We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. George's Caye Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
St. George\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Happy Valley
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small resort on a small island 7 miles off Belize City shore. They will pick you up at the airport or at your Belize City location and whisk you to the resort. It is a very laid back place with a dozen beautiful mahogany thatched roof cabanas and an excellent chef. Meals are served at the main... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank fearsmile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I stayed at St. George's Caye Resort last week for just about a week and we had a great time! The staff were great and attentive when needed. The food was DELICIOUS! There was not a meal that we were disappointed it! Because the resort is small, every meal is served family style at one long table... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you report - it will really help other travelers imagine staying at St. George's. Glad you had an excellent time, and you are always welcome back. Thank you. More 

Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

My wife and I spent 3 days here at the beginning of our Belize trip in July. It was absolutely stunning. After talking with a co-worker who described going to an isolated caye where there was nothing to do but relax, we chose St George's Resort as our total get-away location. We unplugged and went with the flow for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PARobbert
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future guests. I love that you tell everyone about all the activities (free) that you enjoyed, and also indicate "nothing to do but relax." We like to let guests know that they can totally chill, or be as active as they choose to be. Glad it was just what you... More 

Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My wife and I spent a little over a week at St. George's Caye. All the staff were extremely nice and very helpful. We had an "Over Water Cabana" and it was very nice. That side of the island is hotter and does not have a breeze like the beach side, but was beautiful and wouldn't have changed rooms at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SoxFan1987
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments that will help others know what to expect for their vacation at St. George's. We enjoyed having you visit with us. I would like to apologize for any misunderstanding, and clarify that our staff does NOT "expect" any amount of gratuity, and we never ask for gratuity. We believe that gratuities are totally up to... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from the resort and it was wonderful. The staff, the food and other guest were great. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, where you can relax and do things on your time, but get to the mainland for great excursions when needed, then this is the place for you.

Helpful?
Thank Panthers67144
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you visited us and had an excellent experience. See you soon. Thank you. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We arrived at St George's Caye with a lot of expectations: we read the reviews on tripadvisor and we really felt that this place was for us. We read thing like "little paradise" or "perfect honeymoon", but frankly this place is the opposite. Starting from the sewage smell across the whole resort, which made our stay very unpleasant. Going into... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Phil B
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

St. George's clearly was not the right place for you, and we are sorry you did not get what you were looking for. We constantly monitor to make sure we are accurately portraying the St. George's Caye Experience on our website, and we just completed a rate comparison study to ensure that we are very competitively priced. Travelers can read... More 

1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

The staff is wonderful! They did everything they could to make my visit amazing. I enjoyed having coffee and freshly squeezed juice delivered to my cabana each morning. I could sit outside and look at the beautiful water. The food was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Susan J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I spent 4 nights at St George Caye and although I enjoyed my holiday, I wouldn’t recommend it. I admit I was misled by other reviews of the place which, in my opinion, were not factual. Overall the resort was run down. True, there was a hurricane which damaged the place a lot. But you can tell that things were... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank kiaren27
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Perhaps you would have been happier in with the crowds of San Pedro - we are not for everyone. I'm sure readers will note that you mention you came just days after we were hit with a hurricane. When comparing with hundreds of our other reviews, it seems clear that this had a real... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Let me start by saying that yes, we showed up directly after Hurricane Earl, and the issues that entails were taken into account before writing this review. That said, I'll start with the good. The owner, Cap'n Ron, went out of his way to re-accommodate our party when it became evident that the hurricane was going to make a direct... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey K
CapnRon2011, Owner at St. George's Caye Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about our efforts to accommodate you after Hurricane Earl. We knew that everything would not be back to 100%, but we also knew that you and our other guests wanted to get to St. George's for at least part of your vacation. Readers will note that although we are in the tropics... More 

Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We just had our first Belize vacation, and when planning where to stay and what to do, we had no idea except for guide books, Trip Advisor, and a few tidbits from friends who had visited previously; most who had stayed at either Caye Caulker or Caye Ambergris. We knew we didn't want to go to ultra touristy spots, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EmmandPete50

382 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (72)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's Caye
38.3 km away
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
Pelican Reef Villas Resort
#4 of 53 in San Pedro
959 reviews
13.3 km away
Radisson Fort George Hotel and Marina
32.0 km away
Blackbird Caye Resort
Blackbird Caye Resort
#2 of 3 in Turneffe Island
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 km away
Black Orchid Resort
Black Orchid Resort
#1 of 1 in Burrell Boom
501 reviews
39.9 km away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#7 of 53 in San Pedro
1,150 reviews
0.0 km away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Turneffe Island
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. George’s Caye Resort is a secluded paradise located on a private residence island just seven miles from Belize City. Accessible only by boat, St. George’s Caye feels miles away from everyday life thanks to its cozy cabanas, breathtaking views of the Caribbean, and the highest level of service in Belize. Divers, anglers and those looking to just get away from it all will find everything they desire at St. George’s Caye Resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. George's Caye Resort

Address: Beachfront, St. George's Caye, Belize
Region: Belize > Belize Cayes > St. George's Caye
Price Range: RM1,436 - RM2,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. George's Caye Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your St. George's Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. George`s Caye Hotel St. George`s Caye
St Georges Caye Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St. George's Caye Resort staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from St. George's Caye Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved our over the water cabana and the provided AC and fans kept us comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles fearsmile, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If we were to go back, we would choose an ocean front room.”
 of 5 bubbles daniellesM9698KD, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid water cabana due to laguna smell. Best is beach front.”
 of 5 bubbles kiaren27, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ocean cabanas are waaaaaay cooler than the over-the-water ones. But bring your own Raid and beware the cockroaches.”
 of 5 bubbles 268traceyk, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ocean front Cabanas”
 of 5 bubbles EmmandPete50, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay