We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Horse and Jockey Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Horse and Jockey Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Foxton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Our very cheap twin room had a shower and loo and there was also a bathroom across the hall. A kitchenette had a fridge/freezer, microwave and the makings for tea and coffee. (Remember to name your food in the fridge or it gets tossed...even when you've just brought it back from the supermarket! The staff were friendly but not flash...

Thank hotmind
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

DO NOT STAY HERE! This was the last stop on a 2 week tour of NZ and by far the worst accommodation. Not because there was no wifi in the very basic room but because there was NO HOT WATER IN THE SHOWER. That afternoon we were catching a 5 hour flight and it was NOT ACCEPTABLE to have no...

Thank CaseyHAP
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is just a place to sleep and shower. The rooms are basic. The bathrooms are shared. Staff is often unavailable (no one at night) Instant coffee is available in the common kitchen. weak wifi. There are several places to eat nearby.

Thank Kenneth M
Melboza, Owner at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review

A lot of people like to travel, but have limited funds, we provide basics for these travelers: rooms with good beds and (some shared) bathrooms, which is reflected by the price. For people that like more features and luxuries, there are plenty of motels in Matamata. We do offer: TV, Wifi, socializing, drinks and food are all under one roof,...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Perfect location to hobbiton movie set Near to i-site matatama, bus stand for long journey bus (nakedbus/manabus/intercity),mcdonald,kfc and so on. We stayed for 2 nights. Checked in after 9.00 pm, I'm lucky because have one staff there. She is very friendly and helpfull. The check in process is within 5 minutes. We stayed in twin room with en suite for...

Thank huszreen a
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Good location but noisy given that the accommodation is above the pub. Traffic was loud and the walls were thin so we could hear everything going on in the rooms around us. Basic rooms, pillows were terrible. No TV. It was OK for somewhere to sleep for one night but wouldn't stay here any longer.

Thank travellover2010_23
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We paid abit to stay here for a few nights we saved hard and checked in staff at this time was great before I booked for me and my husband to stay i rung and asked about the noise level being as its above a bar was told our rooms are soundproof you won't hear a thing well little did...

1Thank sharnabeale811
Melboza, Manager at Horse and Jockey Inn, responded to this review

The bar closes at 12 - 12.30 pm the latest and that is only in the weekends, weekdays we usually closed around 10 pm. Needless to say, we cannot be responsible for the behavior, attitude and noise of other tourists. We are very sorry to hear someone helped themselves to your milk, we cannot really supply a security guard to...

Reviewed 6 May 2016

We needed a place to sleep before next day trip to Hobitton - it was basic - rooms small, bathrooms even smaller, common kitchen available - but it was good value for the money you pay and close to Hobitton.

2Thank Marcin_Mentel
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a room and a bed to sleep in and nothing else this is the place for you. Pub down stairs had a great dinner menu and loads of tvs around for sports with a billiards table outside. The staff were great abs laid back. Supermarket right over the road and on street parking out front. More...

1Thank Tony D
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

When we arrived at 4pm there was no one around just a sign in the door saying to call this number. So we did which cost us as we had to call from our UK phones and no one answered so we had to call a lot of times! We were panicking because we were booked on a tour and...

Thank Maria P
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

As a cheap booking, I didn't expect much other than the basics - a clean bed with an en-suite. The pillow cases and duvet cover were pretty dirty (not good) and the shower drain was blocked! It took a long time for some warm water to finally eventuate but by then the shower was close to overflowing. Free wi-fi is...

Thank G2482ZQbenjamine

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (20)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (1)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Dining (3)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matamata hotels
1.2 km away
Tower Road Motel
Tower Road Motel
#1 of 5 in Matamata
269 reviews
0.6 km away
Matamata Central Motel
Matamata Central Motel
#2 of 7 in Matamata
137 reviews
6.1 km away
Opal Hot Springs And Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Broadway Motel & Miro Court Villas
1.0 km away
Maple Lodge Motel
Maple Lodge Motel
#4 of 5 in Matamata
25 reviews
1.9 km away
O'Reilly's Motel
O'Reilly's Motel
#3 of 5 in Matamata
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Horse and Jockey Inn we are proud to be an Award Winning business. We are a family restaurant, tavern, serving good food, lunch and dinner time. Our aim is to create a homely atmosphere, with background music so you can still enjoy a pleasant conversation during your lunch/dinner. We have plenty of space to cater for larger functions, birthdays, anniversaries and so on. We have a great sun facing courtyard for you to enjoy and relax. We have live music playing most Friday nights. On the second floor we offer 15 rooms for accommodation, single, twin, queen and family size, with private or shared bathroom. A small kitchenette with fridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities is available for our guests, fire regulations prevent us from offering full cooking facilities, enjoy our food below. Our focus is keeping the rooms simple and affordable, no TV supplied, feel free to watch downstairs. Limited Free Zenbu (50MB) WiFi available, in the general areas. We are in the centre of town an easy walk to catch the free bus from the I site to the Hobbiton Movie set. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horse and Jockey Inn

Address: 85 Arawa St, Matamata, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Price Range: RM173 - RM377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Horse and Jockey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Horse and Jockey Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some have bathrooms but all are close to a main bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles hotmind, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“private room is better option”
 of 5 bubbles huszreena, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are rooms with their own bathroom, but the shared bathroom was clean and tidy - and a little cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles Penguin_Jax_2014, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 15. Good view. Nice comfy bed”
 of 5 bubbles vickyh853, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the carpark are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles GLR01, 10 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5