We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swiss Cottage Tioman

Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800 Malaysia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (403)
Room & Suite (117)
Pool & Beach (55)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs in Tekek
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beachside accommodation at Kg Tekek Pulau Tioman
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Lot 888 Kampung Tekek, Tekek, Pulau Tioman 86800 Malaysia
354Reviews9Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 117
  • 22
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
HiImDea wrote a review Oct 2017
Frankfurt, Germany2 contributions
Swiss Cottage is a cosy place with lots of love for detail as you can see at your arrival in the reception area (lot’s of books, art stuff etc.) but also around the cottages, where many different plants grow. It is a lovely place and the condition are just perfect to snorkel or dive. If you can't bring your own equipment you can borrow it at the reception. Have fun exploring the house reef just in front! You can also easily book trips for the next day at the reception (e.g. snorkel trips, jungle tour) which we did, both were a great experience. The stuff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine and you get coffee, tea and water for free, 24 hours. Also you can help yourself with sun blocker, mosquito pellets etc. We loved sleeping in the cottage which, in our case, was
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
bat43000 wrote a review Sept 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution1 helpful vote
I have been in Tioman island 3 times and this is my 4th and the 1st time decided to stay in budget/mid-range resort last week. I have selected swiss-cottage due to useful and brilliant information provided in their website plus the name itself - swiss-cottage. Throughout of my 4 days and 3 nights stayed in the resort, I have found that this resort is calm and quite, have nice beach, have nice and cozy reception area, offered free flow of coffees and teas all day, and many more. Although a bit annoying with monkeys on roof top but its not happen all the times but well its nature I guess. On the 3rd day I just found out that the front beach of the resort has nice coral reefs when I did snorkeling with my family. We have spent our snorkeling times at several locations from the 1st
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sizoadams wrote a review Sept 2017
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia14 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in the terrace room right next to the reception/ lounge area. We like everything about this cosy resort. The location, easy access to nice beach for swimming and snorkelling, great kampung ambience. Room is spacious with spacious terrace and very very clean. Basic yet modern amenities. And the most importantly, they provide filtered hot and cold water supply also coffee and tea all day- no need to spent money on bottled water ( bring your own bottle:) ) A big thank you to jenny for arranging us snorkeling trip at the last minute and very friendly and helpful. I really get it why this place is loved by foreigners. Just make sure you read the "what to expect" section at their website and dont forget to try their bannofee pie! Theres a number of restaurants and mini
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman
Responded 27 Sept 2017
Dear Sizoadams, We are very pleased to read that you had a beautiful stay at swiss cottage. Thank you for all your praise. It is good to know that you really liked the filtered hot and cold water dispenser at the reception area. Your thoughtful suggestion that guest's bring their own filling bottle is also supported by us. Thank you for that and also your friendly comments that you appreciated the complementary instant coffee and tea provided for the comfort of our in-house guests. It was a great pleasure to have you here and we are looking forward to welcoming you again another time. Warm Greetings Swiss Cottage Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Global-Palatinator wrote a review Sept 2017
Albersweiler, Germany93 contributions81 helpful votes
We stayed late august , and actually we were disappointed, after reading all the great reviews. What is good: the location is excellent , direct beach access , and great snorkeling direct in front of the cottage , and just 5 min to go to Pulau Renggis . What we did not like: 1 receptionist must have had a bad day on our arrival, she was not friendly nor helpful. The other day , a different receptionist was there , who was very warm and friendly. The cottages have no service, not for luggage nor anything. The worst however , they have 2 sunbeds on the beach , but nobody gave us the information of the terrible sandfly population there. We got hundreds of bites , while resting an hour on the sunbed. A simple remark at checkin would have solved this, but was not done. Now , 3
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwissCottageTioman, Owner at Swiss Cottage Tioman
Responded 27 Sept 2017
Dear Global-palatinator Thank you first of all for giving us an account of your personal experience at swiss cottage Tioman. As you have kindly mentioned, we are right on the beach at a great location.The drawback is there are sandflies sharing it with us.This can be eased by applying the special repellent available to all the guest's at the reception area. This is usually pointed out by the receptionist and also on our website.Apparently you were only partly satisfied with our reception.It is our policy to treat all our guest's in a friendly helpful and polite manner. We will be attentive to your observation. All in all we strive to provide good quality within our range. Any arising problems we try to rectify. So please feel welcome again at swiss cottage another time. Kind regards Swiss Cottage Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kate R wrote a review Sept 2017
Singapore, Singapore28 contributions160 helpful votes
Our three nights at Swiss Cottage were enjoyable - the weather was great, the people were friendly and the room (terrace with air conditioning) was just right for the price. To be honest I'd tried to get a room at Juara on the eastern side of the island but they were fully booked so we ended up at Swiss Cottage. I'm pleased we stayed there. The three of us fitted nicely in a terrace room which was clean, tidy and nicely decorated. Breakfast is included, it's simple but tasty. Lunches are good too. Dinner is not served, but there are local options close by that are very cheap. Ask the staff for advice and suggestions on activities. We did the day snorkelling trip, booked at Swiss Cottage, and were very happy with that experience, saw some great sites and two turtles. We also
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman
Responded 27 Sept 2017
Dear Kate R, Thank you for your detailed review of your stay on Tioman island which we are happy to hear bears good memories despite of some discomforts.Coming face to face with a turtle and a chameleon compensates for nature's drawbacks.Glad to know that you were comfortable in the spacious terrace room. We are aware that the walls are not soundproof and count on our guest's to be considerate. Glad you appreciated the warmth of our staff and the breakfast that is included in the room price. We hope to see you again someday. Kind greetings Swiss Cottage Tioman
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lola Méndez wrote a review Aug 2017
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico48 contributions26 helpful votes
Swiss Cottage on Tioman Island is a travelers dream. The quirky and comfortable rooms are very affordable, especially considering all are within footsteps from the ocean. Budget travelers can opt for fan rooms for a lower cost, AC rooms are also available and still very affordable. This is a wonderful place to unwind and relax, or learn how to scuba dive! There is a chalet for yoga and SUP rental. Be sure to eat in the darling cafe and never miss a sunset from the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwissCottageTioman, Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman
Responded 3 Sept 2017
Hi Lola M. Thank you for writing this wonderful review.We love your description of Swiss Cottage and are happy to read that you enjoyed yourselves. All the best for your further travels and hope you make it back here someday. Warm greetings. Swiss Cottage Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
victorcico wrote a review Aug 2017
Zaragoza, Spain3 contributions2 helpful votes
In my opinion, it is the best hotel in Tekek. We stay in three differents rooms and all are great. The standard room is big with two beds. The bathroom is clean (like the room). All rooms have mosquito net, although we don't need it, terrace and air conditioning or fan (in my opinion is better the fan). The chalet room is amazing, it has direct access to the beach. If you go to Tioman, book it.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Liam G wrote a review Jul 2017
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a terrace AC room which had everything we needed for our stay. The room comes with a small veranda for relaxing which is nice to be outside when you wish. The general upkeep of the properties is nice with good communal spaces. It is right on the beach so the morning stroll for a swim is only 20m. You should frame your expectations properly, do not expect haute cuisine for lunch or a trendy bar, but if you want somewhere clean and comfortable for a reasonable price Swiss Cottage is perfect. The staff were efficient and dealt with any enquiries I had prior to arriving or when we were there. The range of excursions they offer was also good and able to be booked last minute. You got a sense that they were well plugged into the community on the island. I can definitely
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
weikeatk wrote a review Jul 2017
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great amenities, common area and cleanliness. Simple and nice breakfast provided daily and super convenient to take your PADI OW here as it is directly next to the dive center ! Amazing landscaping and overall design is contextual with Tioman
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from SwissCottageTioman, General Manager at Swiss Cottage Tioman
Responded 18 Jul 2017
Dear Weikeatk, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it. Very happy that you enjoyed staying with us and also great to read that you liked our landscaping and overall design. Enjoy the rest of your holidays and we hope to welcome you here again someday. Warm regards, Swiss Cottage Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FarAway719257 wrote a review Jul 2017
2 contributions
Fell in love with this piece of paradise : Simple clean bungalows feet direct on sand, direct view on sea, simple menu but great food, small diving shop and all of this for affordable prices and nice/interesting people to meet. Nearly switched of the phone and could have stayed there forever. Discovered Freedive there (great instructor) and can't get it out of my head!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tekek area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 216 - RM 249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
samudra swiss cottage hotel tekek
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Samudra Swiss Cottage
LOCATION
MalaysiaPahangRompin DistrictPulau TiomanTekek
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS COTTAGE TIOMAN: See 238 Reviews, Price Comparison and 443 Photos (Tekek) - Tripadvisor