We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Las Dunas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Las Dunas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7,873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,311: English reviews
Start your review of Melia Las Dunas
 Click to rate
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was a repeat guest at this location. Last year in 2016 I could not have asked for a better vacation. The service was great, very attentive and friendly, the accommodations were also great, house keeping great, front desk great, swimming, guest services all great. This is why we booked again for 2017. Upon arrival and check in, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sdelorme5150
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful resort and everyone was very friendly. Yohan was amazing. Took the time to make us feel welcome and made sure we participated in all the activities. The bartenders along with the entertainment group, were all great. Felt very safe, beaches are beautiful. The food was good. No complaints. Hope to go back next year

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank SallyAnn P
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dera Guest: I’m sincerely thankful to read your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is good to know you enjoyed of a pleasant stay with us and took a positive view of our services. For us, it will be an honor to receive you again at Melia Las Dunas, so please let us know about your next visit...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently stayed at the Melia and it was ok. The staff in the restaurants were great. The food was good in the buffet restaurants, not as good in the a la carte restaurants. The Activity staff were fun and there were tons of activities. The hotel rooms were clean, but nothing special. Bring your own towels because you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matty K
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our resort as the destination for your vacation and for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. You can be sure that we are taking note of your comments in order to improve our service. It will be a pleasure to...

Ottawa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful resort, friendly staff, clean, great food and drinks. We arrived early afternoon, had to wait for our room, no big deal,so we went around exploring. Most staff members greet you with a smile. We heard people criticizing the food, but we were really happy with the choices. Never ate the same thing twice, unless we really liked it,which we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank maguida
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: First of all many thanks for take your time writing on trip advisor. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us! It will be a pleasure to receive you again. Best regards, Laurent Labal General Manager

Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Traveling with 8 family members and the 5th time to cuba this was by far the worst experience we have had. The pillows were stained yellow and when my husband turned his over there was blood stains on the underside. No facecloths provided, towels not changed and the worst mattress ( the springs could be felt ) ever. As for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gwhitelhs
Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I would give this place a 3.5 stars out of 5 .. I thought this was supposed to be a 5 star Hotel so I was a little dissapointed in some things. It was definitely not Terrible but definitely not 5 star. It was average for Cuba.Ill Start of with the one thing that I LOVED which is always the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephFresh
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience. We understand you have had a good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected. We are happy to know you have enjoyed our amazing beach, although it is really a surprise to us read your comments about our staff, because it is...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We just returned from our first time in Cuba and were pleasantly surprised. I want to thank the wonderful people on this site for all their help and guidance while I was making decisions on which resort to stay at. I am so grateful for this site and the friends here who are always so helpful. Okay ... time for...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank carminav2014
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It is been a huge pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel Melia Las Dunas, you always will be very welcome to Cuba as to our resort. Allow us to thank you for take the time to express your opinion on tripadvisor, and share your experience. We are sure our potential customers will benefit from...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were a large group of 14 including young children, who travelled in March for 1 week (6th to the 13th). This was our third time travelling to Cuba, but our first time to Cayo Santa Maria. The bus ride from the airport in Santa Clara to the resort in Cayo Santa Maria was 1 hour and 45 minutes -...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank B M
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your "family vacation"! It is very good to us to receive these nice comments that stimulate us to continue working in order to improve our service quality. It will be our pleasure to host you back...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only downfall to this resort was that the public bathrooms were disgusting - they were never cleaned - toilet paper ran out, paper towels ran out, some toilets didn't flush. We were lucky that our room was close to the pool so whenever we had to go to the bathroom that's where we headed!! Also, if you're in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bullfrog012
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Guest: It is been a huge pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel Melia Las Dunas, you always will be very welcome to Cuba as to our resort. Allow us to thank you for take the time to express your opinion on tripadvisor, and share your experience. We will take into account every detail you are...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Loved this resort! The room (in building 55) was clean and comfortable, bed really comfy. Beach is the best I have seen in the 3 times to Cuba. There was a number of places to eat in addition to the main buffet. Food was good - always able to get freshly grilled meat or fish and freshly prepared pasta. Pizza...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank judith l
DirectorMLD, General Manager at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Judith: Thanks a lot for taking your time sharing your experience on Trip Advisor web site and showing to all the travelers how good is our hotel. It will be a pleasure to receive you here again!! Do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to give us the chance to serve you again. Best regards, Laurent...

10,700 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10656)
Viewed
Dining (710)
Viewed
Room/Suite (814)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2923)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1977)
Viewed
Bathroom (148)
Viewed
View from Room (175)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (129)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (77)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (25)
Viewed
Other (3678)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
173 reviews
1751.2 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
1777.7 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
230.6 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: RM527 - RM1,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Melia Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and other travellers.
754 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (754)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Las Dunas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have very low expectations and you won't be disappointed. Always get 2nd floor. First floor smells.”
 of 5 bubbles sdelorme5150, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring some warm clothes, the wind comes in from the north sometimes. Don't worry if you are a fussy eater, you will find good food.”
 of 5 bubbles maguida, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor Adult side if your adult Kids side if you have kids and want to be close to kids pool”
 of 5 bubbles StephFresh, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“upgrade to VIP for nominal fee for a centrally located room (34-36 on family side).”
 of 5 bubbles carminav2014, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bungalow 27 is close to the beach but bungalows 05 & 09 are close to the family pool and lobby and not too far from the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 997bm, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5