We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grove House

TripAdvisorUS$156*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$156*
US$156*
US$156*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Grove House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 518: English reviews
Start your review of Grove House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Good location for touring. Owner and assistant staff very friendly, welcoming & helpful. Overall reasonable value for money - we stayed 2 nights and paid £85/night including breakfast. Some nice touch extras (designer toiletries, flowers etc) & one of the best breakfasts we had on our week long tour. However despite these points they did not make up for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay with us at Grove House. I am pleased that you found both myself and my manageress to be friendly and helpful. We both take great pride in what we do, and each day it gives us immense pleasure to welcome guests from all over the world to stay...

Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending eight days touring the outer Hebrides staying in B&B's Grove House was our last nights stay and definitely the best by far. From the moment we walked through the door we knew we had found somewhere special. The whole ambiance was lovely. Our room (1) was beautiful, fab bathroom, furnished to a very high standard. Breakfast well I've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angiew1946
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. Your kind words are much appreciated. I am in a most fortunate position to love what I do, and it gives me great pleasure to share my home with travellers from all over the world. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for choosing to stay with us at Grove...

Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We travelled nearly 1400 miles from home to Mull, Uist, Harris and back via Skye through Connell returning home after 9 nights. We stayed in 3 b&b's and one hotel. The Grove as our last night before coming home. What a find! A gem of a place with lovely welcome, a lovely room (two rooms actually), and a quality breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your overnight stay with us at Grove House. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your time with us, and that you liked the newly decorated bedrooms with their brand new en suites. Great too that the extensive gourmet breakfast went down well. May I say that it was a delight to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During a recent last minute holiday my girlfriend and I stayed at Grove House for one night. With work I tend to stay a lot in BnBs and Guest Houses, however Grove House surpassed any other I have stayed in through the attention to detail throughout the property, ensuring that our expectations for all aspects of our stay were exceeded....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House. Your kind comments are much appreciated. We take great pride in what we do , and it gives us great pleasure to share our home with guests every day. I am pleased that you enjoyed ' The Welcome Plate ' that we offer to guests...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this B&B for one night whilst visiting Glencoe, Fort William and Oban. Staff member Francis greeted us warmly and offered us complimentary wine, fudge and hot towels before showing us to our room. She was very polite and helpful and made us feel as though nothing was too much trouble. Our room was a good sized double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grove House. I shall pass your kind comments onto Frances my manageress, who takes great pride in the operation of our 4 star gold bed and breakfast. I am delighted that you enjoyed the extensive gourmet breakfast. As you pointed out we use as much locally sourced produce as...

Rhosllanerchrugog, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at Grove house to be greeted by the owner who made us feel right at home and quickly showed us to our room, wow! The room was beautifully decorated and furnished complete with lovely white linen and towels and spotlessly clean We were quickly bought a carafe of wine and some jo malone face towels which were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank antemery2016
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Dear Anthony and Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed ' The Welcome Plate ' which includes a carafe of wine, home baking and warmed Jo Malone towels. This is something that we offer with our compliments to guests who book...

Reviewed 12 April 2017

We all had a fantastic two night stay. A wonderful meet and greet like we had met before. The boys loved the room and ensuite exquisite they wanted too move in:). Now if you leave this little nugget hungry you slept through breakfast, oh dear you missed out. Service fit for royalty and the choices, so many I can't honestly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your with us, and that the extensive gourmet breakfast went down well each morning . It was a delight to meet you all, and I do hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 October 2016

My parents, partner, and I enjoyed a brief stay at this extremely comfortable B&B a couple of weeks ago. Connel is next door to Oban, which makes it perfectly located if you wish to explore the west coast and enjoy the seafood capital of Scotland too! On arrival we received a warm welcome coupled with some homemade tablet and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alliie
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the glass of pink bubbly, home baking and the warmed Jo Malone towels. These items are part of our ' Welcome plate ' that we offer to all guests who book directly via our own web site...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We had a very bad experience with Grove House and I would like to make everyone aware of their non-flexible, non-customer friendly and legalistic approach to situations when their customers are in force majeure. We had a reservation for one night and were due to arrive at Grove House before 7 pm (which is their deadline for check-in) but unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zaur_M
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Yet again you post your 3rd verbose and most inaccurate review regarding a stay that you booked through booking.com for Grove House. We offer a check in from 4pm to 7pm. We are always happy to be flexible regarding check in times where possible and only if requested prior to arrival. My manageress finishes her shift at 7pm, but if...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

This was the first stopover on our trip around western Scotland, booked based on fellow travellers recommendations. We were both very pleased with the accommodation and the service. Breakfast was excellent- varied and very tasty. The bed was comfortable and our room nicely decorated, with Molten Brown products in the bathroom. We were made to feel very welcome and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grove House. At all times we strive we exceed our guests expectations with service and facilities on offer. We both love what we do, and each day it gives us great pleasure to share our home with guests. I am delighted to read that you liked the design and...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.2 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
434 reviews
7.6 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
412 reviews
6.9 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
786 reviews
6.9 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,697 reviews
6.8 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 93 in Oban
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Grove House is an owner run 4 star bed and breakfast offering tastefully decorated bedrooms with brand new bathrooms added in 2015 and a fabulous gourmet breakfast. IT IS ALWAYS ADVISABLE TO BOOK DIRECTLY THROUGH GROVE HOUSE WEBSITE FOR BEST RATES / ROOM ALLOCATION AND NOT THROUGH ANOTHER CHANNEL MANAGER . Many bedrooms of the property boast loch views. Parking is available for all guests, and is free of charge. Wi Fi connectivity is superb throughout the entire property and is complimentary. There are 3 restaurants , 2 pubs and a cocktail bar all within walking distance of the bed and breakfast. Transportation to Oban is convenient as the bus stops directly outside the house, and the train station is a 2 minute walk away. Grove House can also offer a discounted taxi fare to town too. The extensive award winning gourmet breakfast offers a wide choice of cereals, accompaniments, fresh fruit smoothies, , speciality teas and coffees, toasted breads and a choice of 10 main courses. Guests have a modern conservatory complete with a water feature to relax in during a stay, and there is a drinks machine offering hot drinks from Cappuccino to Hot Chocolate that is complimentary and available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove House

Address: Grove House Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban > Connel
Price Range: RM541 - RM806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grove House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove House Hotel Connel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grove House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
hove
over a year ago
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Grove House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick a room away from the A85. Room was hot & we had to keep the window open through night were disturbed by cars/lorries.”
Z3024UQsusanc, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Take advantage of the comfy lounge in the evenings for a cozy glass of wine.”
cindyhK9911WN, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a decent pub restaurant about 10 minutes pleasant walk away.”
BJDorani, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not accessible for wheelchair users. Rooms are somewhat warm.”
648mn, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Simply ask the friendly staff advice regarding your preferences. Nothing is too much trouble.”
philipsM6348AL, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$156* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$156
Agoda.comUS$156
PricelineUS$156
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates