We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 542: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its Kerala government resort. Nice location, Well maintained. They have a huge swimming pool. They have few indoor games like TT, carom, snooker. You can do fishing there, they provide you fishing rod. They also have spa inside their resort, though we didn't try that. Only bad things in the resort is restaurant. Food is not upto the mark. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arijit M
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes Kumarakom for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable Guest. All your positive comments are really inspiring us. Your suggestions are being treated as a tool for the improvement and had been taken in to consideration. Hope we will meet soon at Water...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whether you like this hotel or not is highly subjective, as if you are looking for a luxury facility, you may be disappointed. The resort does needs some up gradation as they have awesome views of wildlife. For a nature lover, this is a paradise, it is right at the edge of bird sanctuary. The rooms have every facility right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikx_8_7
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank your for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable guest. All your valuable feed backs and suggestions are being taken seriously. We have already started with the process of up-gradation of the property. Glad to know that you were happy with your stay and...

Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you love nature, you should stay in this property. All lodging is in tree-houses high up from the ground. The lake is only a few steps away along with a pool overlooking the lake. We enjoyed our recent stay here and found it very relaxing. The trail for the bird sanctuary is right close by and you can hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virpi K
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes,Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes for your stay. It's a great privilege for the Team Water Scapes for having you as our guest. Glad to know that you are delighted with your stay with us. Your positive comments are always inspiring us. Hope we will meet soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom. With...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At ktdc waterscapes whn v chkd fr d rooms online we jst decided dt moment dis is d place we will go to & whn ended up being der it was worth it.Great rooms clean spacious wonderful staff. Huge Pools jst close to the back waters the view is grt dont feel like leaving this place.Will visit soon its restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntanetC
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank you for choosing Water Scapes, Kumarakom for your stay. Team Water Scapes is delighted with your inspiring positive comments. We always consider you as our very valuable customer. Hope we will meet soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom. We assure our best services always. On Behalf of Team Water Scapes Arun Peethambaran

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Wonderful location on the Vembanad lake. The cottages are build along the canals. Amazing setting to get you amidst nature. But place clearly lacks maintenance - Canals are clogged and to some extent smelly. Rooms do not look to have been upkept for years, specially the washrooms - Signs of age clearly shows and sometimes made me feel stinky. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anupamwrites
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings From KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank your for choosing Water Scapes, Kumarakom for your stay. We always consider you as our very valuable guest. All your valuable suggestions are being consider as a tool for improvement. We are going for major renovation of the property. Once the renovation gets over we will provide you an entirely different...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Short stay there at kumarakom did not had much about but wonderful experience goof food service was a bit slow but fair enough cover that area with nice hospitality experience was good recommend for short stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sourav J
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. On behalf of Team Water Scapes Kumarakom I thank you for choosing your stay at Water Scapes and also for your positive feedback. Hope we will meet soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom Assuring our best service always. With Warm Regards Arun Peethambaran

Reviewed 17 December 2016

KTDC Waterscrapes at Kumarakom is by far one of the most beautiful hotels that I have ever stayed at. The 40 stand-alone cottages built on the canals that run throughout the property sure took an extensive planning and a greater understanding of the words 'Holiday Retreat'. Wedged between the lush green Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary and the vastness of Vembanad Lake,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav K
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Thank you choosing Water Scapes Kumarakom for your stay. It is a great privilege for the Team Water Scapes to host you. Thank you for your positive feedback. Your positive feedback's are really working as an energy booster for us. We always consider your valuable suggestions as a tool for the improvement....

Kerala
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

No other resort can claim the beauty of this resort as it is placed very near to the kumarakom bird sanctuary. All the rooms are independent, have either a lake view or canal view balcony. Cleanliness is above standard, and amenities too. Each room has hot water taps, coffe machines etc. Now to the cones, the rooms has not been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManojVeeran
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes Kumarakom. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We always consider you as our very valuable guest. We consider your suggestions as a tool for improvement and we have taken it seriously. The major renovation of the property will be done shortly. Once the renovation is completed we will providing you a different experience...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Memorable stay with them we enjoyed each and every corner lovely place to stay back water and it's best good hospitality and awesome food love to come back again on our next trip special mention to restaurant team

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mukundra Dali D
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom, We, "the Team Water Scapes Kumarakom" thanking you for your positive feedback. We always consider you as our very valuable guest and all your positive feedback's are being considered as an energizer for us. Hope we will meet soon at Water Scapes, Kumarakom. Assuring our best service always. On behalf od Team...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We went to Kumarakom with expectations to relax in contrast to our busy city lifestyle. And we were definitely not disappointed. The resort is very well situated in the already so beautiful Kumarakom. There is no second guessing in the fact that Kerela is called God's own country. We stayed for a week in the superior lake view room, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tua2511
WaterscapesKTDC, General Manager at Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from KTDC Water Scapes, Kumarakom.. Thank you for your positive feedback. It's an immense pleasure for the Team Water Scapes for having you as our guest. We have upgraded our free WiFi limits to 500 MB also have conveyed your feedback about the Ayurvedic Massage to the Doctor and they have taken necessary actions for the improvement...

835 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (819)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
View from Room (89)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
4.2 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
542 reviews
0.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
0.0 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
3.7 km away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
631 reviews
1.1 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 25 in Kumarakom
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waterscapes - this exotic backwater resort, on the shores of Vembanad Lake is located inside the Kumarakom Bird Sanctuary, which draws migratory birds from as far away as Siberia. The only resort in the destination located inside the bird sanctuary and is noted for its independent huts that stand on stilts and is a place teeming with mangrove vegetation. It offers its guests uninterrupted access to the backwater life of Kumarakom. It is also an interesting location for eco tourists who are interested in mangrove ecosystem, birds related ecosystem. The property is part of the original Kavanattinkara estate once owned by Alfred George Baker. It is also widely popular among the "honeymooners". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Address: Kumarakom North P O, Kumarakom, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Price Range: RM236 - RM325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscapes Ktdc Backwater Hotel Kumarakom
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best View , Great Ambience”
 of 5 bubbles 24arch, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for LV or SV cottages for scenic beauty..”
  • Canal view cottages
 of 5 bubbles RBSarkar, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“for Bird watching over the lake get room 109.”
  • Room 109
 of 5 bubbles 821RobertS, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“totally different from hotel room in all other places. unique. each cottage rooms are independent in every way.”
 of 5 bubbles tbsiyer, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Opt for Superior Lake View Rooms- but they offer the best views of the magnificent Vembanad Lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Manoj72, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay