We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bervie

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bervie
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

Big, comfortable family room with two queen beds and a separate room with a twin bed was heaven for our family of five! Beautiful and immaculately clean bathroom and big tub which was necessary to warm up after a dip in the freezing cold Atlantic. Breakfast was gracious and elegant. My kids seemed a bit like bulls in a china...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alice J
john b, Owner at Bervie, responded to this review

BERVIE CALLING Dear Alice lovely to hear from you and glad you all got back home safe and sound. it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and they are great Kids. i hope you enjoyed your vacation in Ireland. our very best to you all. thank you again. yours John and Elizabeth

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 October 2015

When you arrive at the Bervie, you smile and start taking pictures. It is itself so picturesque with its whitewash and marine blue as the canvas for all the beautiful flowers and pots that surround it and has such a stunning location with the ocean as it's backdrop! Can it possibly measure up inside? Of course it does, one room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jps1353
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 October 2015

just spent one night in the Bervie, but we will be returning. Everything about this accommodation is top class including, the welcome, rooms, breakfast, views, comfort. Close to Kiel . Bear in mind that they do evening meals. Recreation and relax areas perfect. It was originally a Coast guard station.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JimJackman
florida
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Simple but comfortable and spotless rooms. Gracious hospitality. Attractive waterfront view. The best dining room in Keel ('tho this is a fairly low bar). Keel, on Achill Island, is in a VERY remote part of Ireland. They were closing for the season shortly after our early October departure. In high summer you can swim and kayak. During the cooler months...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hankbauer
john b, Owner at Bervie, responded to this review

BERVIE CALLING Dear Hankbauer thank you for your very nice and helpful review and i hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland. sorry that Achill is so remote, but i suppose somewhere has to be. mainly a place for people to escape to and leave the cares of the world behind. we are still open and will...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Achill is such a heaven place and the Bervie is the place to go if you want a place on the beach. Fabulous views and food to die for. Family run and you get such a warm welcome. If you go once you will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARKLOWGer
Montana
Reviewed 11 October 2015

My daughter and I, while on a cycling tour of Ireland, were drawn to Achill Island and specifically to Keel where we found Bervie. We splurged (really not that much more than other B & B's) because of our love for the ocean. Bervie is situated right on the ocean and even though our room sat perpendicular to the ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grandmaof2
melbourne
Reviewed 7 October 2015

We had three lovely days at Bervie. It was a perfect place to slow the pace while on our month long trip around Ireland. The location is right on the beautiful Keel Beach and we had a lovely Seaview room with a table and chairs at the window to enjoy the view. We had dinner twice in the dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny H
Westport, Ireland
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

I treated myself and my husband to a special 2 day break at The Bervie. It had been on my list of special places I wished to stay for a long time and delighted to say we weren't disappointed ! Beautiful hosts, beautiful food, beautiful beach and believe it or not beautiful weather, I even had a swim. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lighthouse1954
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We were staying on Achill Island and had a wonderful meal in lovely surroundings at the lovely old guesthouse. The service was good and the Host and Hostess could not have been more welcoming. The food was all beautifully cooked and very fresh. A good wine cellar is never a bad addition to a good meal.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jocurtis289
john b, Owner at Bervie, responded to this review

BERVIE CALLING Good Evening Mr Curtis thank you very much for your very kind review. sorry we did not get to see you both before you left. hectic week last week. love to the lady E and best to all the family. see you in the winter, we hope. John and Liz

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

Another great place to stay when visiting Achill. Location right on the edge of Keel Strand. Good food and everything else you would expect of a highly rated B & B including a cosy log fire guest lounge. Very welcoming hosts. Good weather during my stay in early September was a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank KieranConneely

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keel
21.1 km away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
933 reviews
0.7 km away
Ferndale Luxury Bed and Breakfast
7.1 km away
Achill Lodge
Achill Lodge
#5 of 12 in Keel
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Teach Cruachan
Teach Cruachan
#4 of 27 in Achill Island
119 reviews
9.6 km away
Achill Water's Edge
Achill Water's Edge
#7 of 27 in Achill Island
92 reviews
0.9 km away
Achill Cliff House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bervie guesthouse is a wonderfully restored coastguard station on Achill Island, off the west coast of Ireland in the County of Mayo. It is situated on the south-facing beach at Keel Strand, and has stunning unbroken views across kilometers of unpolluted golden sand, overlooking the majestic Cathedral Cliffs of Minaun, with the islands of Clew bay on the horizon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bervie

Address: Bervie Bervie Road | The Strand, Keel, Achill Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Achill Island > Keel
Price Range: RM237 - RM474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bervie staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bervie staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms far away from the kitchen. management heard shouting.”
jaik101, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view!”
Dilliana3, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay that bit extra for the seaview- it's worth it!”
cagrealy, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“WE just loved our little house across the road. Quiet and sweet.”
mcmousee, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“wifi is available in the sun lounge. Sea view is best.”
967royd, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5