We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lot of fun on our 5 day stay here last christmas. The service was excellent, there were fun and games tht kept us entertained. Night entertainment was also awesome. The beach was very clean and had no intruders. The food was great. However, the WiFi connection was a bit low, the connection wasn't strong enough to reach the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank collins_m 9
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

It was our honeymoon. Great hotel. Perfect location. The best beach. It was incredible 10 days. Only one ask to management- make wifi on all territory! Now they have animation team - day time sports and night time music animation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Come to this hotel with my friends for holidays. When I booked them I think that there is a good place, but not! Here is very poor manager and staff. Internet work only in reception but connection is bad. Also they want money for everything. Big prices at hotel. I want go to Safari and hotel manager Camal said price...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sergio L
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

This is a resort and we do not sell safaris. We do not even have desks for Tour Operators like other Hotels and Resorts so what this guest has posted here cannot be true. Secondly we do not have a manager called Camal at this Resort but we will investigate and post our findings should it turn out that someone...

Reviewed 8 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my two teenage daughters clean rooms friendly staff. It is so out of the way yet there is no toiletry shop on the premises, no entertainment,no activities, no water sports no gym and by the second day my girls were bored senseless. The massage parlour is shabby, unfinished and has no ambience for relaxation....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AmmanKenyan
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

I booked at this hotel for my friend and I! I booked through booking .com! At the last minute I had to reduce my time at the resort by one day! You might think no problem! Wrong I contacted the hotel and booking .com and the room I booked specifically and paid extra hadn't been allocated! There was an increase...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graham m
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

After doing our investigations we have come to the conclusion that this reservation was not handled too well and we greatly inconvenienced Mr. Graham. It is not our practice to handle bookings the way we did with this one and we take the opportunity to unreservedly apologise to him for this mishap. We assure him and all our potential clients...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 September 2016

For the first time after the management change I was back in Jacaranda. I had two wonderful weeks. The service of the entirely staff was great. There is no better place in Diani to enjoy a quiet and good quality holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henk C
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I recently visited Jacaranda on holiday, and it was a quiet, peaceful, relaxing experience. This hotel is on the north side of Diani Beach, but there are plenty of cheap tuk tuks to shuttle you back and forth to local restaurants and attractions. There was a small issue with my being charged an extra day, but the front desk coordinator...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erica Z
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to relax !!! But not the food !! B'tifull Hotel with Baobab Tree love it ! And the Monkey are Fun to watch . No Wifi in room but nice side room with Sea view !! Enjoy very much but not the House keeping ! Knocking my door while I'm just check in 2 times in 3 hrs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hewolivia
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We revisited this hotel after 5 years during which time it has been refurbished. The rooms are lovely, especially those overlooking the Ocean. There were very few guests during our visit. This made it nice and quiet but, unfortunately, meant that there were no longer huge buffets under the Baobab trees with music and fairy lights. Hopefully, those days will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH W
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We weren't allowed to swim in the sea as it was considered too dangerous and when we asked if we could take beach towels to swim elsewhere on the diani beach they refused. There was no wifi in the rooms. The food didn't have enough/any vegetarian options... Lovely staff and location but ultimately a let down.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank niharshah2016
IOBR, General Manager at Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort, responded to this review

As a matter of precaution we alert our guests whenever the ocean tides are too high for safe swimming. This we do by way of hoisting colour coded flags to indicate the level of risk. Green for Safe; Orange for Exercise Caution; and Red for Dangerous. During the time in question the tides were high most of the time and...

420 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (393)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (103)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.3 km away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
909 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
1,250 reviews
3.3 km away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
369 reviews
5.4 km away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
350 reviews
21.1 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 32 in Diani Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort is located 40 km's from Mombasa town and situated along the white sandy beaches of south coast surrounded by swaying coconut palm trees and magnificent old stoic baobabs. Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort comprises of 100 deluxe rooms, tastefully crafted and beautifully furnished found in white washed, 'makuti' roofed structures. The rooms double or twin, are tastefully appointed with local hand carved furnishings and are filled with luxurious amenities; walk-in shower, separate toilet, mini-bar, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and have the convenience of both air-conditioning and a central ceiling fan. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort

Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Price Range: RM381 - RM1,578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Club Hotel Diani
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Hotel
Indian Ocean Beach Club
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
over a year ago
isle of wight

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book an oceanfront room”
 of 5 bubbles henkc2014, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I was in Room 113. Ask for a remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles ericaz619, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for beach front every time”
 of 5 bubbles whetton, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ocean front rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles adudaliz, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you have small kids, best avoid the ocean front room because when the tide is high it will wash right into your room”
 of 5 bubbles buymorea, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay