We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Happy Apple Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Happy Apple Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Very good hostel, good size kitchen, owner is very friendly, has a pool table, TV room, best part for me is it has loads of open space, bbq, hot spa, even have a big green backyard where you could just enjoy the sun. Staying here make me feel very comfortable and relax, so different from other hostel.

Helpful?
Thank Yip C
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

We try hard to provide clean and comfortable accommodation for all travelers and feel fortunate to live in these beautiful grounds. More 

Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

W stayed in a dorm room here earlier this month, staff at check in were very welcoming. It's a happy place. Nice big grounds and warm colourful outdoor courtyard. There is a good large kitchen and a large lounge and a pool table. Good location staff organised a bus into the National Park for us. They dropped us back at... More 

Helpful?
Thank agoodcook25
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for staying and hope you had a wonderful time exploring our beautiful country. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Double room had private TV, bedroom small but grounds and facilities are right up there. Caring owners, great common areas, sunny deck...and free WIFI! There are bikes available free to take to town. Located beside a really good cycle way to beach and town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Northerner2016
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and glad you like staying here, hope the rest of your holiday was wonderful. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night as we were just passing through. Staff were very accommodating and left a key out for us with some clear instructions to get inside due to our late check in. Very helpful. Everything was clean. No complaints! Happy travels!

Helpful?
Thank blakejr80
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Pleased your stay was pleasant, thanks for the feedback and best wishes with future travels. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Stayed there for one month. Appart from the showers the hostel is clean. When i sayted there the Spa was not working and the owners did not seem to care about it. All in all that was my impression of the whole hostel: Not really caring! The Wii, that is advertised on there website did not work. WIFI was free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Our staff work hard to maintain a clean, happy and safe hostel, sorry to hear your long stay was so miserable. Naturally there is a fluctuation in WIFI speed, depending on loading but generally its around 10.5 download and 0.8 upload, its a respectable result and most guests seem satisfied, in fact many are very pleased. Clearly our priority is... More 

Travellers are raving about these Motueka hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We chose to stay in Motueka instead of Nelson, as it is closer to Abel Tasman, and we were going to spend most of our time in the National Park. Happy Apple is a hostel about 30 minutes away from the parking areas at Abel Tasman. The rate was right, but you get what you pay for. The bed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us and sorry about the hard bed and pillow, we've just purchased more new pillows and are gradually replacing old mattresses with inner sprung, there are not many of the old foam ones left so you were unlucky, our apologies. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope you enjoyed exploring Abel Tasman. More 

England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

Clean double room with TV. Very friendly guy checking us in and chatting each day remembering what you said you were doing. Great social areas. Spa pool, lots of outdoor seating and clean, large kitchen. Bathrooms were kept clean. Would go back.

Helpful?
Thank culz
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Happy Apple and thank you for taking the time to send a review. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

A lovely place a little out of Motueka. Big and tidy kitchen. We stayed in dorms which were great. The room were also tidy and the beds were comfortable. We didn't have a car but we could borrow some bikes when we wanted to go to town, really nice.

Helpful?
Thank Katrineschmidtm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Following a comfortable stay I have just been informed by my booking agency that i have been charged $20 for a late check-out when the room was checked out before 10am as requested. As I was waiting to be picked up for a skydive I sat on a chair and waited for half hour. I do not see this as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thom K
Janet G, Owner at Happy Apple Backpackers, responded to this review

Our policy is very clear, latest check out is 10am and there is a charge of $10pp for using the facilities after this time. This guest requested a late check out because they said they had washing on the clothes line and they wished to wait for it to dry. There was no mention of a sky dive. They eventually... More 

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2015

This was one of the most fun backpackers to stay at, met the most lovely and talented bunch of people. The couple looking after the place is friendly and warm as long as you don't make noise at night ! I can't say the bathrooms were at their hygienic best and I did have issues with the five-minute hot water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rinila

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Motueka hotels
2.2 km away
Hat Trick Lodge Backpackers' Hostel
1.7 km away
Laughing Kiwi Backpackers
3.1 km away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
Equestrian Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Motueka
432 reviews
1.6 km away
Avalon Manor Motel
Avalon Manor Motel
#2 of 5 in Motueka
112 reviews
1.9 km away
White Elephant Backpacker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Happy Apple Backpackers

Address: 500 High Street, Motueka 7120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motueka
Price Range: RM98 - RM209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Apple Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Apple Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Apple Backpackers Motueka, New Zealand - Nelson-Tasman
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Happy Apple Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a large room with no long term people!”
 of 5 bubbles 158alexm, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
“If you want a double room and light sleepers don't sleep opposite the toilets. The doors are a bit squeaky”
 of 5 bubbles KimjaA, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the dinning area.”
 of 5 bubbles Aklu, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
“The double's are fantastic and great value at $150 a week!”
 of 5 bubbles Gazatkins2002, 9 Apr 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay