We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Misty Mountain

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Misty Mountain
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Middelburg
Reviewed 14 September 2016

MISTY ROMANTIC Mountain. A Place of tranquillity and awesome heavenly beauty. An ideal place for a romantic breakaway, just to relax, appreciate relationships and just to get away from it all. Friendly and helpful staff and host. They ensure that guests have a memorable stay and urge to go back there more than once. Awesome little bit of heaven on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tersiav2015
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear tersiav2015, So glad you found your awesome little bit of heaven on earth! Misty Mountain IS indeed a special place and we hope to see you soon again when you need a bit of "soul food". Thank you for the great review. Regards from all at Misty Mountain

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great stop over at Misty Mountain on our way to the Kruger Park . It is just a pleasant drive from JHB for an afternoon and then such an advantage next day when arriving for check on a 14h00 at Satara. The accommodation was perfect albeot not luxurious and the dinner was excellent with an amzing selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Louise V
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Louise V, It is always pleasing for us when guests are pleasantly surprised on their first visit to Misty Mountain. We hope that you will visit us again en route to and from the Kruger National Park. Thank you for the good review. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2016

On our travels ot the east of South Africa we often travel over the Long Tom Pass to enjoy the great landscapes and views. A stop we have used for lunch is the Misty Moutain Lodge near the top of gthe Pass on the Sabie side of the mountain. The view from the outside dining/lunch area on a clear day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeSATraveller
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear MkeSATraveller, Thanks for your review. As you well know, the Long Tom Pass is arguably one of South Africa's most famous mountain passes and on a clear day there is no better view than the one from the deck at Misty Mountain. As you rightly say, many people who visit for the first time are amazed at what they...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We actual just stopped for breakfast at Mist Mountain. Very lovely place with a great view. They had a buffet breakfast which look delicious but we opted for a breakfast off the menu. Food was lovely and our waiter very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tish630703
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Tish630703, We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast visit to Misty Mountain and chose to write a review. Next time, please come and spend a night or two. We look forward to seeing you soon again. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain.

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in for lunch and a ride down the mountain on the toboggan track at a friend's recommendation. What a view! From the deck, the pool, the pub, and obviously the toboggan ride. Staff were wonderful, felt very inviting. Keen to go back for longer when time permits and explore the area more thoroughly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryJamesZA
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Thanks for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Misty Mountain and your toboggan and lunch experience. We look forward to your next visit and trust you indulge yourself with a few days to explore the area. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain.

Tzaneen, South Africa
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

First time at Misty mountain lodge. What a great setting. Such a pity that the service is really bad. Staff bad attitude, never saw one smile and not once did we actually get what we asked for. Kind of felt that we as the guest was a nuisance for the staff and that serving us was a huge effort. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi V
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Rudi, Thanks for your review. As per my telephone conversation with you, I am grateful for your feedback and am addressing the issues that you have raised. With thanks and regards

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We enjoyed our visit to Misty Mountain very much, and recommended it to a young couple for their honeymoon as well. If travelling by road, appoach from the Sabie side and not the Lydenburg side, as all the roads to and from Lydenburg are full of potholes and very dangerous. The Sabie side has perfect roads. There is a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian_bekker
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear brian_bekker, Thank you for visiting Misty Mountain and for your good review. Glad you enjoyed the home comforts we offer such as the fireplace and our friendly hotel cat (Her name is Skattie by the way). It seems like you had a good all round experience in our area and we hope that you will return here again in...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Keith and I decided to participate in the Paradise Bike RALLY in Sabie but we don't normally like staying too close to the venue due to two factors...noise and if we stay too close we don't get to ride as we trailer the bike to the rally. Looking in the general vicinity of Sabie we found Misty Mountain. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genienethetraveller
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear Genienethetraveller, Thank you for your very detailed and positive review. I am pleased that you had a good all round experience in the Sabie area and that you enjoyed the rally, surroundings and experiences. Indeed there is a lot to do in our beautiful part of the world and we look forward to seeing you again at Misty Mountain...

Hazyview
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Know the venue as a day visitor and decided to enjoy an advertised special which included dinner, bed, breakfast and a moon light Toboggan ride. The stone cottage as great well appointed with a great view of the dam. Comfy bed & good linen. Good bathroom and a nice little kitchenette. Can definitely recommend and will be back. The Toboggan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WindmillHazyview
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear WindmillHazyview, Thanks for your good review and glad that you could finally spend a night with us! Despite the cold evening, the moonlight toboggan run was popular with most guests - a little bit of novelty going into winter. Hope to see you soon again. Regards from all at Misty Mountain

Reviewed 18 May 2016

Whilst we had some issues during our stay, I was impressed with the professional response to my initial complaint. The location is spectacular and the view from the breakfast deck is breathtaking. The facilities are somewhat rustic, but the food is decent and staff helpful. Overall, good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoaldJ
Lisa S, Owner at Misty Mountain, responded to this review

Dear RoaldJ, Thank you for your review. Indeed, we are situated in a beautiful part of the world! I am pleased that we were able to address your issues in a frank and sensible fashion and we have taken note of the suggestions you have made to us. With thanks and regards from all at Misty Mountain

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabie
14.7 km away
Floreat Riverside Lodge
36.6 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#6 of 9 in White River
166 reviews
33.2 km away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 15 in Sabie
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Merry Pebbles Resort
Merry Pebbles Resort
#5 of 15 in Sabie
135 reviews
15.5 km away
The Sabie Townhouse Guest Lodge
17.1 km away
Sabi Star Chalets
Sabi Star Chalets
#6 of 15 in Sabie
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Misty Mountain is a relaxed, informal, family friendly, owner managed establishment. Our accommodation comprises 27 chalet units and 1 self-catering farmhouse (total of 94 beds) offering comfortable, country style accommodation with easy access to the restaurant and all other facilities. A nature lover’s haven, situated on 280 hectare South African Natural Heritage Site on the spectacular Long Tom Pass (31 km from Lydenburg (Mashishing) and 24 km from Sabie), Mpumalanga, South Africa. Perched at an altitude of 1700 metres above sea level in a malaria free area, Misty Mountain is uniquely set in mountainous countryside with majestic views across the escarpment and into the Lowveld. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain

Address: PO Box 116, Sabie 1260, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Sabie
Price Range: RM399 - RM958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Misty Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalets on reception side has a wonderful breathtaking mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles tersiav2015, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room was right adjacent to the reception and the pool and was great, as are the adjacent rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles brian_bekker, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try and book one the 6 sleeper rooms. They're quieter, valley facing and far from the main hotel building.”
 of 5 bubbles RoaldJ, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view, right by the side of the valley”
  • Kitchen Inventory List for the two person chalet
 of 5 bubbles KiaOraKiwi, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain view chalet”
  • View from chalet patio
 of 5 bubbles lornag926, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay