We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Moby Dick Guesthouse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Moby Dick Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Ok so we didn't have any lizards or cockroaches here but my god the music is loud.. You know when something's so loud your throat hurts? And we were on 3rd floor! Room was ok though so nothing to do with cleanliness! On the day of checking out went down stairs and the music still blaring from last night ,absolutely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beav8792
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

The guest house in it self is an average place with big rooms. The ground floor is a party bar with high music all night. We booked it for sleeping last night, and we were so tired we made it. But we did awake 4-5 times during the night because of the loud music. We had the top floor room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Filip H

Travellers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2015 via mobile

I read the reviews that this was in a loud street, but oh my god! It is impossible to sleep here! The bed actually vibrates from the bass from the nightclub underneath, that pumps music until 7am! The rooms are about 30degrees and there's no hot water. The staff are lovely, maybe the only plus side. This is the first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Advisorkev
Newquay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

Couldn't wait to get out! Good if you want to party all night and sleep through the day, but we had a whole day of travelling so wanted a good night sleep so we could explore the following day. Got woke up at stupid o'clock by very loud music! But whatever, it's cheap! I also had to wake the lady... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

the room is simple but adequate and the hotel is in the center of all nightlife. the problem is that the room is DIRECTLY ABOVE and i mean right on top of an all night crazy loud music bar!!!!!! the owner tony is hilarious but do not stay here unless you want to drink all night and then collapse unconscious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sidney S
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Koh Samui without checking out any accommodation and not read any reviews, so we were happy to find a clean triple room just off of the main road at a decent price. The aircon worked very well and it all seemed good. However when we returned to our room later we realised that we had failed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank bangarara
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with 5 other friends. It is in a perfect location if you are here to party. Unfortunately we had just come from none stop partying at the full moon party on Koh Phangan so we were actually looking for a chill out and the other reviews about the noise are right but if you are... More 

Helpful?
Thank mad-m0nk13
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Loud place. Manager pestering us to write a review while our breakfast was going cold. Toasty with chips, No sign of the chips and the side salad it was supposed to come with was a half an onion... On a plus could do the three S's at the same time the wet room which was so small. Either fall into... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry to hear your stay in Moby Dick wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that I disturbed you while your where getting your food. You could have complained me in person if you were not satisfied with what you ordered. We could have fixed there and then instead of you writing about your bad memories of toasty... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Wow.The loudest and dirtiest place we've stayed in Thailand for sure.Ringing in at 900 baht a night we guessed we'd get a decent guesthouse but boy were we mistaken.Dont get me wrong i wasn't expecting a five or hell even a 2 star pad but common.First of all we were given a key for a room someone else was staying... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler636436
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a nightmare stay in our guesthouse. You had a awful time the minute you put your foot into Moby Dick Guesthouse. Did you not read all the information about the location of our guesthouse. We are located in the middle of the busiest part of Chaweng in the Green Mango which is... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

3 girls travelling around Thailand, were used to hostels but this was the most expensive place we stayed and the worst. Although it was only £24 for 3 of us per night it was still the most expensive place we stayed. Read reviews before about the music and it didn't bother us because we were playing on going out and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank xesiuol

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 km away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,115 reviews
0.0 km away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
#16 of 103 in Chaweng
996 reviews
0.0 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 103 in Chaweng
1,000 reviews
0.0 km away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#4 of 103 in Chaweng
1,271 reviews
0.0 km away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#6 of 103 in Chaweng
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range: RM49 - RM205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Moby Dick Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None at all- choose different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles REBECCA12061991, 5 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are situated directly and i mean RIGHT ON TOP OF an all night.ridiculously loud music bar. buyer beware. though the owner tony is hilarious and enjoyable.”
 of 5 bubbles 829sidneys, 8 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Book in advance!! That's what saved us.”
 of 5 bubbles EmY974, 30 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Don't book here! You'd be better off paying 50 baht more for somewhere away from the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles H_Hazlehurst, 9 May 2012 | Read review
“There is rooms on top floor which i advice to take they are a bit more exspensive but worht it”
 of 5 bubbles CallumG477, 2 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay