We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Island Resort & Spa

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4884)
360
Panoramas (7)
Pool & Beach (1509)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Royal Island Resort & Spa
Updated 12/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Come experience the Maldives you’ve always dreamt of at Royal Island Resort & Spa. Amidst the sparkling jewels of the Indian Ocean, our exquisite Maldives luxury hotel shines and dazzles above all. Indulge and immerse yourself in a colorful journey of discovery, where shores lined with luxuriant banyans and lush palms yield to a majestic underwater world that will render you speechless. Enjoy unmatched services and facilities, including the lavish Araamu Spa and a fabulous selection of restaurants and bars. Relax and unwind with a vast selection of resort activities , including a fully equipped gymnasium, tennis, and squash to scuba diving and water skiing.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German
1923Reviews250Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,286
  • 451
  • 114
  • 33
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marta P wrote a review Aug 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
During our stay in Royal Island Resort & Spa, Naseer was our waiter. Since the first day he was nice and very competent. Naseer is a very kind and thougfull person with a great sense of humour. He doesn't just do his job, he connects with guests and makes sure they're having a good time by paying attention to small details that make the diference.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayas Ali , Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Marta,  Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our Island as your preferred holiday destination in the Maldives and sharing your experience with us.  We are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We appreciate your feedback towards our team member Naseer, and we are proud of him as a team member. We will be glad to share your praises with him. Certainly, he will be pleased to know that his services have been recognised. Thank you very much for the excellent review.  We are looking forward to creating another fantastic holiday for you.  Best regards, Royal Island Resort &
Read more
Klaudia L wrote a review Aug 2021
Warsaw, Poland6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I flew to the hotel with my husband and 15-month-old son. We were kindly greeted by the hotel staff at the exit of the boat. In short, the island consists of a beach bungalow, 2 restaurants, a pool bar, shops, a diving center. Saw a grocery store as well, but it seems closed. The hotel is not the newest, but it has its own atmosphere. It's very clean, the rooms are cleaned twice a day, the towels are changed every day, the beach and the bungalow area are also cleaned daily. In the restaurant, we were allocated one table and a waiter for the entire stay. At the entrance to the restaurant, we were always greeted by a very nice hostess. The island has a beautiful garden, tall coconut trees, orchids and other flowers. In the room we got two large glass bottles of mineral water replaced every day. the room has air conditioning and a fan. Air conditioning in night mode is really quiet. There are basic drinks and snacks in the mini bar, I don't remember the exact prices but a small beer is probably 8 $. Wooden rooms, bathroom could already be renovated but it's very clean and the shower is in the open air. In the evenings, taking a bath, you can watch the bats fly. The beach is clean, the water is shallow, and the colorful fish swim to the breakwater. By choosing this hotel you use practically your private beach every day. sunbeds with mattresses on the beach could already be replaced with new ones. The hotel service is very nice and professional. Everyone speaks English with no problem. A trip to the sandbank and manta ray diving is highly recommended. Hotel I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: I can recommend extra trip snorkeling with manta :)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Gayas Ali , Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our island to spend the holiday with your beautiful family. We are delighted to read that your experience with us surpassed your expectations. It's no surprise that you noticed the diligent efforts of our staff to keep the island clean and tidy. One of our top priorities is to give our customers a peaceful and uncluttered experience. We appreciate your kind words towards our friendly staff and delicious food, and we are glad that you liked our accommodation and the facilities we offer throughout the island. We ensure that the few suggestions you've made will reach our decision makers so that those could be improved to increase our customer satisfaction. Many thanks for your detailed review and high rating. Thank you for giving this opportunity to serve you, and we have high hopes to see you soon here on another great holiday! Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Iva Liliana wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
During my 10 day stay at Royal Island Resort&SPA Araamu made my most precious and special vacation for their incredible treatments not only for efficacy and immediate results visible to the naked eye, but for the energy boost that made me truly reborn. I had several daily treatments, one better than the other, I recommend trying them all. All the team very professional and helpful, my special thanks to my therapist SAJEEV and his miraculous hands. I will be back as soon as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Dear Sir/ Madam,  Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our island as your holiday destination in the Maldives.  We are thrilled to read that your time with us has exceeded your expectations and especially that you were delighted with the treatments received from our Spa. Thank you for recognising and for the praise to the therapist Sajeev. Certainly, he will be happy to know that he made your stay so special.  Thank you once again for the excellent rating and for reviewing us.  A warm welcome awaits your next arrival.  Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Marci Temblique wrote a review Jun 2021
Qatar19 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
PROs Accommodation: The Beach Villa is nice and is the same of the images posted in their website Service: The staffs were very friendly and the housekeeping was superb. Cleaning twice a day and very accommodating. CONs (We booked All Inclusive Package) Main restaurant has poor quality of food, Buffet has terrible selection of menu only few were considered "edible". Hot food were served cold even there's food warmer and cold drinks were served warm. Buffet food were display/served on a dangerous temperature zone. Most food were overcooked! Considering that it we were in an island, we expected a good variety of seafood in the menu however the only available was dark meat fish that we were not able to eat at all. Flies were always present most of the times. The staffs (waiters) were friendly however they need to improve as per the 5* Luxury Resort experience. Mini Bar doesn't include even 2 bottles of alcoholic beverage for All inclusive package which is very disappointing. Only Water, 2 soda cans and 2 juice that I was not able to drink (Glad that we can exchanged it to soda). Boli Bar: We booked for 7 nights and on the 4 night they actually served Becks beer instead of Heineken without any information. It should be informed upon ordering that "Sir we are now out of stock for Heineken. Would like to have Becks?" else the staff just decided I will give you a beer just that's it. They change it the following day as we complained. Activity: I can't believe that this resort were charging USD7 for the use of life jacket for the All inclusive package! Among all the equipment, why life jacket?? Total Review: It was not that bad experience considering that we paid USD700 for the domestic flight and boat transfer just to be in the island.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 20 Jun 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Warm Greetings from Royal Island Resort & Spa! Thank you for choosing our tropical paradise for your holiday destination! It was nice to have you here. We are pleased to read that you liked our accommodation and the way it was kept nice and tidy for you. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and your appreciation of their friendliness. However, it's sad to read that we weren't able to reach to your expectations on certain aspects. We apologize for any inconvenience you had to go through during your stay. At the same time, we appreciate your straightforward comments regarding our products and staff which we find invaluable for evaluating our quality and future rectification. All of your concerns will be forwarded to the relevant personnel for consideration. Once again, thank you for choosing us! We hope to have you again in the near future for a much better experience. Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Brendon Earp-Jones wrote a review Jun 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions4 helpful votes
Lovely island, but unfortunately the hotel has decided to cancel all ‘events’ during COVID times which is ridiculous. We allowed to dine and eat together (hotel can hold 400 people in 150 rooms roughly) and swim in pool but no live band; no DJ, no karaoke, no quiz or adult entertainment at night because of ‘covid’? It sounds like an excuse and a cost saving exercise and will effect our experience. I hope manager can change this ASAP as we are here for almost two weeks. We have come from Sun Siyam Vilu Reef the week before and they still have all their activities active and night time games and entertainment. On our first night here, had to take over dj equipment and start our own impromptu party in their names ‘Fun Pub’. Also still waiting for music to be played around the pool - no background music even though there are Bose Speakers situated all over the pool area and was told by bartender yesterday that the ‘system was broken’ - which is unlikely and he sounded unsure. I would like this to be sorted today and an answer around this. Nice buffet food in the main restaurant, which is a good thing as one has to eat there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unfortunately the all inclusive only allows very limited alcohol drinks, very limited mini bar access and no access to the ala carte restaurant which is different to other hotels and locations. So not quite ‘all inclusive’ . Lovely large hotel pool. Unfortunately only 8 sun loungers for a hotel hosting close to 400 people? Seems very strange and impossible to have a vibe of people lying around the large hotel pool.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hasan Ibrahim, Owner at Royal Island Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Jun 2021
Dear Brendon, Thank you for the review, and we're glad that you found our place nice. We are sorry for the limitations in the entertainment events due to Covid-19. Music events are not possible because musicians need to be hired from outside, and the government have put strict restrictions on many local areas due to serious pandemic effects. Hence, musicians are unable to travel around the country. Apart from this, national health care institutions are continuously advising to minimize the gatherings as much as possible as a safety measure to keep the situation under control and to prevent rapid spreading in the occurrence of an unexpected positive case. The music system around the pool had gone through a technical problem, and it's now been fixed. We do not know how the other hotel you mentioned can carry out the events just as normal days. In fact, the situation in the Maldives is not normal, and we're trying to give out our best while paying utmost attention to the safety of everyone. Thank you for your kind words about our restaurant and the food. We wish you an enjoyable holiday for the rest of your days with us. Best regards, Royal Island Resort & Spa
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$125 - US$917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal island hotel baa atoll, royal island resort and spa, royal island resort maldives
LOCATION
MaldivesBaa AtollHorubadhoo Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Island Resort & Spa
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benjarong, Fresh in the Garden, and Down to Earth.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Island Resort & Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Island Resort & Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royal Island Resort & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Horubadhoo Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Royal Island Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Does Royal Island Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Royal Island Resort & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.