We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Baron

Save
Share
8, PT 7861, Jalan Bukit Larut, Taiping 34000 Malaysia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
eDreams
FindHotel
Booking.com
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 17/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 17/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 27 hotels in Taiping
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Grand Baron, Taiping, is a modern yet humble hotel that offers affordable luxury stays with modern facilities and convenience to all its esteemed guests. Concealed and nestled within the lush woodlands of the lovely town, Taiping, Hotel Grand Baron offers 80 spacious rooms, each stylishly furnished and well-equipped with amenities for your daily needs. Its enclosed location renders a sound and tranquil environment, ensuring a pleasant stay and a good night’s sleep. Prominent landmarks such as the Taiping Lake Gardens, Taiping War Cemetery, the Zoo Taiping & Night Safari and Maxwell Hill (Bukit Larut), are all within walking distance from Hotel Grand Baron. Experience our cordial hospitality and indulge in our many services.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry service
Room features
Safe
25Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 15
  • 3
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DDPok wrote a review Oct 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia22 contributions
The hotel is right in the Taiping lake garden. It's walking distance to Maxwell Hill's main station, Taiping Zoo, Taiping War Cemetery. A short drive to the city center. The hotel has a wide corridor. During the RMCO, the hotel provides room service breakfast at 8 am daily. During RMCO, the hotel is trying their level best to provide the breakfast. Simple but I really enjoy their breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The bedroom is spacious. Wide corridor.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Baron
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Dear Valued Guest, It was a pleasure to have you stay with us recently. Thank you so much for your support and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for kind guests such as your good-self who understands the difficulty hoteliers are going through during this pandemic period. Thank you for the appreciative comments about our hotel, the breakfast and its strategic location. It would be a pleasure to have you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Till then, take care and stay safe! Kind regards, The Management
Read more
BenMorais wrote a review Aug 2020
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia314 contributions161 helpful votes
This was my first stay at the hotel. There was nothing grand about the hotel although I must admit, it did look good at first glance. We drove in and parked in the indoor parking lot. We then proceeded to the Front Desk to register. The restaurant next to the FD had ugly scaffoldings in it. Apparently some remedial construction work was going on! This was not conveyed to us when we made the booking.We were also told that the only restaurant in the hotel was closed! Not a great start for our one night stay. Nevertheless, the room allocated to us was a decent one - roomy and clean. The breakfast that came with the room was delivered to our room not at 8.00 am as promised but at 8.20 am! It was a terrible let down and a most unappetising meal.....................most of which we left untouched. The friend egg was swimming in too much oil. Ugh! We will not be returning to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Baron
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. We deeply regret to learn you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and we sincerely apologise for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. Our hotel had some upgrading works done during the MCO period since it was low-season at that time and some work was not completed yet after entering RMCO. We had posted an announcement on this via our social media pages and official website. Nevertheless, please allow me to apologise once again if the sighting of scaffoldings had affected your stay. During the first few weeks of RMCO, there were several changes to the SOPs set by the local authorities causing uncertainties therefore we were unable to operate our restaurant at that time. Therefore in order to ensure social distancing measures are in place, breakfast can only be delivered to guest rooms respectively. As for the punctuality and food quality, please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfall and rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed with the relevant team for improvement. We hope that you would reconsider giving us another opportunity to change this unfortunate impression you have of us and allow us to welcome you back. Thank you. Kind regards, The Management
Read more
robkazandy wrote a review Jul 2020
Penang Island, Malaysia48 contributions58 helpful votes
Great, modern hotel. Fantastic location for Maxwell Hill, Taiping Lake Gardens and town. Stayed 3 nights in a 2nd floor room with balcony facing parkland and jungle. Saw Rhinocerous Hornbills landing in the tree straight outside our bedroom. Beautiful scenery. Very spacious and clean rooms. Great sized bathroom. Tea/coffee in room with added bonus of a fridge. Breakfast not up and running properly yet due to RMCO but ok. Will definitely return. Large pool area with seating. Some parts of the hotel still being slightly refurbished after lockdown but didn't interfere with our stay. Will be even better when every facility re-opened.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Baron
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for providing a detailed feedback on our Tripadvisor page. We are very grateful to be your chosen hotel for your holiday post-MCO. Your support to us during the pandemic is truly appreciate. You are absolutely right, we took the opportunity to upgrade some facilities in the hotel during the MCO since it was the low peak season, in hopes to provide better services and facilities to our guests in future. We are glad to have understanding guests such as your goodself and are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay overall and even saw the hornbills (our frequent feathery friends)! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay. Kind regards, The Management
Read more
Chris wrote a review Jun 2020
17 contributions11 helpful votes
Decided on a whim to visit Taiping once the mco was relaxed. Stayed overnight at the hotel. In line with new SOP's imposed, most hotel facilities were closed and breakfast was served in room (didn't take up that option as we preferred to eat at the larut matang food court). This did not damper the trip as the hotel room is comfy and it is located slightly off the main town area, yet close enough to the park. The roads around it is nice enough to have a jog to whet your appetite before heading for breakfast in town. All in all, was a nice diversion after being stuck at home for months.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The Management, General Manager at Hotel Grand Baron
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for writing a feedback on our Tripadvisor page. We are very grateful to be your chosen hotel once the MCO was relaxed. Your support to us during the pandemic is truly appreciate. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the room and the hotel's strategic location. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay. Kind regards, The Management
Read more
Arvin wrote a review Mar 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia25 contributions5 helpful votes
Nice place to stay when u want to have a quiet vacation out of town. Clean, spacious and nice rooms. Staffs are friendly. Room rates are fairly reasonable. Things to improve 1. Pls change the variety of breakfast. Nasi lemak was okay, and Singapore beehoon was soggy. 2. A must have is eggs fry corner. No half boils or omelette available. 3. Facilities in the room was faulty. Air con not so cold, maybe small hp for a family room. 4. Bathtub water clogged and takes so long to drain out. Same goes with the sink. 5. Toilet is partially loose. 6. No water curtain near bathtub, hence water spilling all over. 7. The pillars at parking bays are very close, so u need skills to go in and out. Always watch out on your side mirrors. The rest was all good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelGrandBaron, General Manager at Hotel Grand Baron
Responded 4 Apr 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for giving a detailed feedback on Tripadvisor We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service, the room and the location. More importantly, we acknowledge the setbacks highlighted by you in regards to areas that require greater attention. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfall and rest assured that your feedback will be reviewed with the team for improvement. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay. Kind regards, The Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPerakLarut, Matang dan Selama DistrictTaiping
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Baron
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Baron?
Nearby attractions include Taiping Lake Gardens (0.7 km), Taiping War Cemetery (0.2 km), and Aun Tong Coffee Mill (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Baron?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Baron?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Grand Baron?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Baron?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ansari Famous Cendol, STG Taiping, and Ipoh Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Grand Baron?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Grand Baron?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dataran Warisan Taiping (1.4 km) and First Galleria (1.8 km).