We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Summer Island Maldives

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Summer Island Maldives
Summer Island Maldives
Panoramas (18)
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Summer Island Maldives
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had our honeymoon there (premium beach villa). It was heavenly. The staff do everything they can to make every wish come true! The sandbankpicknick is not cheap, but the money is definitely worth it. I would like to praise the staff of the Hiya restaurant, especially our waiter Hafiz and the Singapur chef Sandy! They were always very friendly...

Thank Vanessa O
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

23rd February to 6th March A superb ten night stay on this island in the Male atoll chain. The resort is a class act with the staff being top notch, being polite and attentive to the guests needs and requirements. I stayed in a Superior Beach Bungalow (370) which has a comfortable modern decor and situated in a great position...

Thank Warren S
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Warren S, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very happy to hear that you had a good time. We look forward to having you back with us again. Kind regards, Mari

Renens, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying on Summer Island is like being in paradise. The island is beautifully kept and the accommodation is top class. We were in a water villa which was amazing, it felt like our own little home on the water for 10 days - perfect! Just by the the water villas and premium bungalows are the Hiya restaurant and Avi bar...

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan
1Thank Mark I
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It was perfect. I stayed in the superior beach room and I was very pleased with the staff and the place. We had one issue which was quickly clarified. We booked a full board room, the staff said that it includes all meals and beverages but it turns out that it does not include any beverages only water and we...

Thank SHStravel
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Summer Island in the Maldives was the most wonderful place we have ever visited. Relaxed atmosphere with barefoot restaurants, good food & drinks and the most wonderful beaches around the whole island and beautiful reefs for snorkeling. We saw several reefsharks, mantas, stingrays, moray eels and beautiful fishes in all the colors you can imagine. We booked a garden villa,...

1Thank anitakurucz
Paris, France
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Everything was perfect !! don't change anything ! Thank you for your hospitaility, your kindness, for all ... I just come back from this paradise, and my head is still full of the pictures of this atoll, full of memories. Summer island is flawless. My children were very happy and still talk about this trip. i will be back InchaAllah....

1Thank divafatima
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good Food, nice beach, perfekt snorkeling with the boats, modern rooms, perfekt service, nice people, a small Island with a Restaurant you can dress down the whole day and a romantic bar. the meals are tasty and spicy. A really nice place to relax. Enjoy :)

Thank ellybis66
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Ellybis66, Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us. We are glad that you had a good time and we hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you Kind regards, Mari

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

A beautiful island that I could never have envisaged visiting. We arrived by speedboat 45 mins long and unfortunately I'm not fit for the sea so I puked and requested a sea plane on return, much easier on the stomach. Arrived in reception to a welcome drink and hot towels. We were given a map and shown to our water...

Thank Melanie B
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Melanie B, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your holiday with us. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time, and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mariya

Reviewed 5 February 2017

Visited Summer Island for 12 relaxing nights. The speedboat to the island was quick and efficient we had very smooth seas but if you are prone to seasickness I would opt for the sea plane. On arrival staff were there to greet you and give welcome drink an a quick run through of the island. We originally booked a superior...

1Thank Charlie1992
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Charlie1992, Thank you so much for taking the time to review on your holiday with us. We are happy to hear that you had a good time. We hope to see you again at Summer Island Maldives. Thank you Kind regards, Mari

Reviewed 31 January 2017

Visited on Family holiday for two weeks. What a fantastic island. All Staff very helpful and friendly, Stayed in Superior Beach room which was beautiful and clean and attended to twice a day. Imaginative open plan bathroom (literally) was unique and beautifully designed with a great shower. Food available for three meals a day and was good quality and plentiful...

Thank Don K
Mariya_Shareef, Manager at Summer Island Maldives, responded to this review

Dear Don K, Thank you for taking the time to review us on your recent stay at Summer Island Maldives. We are glad you had a good time and hope that you return. We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Mariya

1,351 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (718)
View from Room (24)
Pool/Beach Area (123)
Room/Suite (34)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Dining (51)
Bathroom (16)
Videos (10)
Other (396)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (612)
Amenities (145)
Beach (36)
Garden Room (51)
Infinity Pool (20)
Premium Beach Villa (75)
Dining (154)
The Hotel (61)
Water Villa (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (21)
Room/Suite (11)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (5)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Other (2)


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Summer Island Maldives is a truly beautiful, new 'barefoot' resort owned and managed by people from the Maldives. Truly the perfect Maldivian Barefoot Holiday where Summer Never Ends. A holiday at Summer is really a journey of discovery more than a holiday. Take a seaplane to a fairytale lagoon and walk barefoot on fine sand the colour of icing sugar and feel it tickle your soles. Learn to navigate a coral reef and fulfil your Maldivian adventure with dolphins and turtles. Live in ocean villas suspended over jewelled waters or stay in land villas with sublime ocean views - the choice is yours. Feast on international cuisines touched with a hint of Maldivian flavour and unwind at our over-water spa with our classic offerings to knead your tension away. Discover your destination playground at Summer Island Maldives where Summer Never Ends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summer Island Maldives

Address: North Male Atoll, 08460 (Formerly Summer Island Village)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Ziyaaraifushi Island
Price Range: RM1,448 - RM3,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summer Island Maldives 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Summer Island Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Island Village Hotel North Male Atoll
Summer Island Village Maldives
Summer Island Village Resort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Summer Island Maldives staff and other travellers.
117 questions
Ask a question


I was spending my vacation in summer island when a person drowned while snorkeling , the victim was brought on to boat however there was no one on board who was able to give effective cpr and it was complete havoc where the crew members shouted at one another and the victim was brought back to the resort where they had no AED facility nor a doctor. Neither of it was available and again after shifting the patient into a speed boat they took the victim to the near by resort , luckily from the island there was one x paramedic who knew to give cpr but already when he started it the victim didn't look like he had any life left in him . Because so much time was wasted without being attended and so much miscommunication that for no reason victim was brought back to an island where there was no doctor or AED and taking the victim from point A to point B and finally to neighboring resort point C took almost more than one hour .

The family members were helplessly looking at their deceased father and the rest of the guests where terrified .

We came to the resort having the assurance that a doctor is available twenty four seven with life supporting medical equipments in hand . We had an assurance as such and idea as such and we pay lot of money and yet get our health insurance scheme for the vacation .

Having witnessed all that has happened and how irresponsible the resort manager was regarding the matter and not even asking for forgiveness from us who was on the boat during the incident felt like we are being deceived and cheated .

No matter what , I would never visit that island again knowing that everything that's advertised is a big fat Greek lie .

A very poor management and in respect to life saving techniques no body was around and not a doctor was available and it was all shouting and screaming at one another and the manager itself did not know how to react and calm the people down.

A beautiful island like rest of the maldivain islands but noticed staff lacking service and no guidance and everything is in an auto run where no one cares about providing proper hospitality to us.

Thank you



7 months ago

See all questions (117)

Questions? Get answers from Summer Island Maldives staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room close to the water or a water villa is best, there is a generator in the middle of the island which can bring some noice.”
 of 5 bubbles anitakurucz, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“520 wate villa end of the jetty and sunset side. 275 no view big tree”
 of 5 bubbles Charlie1992, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Water villas offer more privacy than premium beach villas, since you can not see or hear your neighbours talking in the water villas.”
 of 5 bubbles 888riship, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 348 excellent location with sea view”
 of 5 bubbles julesd234, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Premium Beach Villa 402 is in a quiet spot”
 of 5 bubbles susanuk2016, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5