

Odense, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago

fantastic beaches,, good food, good relaxation, good diving, good swiming pool, in generel good service but unfortunately we did not get our fridge filled with softdrinks as every day even thougt that we were on all inclusive

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gudinden V
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, We are pleased with your feedback on recent stay in Sun Island and are delighted to know that you have had a fantastic time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the island again!

Skane-Tranas, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasent stay in a paradise. Snorkling is very nice and the buff'e' is tastefull. Nice crew in restaurants and bars. Good service of all kinds and we had a great week there. Bye All-Inclusive and drinkpackage, the prices är very high. Rekommends for those who not are millioners.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank X6314JWpia
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, We advise all our guests to choose the All Inclusive meal plans as they include not only drinks during / outside of meal times in the main buffet style restaurant but also wide range of paid recreational services such as the gym and many others. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in...

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect Sunshine, delicious Food, excellent water Quality and very nice People everywhere. A trip to Maldives gives you the opportunity of Relaxing. For a short time you can enjoy life besides stress and obligations.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leanderc212
Sun-Island-Resort, Manager at Sun Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to welcome you back to the island again!

5,537 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5081)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (961)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (977)
Viewed
Room/Suite (297)
Viewed
Dining (185)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
View from Room (270)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (2320)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (442)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Beach (65)
Viewed
Children's Pool (10)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
Standard Beach Bungalow (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalaguraidhoo Island
2.8 km away
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Maamingili Island
599 reviews
24.1 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
39.9 km away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
865 reviews
10.6 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
2,790 reviews
15.1 km away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sun Island measuring about 1.6 km in length and around 380 meters in width has 350 elegantly furnished guestrooms, including 72 water bungalows, out of which, 4 are Presidential Suites, 218 Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows and 60 Deluxe Beach Bungalows. All Deluxe and Super Deluxe Beach Bungalows are built on the beach ensuring a direct view of the shore and sea. All Water Bungalows are built on stilts in the lagoon overlooking the vast horizon of either the sunrise or sunset view, from your private deck. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun Island Resort

Address: 2100
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Nalaguraidhoo Island
Price Range: RM740 - RM3,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Sun Island Resort Maldives
Sun Island Maldives
Hotel Sun Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun Island Resort staff and other travellers.
234 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (234)

Questions? Get answers from Sun Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chose beachbungalow if you can't afford waterbungalow.”
X6314JWpia, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose superior rooms (preferably lagoon side) as they are closer to the beach.”
RashmeetSingh, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The water bungalows are a must!!”
Shellabella29, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definately treat yourself to a massage. And go all inclusive.”
Sarahpommyarnold, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“on the beach under quiet of palms !”
gornerj, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5