We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kalu's Hideaway

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kalu\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 424: English reviews
Start your review of Kalu's Hideaway
 Click to rate
Sydney
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at this small simple hotel for just one night. Our room was on the top floor but there isn't a lift so be aware. Our room was extremely spacious and well appointed. The welcome we received on arrival was wonderful. The food was ok but there was a limited choice compared with other hotels we've stayed at. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
Barnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent four days at the end of February 2017 which was a return visit. Kalu's is a quiet friendly hotel near the Udawalawa Game Reserve. The staff were excellent and very attentive and we could not have wanted for better service. Excellent Sri Lankan food at all times. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Kalu's for a holiday....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Salisbury
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. We stayed here due to the close proximity to the national park and the elephant transit camp. For this purpose it was the perfect hotel. However, as we'd stayed in smaller boutique hotels up until this point a large hotel like this was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank treblet87
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights. It is a very nice hotel and the restaurant has great food. It feels a little more off the beaten track and it holds fewer people so you don't get the tourist overload like at some bigger hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Fletcher
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Greeted with cold towels, refreshing drink and free head massage, a perfect start to our short stay in this beautiful hideaway. We stayed in chalet 1 which was absolutely superb, set up in the trees with a large balcony overlooking the gardens. The staff were all very kind and attentive, the food varied and plentiful, everywhere was clean and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chuzz
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Kalu's is hidden away and a lot of trouble has been taken to give guests a sense of peace and tranquility. There is a backdrop of a lovely garden where herbs are picked for cooking and a pool, both set against a lovely landscape of nearby mountains. There is not much to explore on foot in the immediate vicinity but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 611sunseekers
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful find! Small hotel with friendly staff and lovely facilities. Infinity pool looking over the gardens, cute spa in the garden, lovely deck restaurant overlooking a lovely view, nice and close to Uda Walawe National Park so the jeeps come to collect you. Would love to go again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Glasgow
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is great and I find it hard to understand some of the critical reviews. We were welcomed with ice cold cloths and drinks on a very hot day and then a special candle ceremony also. Ok our room didn't have a view but we were not in it a lot as there was so much to see and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank valerieb854
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of our trip around Sri Lanka. Unfortunately, this hotel did not meet our expectations in comparison to the other hotels we had stayed in on our trip. The rooms offered a nice view although we were unlucky to have a room that was infested with insects. We did raise this with the staff on two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don P
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We always strive to full fill the guest needs & wants. However we thank you for the honest feedback and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. We certainly hope to have the privilege of...

Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed 3 nights. Our room was ground floor just behind the restaurant and clean but rather small with no view.Unlike other reviewers we found the staff helpful and friendly. The location is the best thing about this hotel. There are so many beautiful birds in the garden, and the grounds adjoin the river so there is even more wildlife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie B
Bandara J, Manager at Kalu's Hideaway, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly appreciate your review of the kalus hideaway udawalawe. We are simply delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay and sincerely thank you for your words of praise on our staff, services and facilities. We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the high standard of service in the industry...

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uda Walawe National Park
0.0 km away
Elephant Trails
Elephant Trails
#1 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
155 reviews
0.0 km away
Walawa Safari Village Hotel
Walawa Safari Village Hotel
#2 of 2 in Uda Walawe National Park
30 reviews
4.4 km away
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resort
The Grand Udawalawe Safari Resor...
#4 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Silent Bungalow
Silent Bungalow
#1 of 22 in Uda Walawe National Park
100 reviews
0.6 km away
Nil Diya Mankada Safari Resort
19.0 km away
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
Big Game Camp - Udawalawe
#9 of 30 in Uda Walawe National Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With 14 Fourteen Spacious rooms including 5 Superior rooms,6 Deluxe, 2 Chalets & 1 Suite, the hotel caters to the most unique clients. It provides the butler service with personalized dining menu of your choice. The Hotel is located just 5 Minutes next to Udawalawe National Park & Udawalawe Lake. From Colombo 187 km to the Hotel and around 04 hours drive from Colombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kalu's Hideaway

Address: Walawegama | Udawalawe, Uda Walawe National Park 00300, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uda Walawe National Park
Price Range: RM328 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalu's Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kalu's Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalu`s Hideaway Hotel Uda Walawe National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kalu's Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a chalet which is excellent and among the trees.”
 of 5 bubbles dennisc102, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Tim_Fletcher, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Chalet 1 was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles Chuzz, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floor for example number 115”
 of 5 bubbles 611sunseekers, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles rosieb130, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5