We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avon River Motel

2116 Highway 1, Falmouth, Nova Scotia B0P 1L0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (2)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 motel in Falmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
17 units. Each unit has KTV, fridge, microwave. Free WiFi and free parking on site. 5 mins walking distance to downtown Windsor, 5 mins drive to Bay Fundy and 40 mins drive to Halifax. Enjoy the sunset on the patio; swimming, boating, kayaking/canoeing on the river.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
16Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sharei S wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
Atrocious! The absolute filthiest place I have ever slept in! Dirty carpets, dirty walls, dirty sheets, dirty tub, dirty dresser drawers - just nasty! Towels that “used to be white” are dingy brown and hung to dry! Pretty sure the only reason we didn’t see bedbugs was because they came and decided they could find better accomodations elsewhere! I showered with my shoes on and dried myself with toilet paper! If it hadn’t been raining I would have camped instead! There was seriously nothing else available! They have a whole row of drug addict housing on the side with people up at all hours of the night! Don’t do it! Sleep in your car - or under a bypass even! Anything else would be better!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dee L wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The place is updated, rooms are clean but could use a little TLC, it's great for the price and in a good location. I loved the deep tub, it was relaxing after a very hot long day on the road. I got here late and i glad I came. In description, it sais nothing about Air conditioning but there is and that was a big bonus for me!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rob M wrote a review Jul 2019
3 contributions
I stayed here for 2 weeks for vacation I really liked the location and the fact that I could do laundry on site. It’s an older motel and isn’t fancy but it’s perfect if your looking for a low cost place to stay. The owner was very accommodating and this was a nice quiet spot and still close to all the amenities you need. Couple of downfalls was the tv’s was older and kind of small and the beds in the room I was in wasn’t very comfortable. But I would definitely stay here again next time I’m back in Nova Scotia.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
hereiam56 wrote a review Aug 2018
Shelburne, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
oldest dog house i have ever seen.so dirty and stunk so bad i would not dream of letting my dog stay there over night let alone a human beeing .the host was a screamer when we decided not to take the rooms and when we asked for our money to be refunded .it got bad enoughthat we had to call the RCMPto try and deal with this matter . if there are anyone out there please do yourself a favor and drive far away from there as possible .do not get mixed upwith that person that owns the place . i won't get into the whole situation on here but this is just heads up for what you would be in for . rudness ,dirt, filth and lets not forget stupidness and in my opinion tries to rip you off ever chance she gets . last words STAY AWAY not worth the hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: find anouther place to stay cause there you could cat-h anything
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Judith W wrote a review Aug 2018
1 contribution
My Husband and I booked 4 nights here on the 11th of August paid for our room only to find out it smelled really bad and with my husband being on OXYGEN we went back to the office to see about getting another room for the same price no way would this lady give us another room being we traveled over 3 hours away . so we requested our money back after 3 attempts..to do so .. cause she never knew how to use the machine . So she stated she refunded the money . I called my bank and it was not put back she told us it takes 24 to 48 hours oh well in order to stay someplace else. I thought the money would be put right in we was not leaving without our refund .. So guess what I called the RCMP... she was rude could not talk to her so I ended up yelling at her to shut the F up ...GUESS WHAT the money is still not put back in our accounts... so I guess come monday if the money is not there we will take her to small CLAIMS COURT
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: sucks worst place ever
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Navigator40488841711, Manager at Avon River Motel
Responded 14 Apr 2019
I'm the owner of Avon River Motel. The fact is: the lady who worked in the motel gave you the refund right after you decided to cancel the room even though you had used the room already. You believed you would received the money right away which needs take at least a day to back on your account. The RCMP office was called, the visa machine offer was called. The answer was: the money had been refunded. We all know why you treated us that way: language, rude, yelling....... except punch on the small lady's face. Avon River Motel has been doing business over 7 years, we never charged anyone an extra cent without a reason. Be good faith to everyone. don't matter where did they came from.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fearless3050 wrote a review Oct 2017
22 contributions5 helpful votes
This motel has been renovated and everything looks brand new inside the room and bathroom. The room is equipped with a small fridge, tv and microwave. It is not too far from the main street. I would suggest a light outside the door should be added for renters who arrive after dark.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
2009rr1 wrote a review May 2017
Windsor, Canada86 contributions53 helpful votes
not fancy at all but clean and reno'd, quiet and family operated. easy walk to beach and downtown. Just off highway and a great place to just sleep. I understand there are even better rates for longer term guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan T wrote a review Nov 2016
1 contribution
We found the motel clean much better than the larger hotel in the area where there was mold on the curtains and along the tub. The price was reasonable and the staff friendly and accommodating. I would and have gone back to this motel several times and will continue to do so in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nico s wrote a review Oct 2016
1 contribution
It was your run of the mill motel room, staff was super nice. Loved our trip and would definitely return again. Went for windsor pumpkin regatta, absolutely awesome weekend, definitely recommend to any and all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan the Trucker wrote a review Jul 2016
Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada57 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
Yuck. Just yuck. I was in town for a horse show and this was the only option left. It was 10:30pm when I pulled in. It was so dark that I had to feel for the steps leading up to the walkway. Then I had to feel along the walls in order to figure out the room numbers. There was very limited outdoor lighting. It seemed like everyone staying there was sitting on benches outside their rooms. This was a foreshadowing of the room temperature. I had to finally use the flashlight on my cell phone in order to confirm I was unlocking the correct door. The temperature that day was 30 degrees Celsius and with the humidex it was close to 40. I was livid to find the room had no air conditioning -the window was open and there was a fan. The room was like an oven. No wonder so many people were sitting outside. There were tons of cobwebs, the bathroom fixtures need to be replaced, and two spiders were on the bathroom ceiling. The bathroom window used to have privacy frosting but it's been peeled off and there was no curtain. Anyone walking by could look right in. The bathroom baseboards had mold, the room smelled like cheap air freshener and the sheets were not clean. I had no choice but to stay a second night in this place and the room was not serviced while I was gone for the day. Apparently I was supposed to do something with a card to indicate the room needed servicing - there was no card! Bottom line - this is an awful place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Falmouth area.
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaSouthwest Nova ScotiaFalmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVON RIVER MOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 13 Photos (Falmouth, Canada) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Avon River Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Avon River Motel?
Nearby attractions include Haliburton House Museum (0.7 km), The Birthplace of Hockey Museum (0.8 km), and Fort Edward National Historic Site (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avon River Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Avon River Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avon River Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Spitfire Arms British Pub, Lisa's Family Restaurant, and Schoolhouse Brewery.
Is Avon River Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Falmouth.
Are pets allowed at Avon River Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.