We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swiss Cottage Tioman

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tekek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Swiss Cottage Tioman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swiss Cottage Tioman
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Well located, well furnished, and well organized, with a rustic-chic feel. Snorkeling right off the beach. Breakfast included. The location (10 minutes' walk from ferry landing) in the village of Tekek is very good--much nicer than places on beaches with only one or more hotels, and gives many choices of restaurants. If you tire of the water, there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeirutMoores
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear BeirutMoores, thanks heaps for your lovely description of our place and the surroundings! It's great to also get feedback on the furnishing :) I'm glad to read you took walks around the village and along the coast. The beach south of Berjaya is truly a gem. We're happy to have had you stay with us and hope to welcome...

Reviewed 3 August 2016

We've been back to Swiss Cottage 4 times now & we've never before been people to go to the same place more than once. Most people there are travelling around south east Asia and when you ask them about other places they say good things but most say Tioman is better. Swiss Cottage is great, the cabins are fairly simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank getsusan
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear Getsusan, thanks for your encouraging feedback! It is wonderful to know you feel at home here. Tioman really is a special place and it is a great pleasure for us to see our guests having a good time and coming back. We hope you are enjoying your time wherever you are and would love to see you again in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

While the hotel itself is ok, clean, simple but comfortable, it is inhabited by sixteen disgusting cats. They are everywhere. They beg for food, they scratch. They do their business everywhere. They lie and sleep in the dining area- just today I saw one scratch itself and all of its fur went right on the eating table. They smell awful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitasta
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear Anistasta, Before we confirm any bookings you are sent terms and conditions that clearly state that we have cats on the premises,these are our pets. We require you to accept these terms and conditions before we complete your booking. It is clear that you have a strong dislike towards our feline friends and this is reflected in the language...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I like quiet places and Swiss Cottage is definitely a quiet place - if only we did not get the room just next to the restaurant where the Tioman dive crew and owners talk every night. I specifically asked for a room as far away from noise as possible in my email and booked half a year in advance so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lone T
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear Lone T, Thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed the setting and overall ambience here at Swiss Cottage . We sympathise with you in regards to your experience of hearing loud talk and music at night,this should not have happened.The communal area is a place for our guests to eat,relax,read books,use the...

Nimbin, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Very comfortable accomodation, most of the staff are very friendly and helpfull, be ready to put up with sandflies , they are very fierce. The water at front is generally crystal clear, depending on wind conditions. The only big minus is.... the breakfast, you have to be starving to eat it so unless it is ramadan and there is nowhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sameli57
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear Sameli57, Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you had a nice stay at Swiss Cottage and enjoyed the water and activities. We appreciate your opinion on the breakfast. We take pride in the quality of what we offer and frequently get great feedback on our food. We wish you many beautiful holidays and hope to have you...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This is our second visit to Swiss Cottage and we were not disappointed as it was just like we left it in 2014, with the addition of a free diving school the only change. Tekek has stood still in time as well and life goes on as normal. If you are looking forward to a 5 star location then this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlfieG13
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Dear Alfie G13, Thank you for writing this excellent review. Hopefully this place will be able to remain your " idea of paradise" for many more years to come. Was great to see your cheerful faces again. Its the people that make the place ;-) King greetings Swiss Cottage Team

KL
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Been to Tioman few times. This is one of the best stay i had. No fancy facilities, restaurants, no lounge, but good sleep, clean room, clean bed, good shower, clean surrounding, decent food, quiet place.... "green" concept, recycling bin can be seen around. Resort serves breakfast and lunch only, however the restaurant and convenient shop are just within walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLze
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Hi JLze, Thank you for taking time to write this great review.Happy to read that you have been to Tioman several times. It's a very charming place with lots of variety,especially for nature lovers. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back for more relaxing days soon. Kind Greetings, Swiss Cottage Team

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Great wooden bungalows, on the beach or in the garden in a beautiful, relaxing garden which is well looked after. We stayed as a family of four in two bungalows. Our two girls loved lazing around on the beach and in their hut, getting drinks and snacks at the cafe in reception and just generally relaxing. Felt very safe, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty C
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We had a short but enjoyable stay at Swiss Cottage. The sea-view rooms were all booked up so we had a terrace room instead, but it really wasn't that much different since it was also close to the beach. We could still fall asleep to the sound of waves at night. The room was large, clean and comfortable with mosquito...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorettasees
SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman, responded to this review

Hi Lorettasees, Thank you for writing this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had fun trying out the paddle board. Hope to see you again here someday. All the best Swiss Cottage Team

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

stayed at the garden view chalets for 2 nights with friends. Its a really quiet and peaceful place to just chill and relax by the beach or read a book. If you're a couple looking for a place to relax, yup.. this is it! We went for the snorkelling trip with mr. wasabi.. it was awesomeeee! The best part was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coothaguy

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tekek
10.5 km away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island
0.3 km away
Tioman Dive Resort
Tioman Dive Resort
#8 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
69 reviews
8.4 km away
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
Japamala Resort by Samadhi
#1 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Melina Beach Resort Pulau Tioman Malaysia
1.0 km away
Berjaya Tioman Resort - Malaysia
10.9 km away
Minang Cove Resort
Minang Cove Resort
#3 of 19 in Pulau Tioman
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Tioman

Address: Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800, Malaysia (Formerly Samudra Swiss Cottage)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman > Tekek
Price Range: RM110 - RM198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Samudra Swiss Cottage Hotel Tekek
Swiss Cottage Tioman Pulau Tioman/Tekek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swiss Cottage Tioman staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Cottage Tioman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“love the beach front huts”
ginger123, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to take a room with airconditioning.”
anneliesmichiels34, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“sea view bunglaow fan, which is right on the beach”
BeirutMoores, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“beach front”
getsusan, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Nice place to go if you are into scuba or free diving, the owner Stella is a very nice person”
Sameli57, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5