We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands at Chale Island

Save
Share
Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401 Kenya
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1449)
Pool & Beach (335)
Room & Suite (229)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#7 of 38 hotels in Diani Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Owned and managed by the same team of sister resort The Sands At Nomad, this small, personal "boutique" resort is the perfect island getaway for those seeking the ultimate in relaxation, tranquility and Island flair. The resort was completely renovated in 2006 and has been built with a very strong focus on the envirnmental beauty of the Island. Two swimming pools, a mystical SPA and a well equiped watersports facility fullfil every wish.
Read more
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Spa
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Entertainment staff
Shuttle bus service
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
815Reviews110Q+A87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 200
  • 48
  • 21
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anonymous wrote a review 12 Jul
The accomodation was decent however the service was disappointing. The receptionist overcharged us while converting USD to KES, told us one rate and charged another, didn't even use a calculator...we ended up paying a heavy price. Be careful and check your receipt thoroughly before signing the receipt. The food is another problem you end up eating the same thing every day no variety at all. The manager is damn rude I won't be surprised if he comments on this review with a rude come back. The truth always hurts!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island
Responded 1 week ago
good morning from chale island, we were waiting to answer giving you time to write several reviews about your topic,we will further on comment on your points excluding the part regarding the management, your aggressive way in writing suggest us to do not step down to that conversation level - our exchange rates move according daily national bank rates, clearly evident could not be the same as six months ago when you paid your fees deposit at the hotel - cottages with holes in the roofs during raining season? would be not easy to run currently the business - we respect your dislike in our food taste and variety, we consider that more then 55 a la carte menu items are fair enough in terms of choices and we are actually happy to serve some at the evening buffet instead of keeping on sales only -we have sanitize station at the mainland up-on arrival,in all restaurants entrances and in all the public area outlets - all our water sports equipment as kayaking, windsurf, paddle boards and snorkeling gears are free of charge thank you for visiting us and we hope to host you again
Read more
An0nym0us2019 wrote a review 12 Jul
Lusaka, Zambia
The location is beautiful with lovely views and clean beaches. Beautiful greenery on the island as well! Staff were friendly. But that's as far as it goes. The bandas seem to be in need of repair work. Some of the rooms had holes in the roof, and there was dirt falling in every now and then. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was very average. Same repetitive menu everyday. The a la carte menu for lunch was not exciting and offered the same food being served at dinner (except for the pizzas). The covid measures that they promise on their website are not being practised. Most of the staff had their masks down in the restaurant, yet all guests were forced to have their masks on. There were not enough sanitising stations. The layout of the hotel forces guests to always have to pass through the restaurant to get from one side to another, otherwise walk through the beach. The manager isn't very responsive and somewhat arrogant when people try to address any issues with him. Activities are overpriced, don't start on time, and end quicker than the promised time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
ma_rogers81 wrote a review Jun 2021
Hong kong
I visited Sands @ Chale with my wife and two young boys (4 and 1). We stayed for 8 nights on a full board basis. We had a great time relaxing, as much as you can with two young kids. The beach Banda was great, very spacious for all of us and lots of space outside too, having direct access to the beach was very handy. We enjoyed spending time at 2 out of 3 of the pools they have. Every staff member was superb and were happy to help any request. The island is so beautiful and it was a bonus to see so many colobus monkeys, which are usually hard to see. We even fed Bobbi the bush baby after dinner, the boys loved this! The food was really good, especially the pasta and fresh fish station at dinner. We would definitely come back to stay again and will be recommending it to our friends.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go full board for sure. You are on an island, so getting off and going into Diani is harder than...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, To begin with, we appreciate the time and effort you employed just to put in a good word for us via this amazing platform. Secondly, thank you for the recommendation and we would love to let you know that the feeling was mutual, we immensely enjoyed playing host to you and your beautiful family. I cannot finalize this response without encouraging you to come visit us again during any of your future vacations so that we can proceed from whence we left, we promise it will be worth your while. Karibu.
Read more
dtlb850 wrote a review Jun 2021
Panacea, Florida
+1
I can’t even begin to explain how spectacular our trip was! I travel all over the world and this might be my new favorite! Please take a minute to check out the beautiful photos… they don’t even begin to do the beauty of this place justice! Pools? Perfect! Beach? Perfect! Food? Yummy! Wildlife? Amazing! Spa? TALENTED AND PEACEFUL! Hospitality? Impeccable! I’m still here, checking out tomorrow and I couldn’t even wait to write this! The spa makes my top three in the world and I’ve five-star spa’ed in almost every state in the US, all across Europe, the Caribbean, Asia, and Central/South America. Let me also explain that we are from Florida and while we are used to heat and humidity, we are spoiled by strong AC all the time. The first night in our bungalow was warmer than we like it and management promptly resolved the issue and brought us a fan. They did absolutely everything to make our stay absolutely perfect! I can’t wait to come back again and bring my friends!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hey, We are glad you did not manage to escape the unparalleled web of enchantments and beauty only present on our beautiful island of Chale. The Chale Island crew is overwhelmed with amusement to learn that you could no longer withhold the urge to share your unforgettable experience at our resort with the world. So much so that you posted this piece while still inhouse. It is refreshing to know that you are already planning a return trip. Well we will be right here waiting for you with bated breaths, eagerly anticipating your second visit. Thank you for visiting Chale Island and we hope to see you in the near future.
Read more
pearldrop22 wrote a review May 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
We recently stayed at Sands at Chale for 5 nights. The check in was smooth and we were shown to our penthouse which was beautiful. However as there was only ourselves and 2 other couples, the hotel seemed to be cutting corners to save costs. Both me and my partner had a reaction to the water that was probably not been treated correctly. On one of the days we had been at the pool and then just as we left we realised my partner had left his shades at the poolside. We went back straight away and the shades were not there. My partner then asked to speak to the manager as obviously it is not right that his shades went missing like this. We were told the manager is not available even though we could see he was just sitting there with his family. So my partner then insisted he wanted to see the manager, on which the manager Andreas came and instead of checking what the matter is and being polite to his guests( the ones giving him the most business staying in the penthouse ) he decides to be rude and shout and say this is my house etc. Not the way to treat your guests. After this surprise surprise the shades miraculously appeared back where we had checked already by the pool. The manager Andreas was seen every day just sitting around, not doing much. The hotel is beautiful and most of the staff were amazing but unfortunately the manager needs to be aware of how to treat guests.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Chale Island, Other at The Sands at Chale Island
Responded 8 May 2021
Good morning from Chale island, we are really disappointed to read all this, instead of writing to us an apology the way you tried in a very embarrassing fashion during your stay, you post something like this…? wow, especially avoiding to say that the only miracle was that during that scene both of you could still stand on your own feet, walking around all days with your alcoholic beverage that you brought with you more than once even puking around the hotel public area??? You misplace your shades (found exactly where you were) and scream at the reception that the amazing staff of the hotel, as you call them, were all thieves and of course the manager tried to protect our own house and the rest of the few guests who were in-house during the same period, shocked about your non sober behavior, loud own music walking around with you in a very embarrassing manner. About business, yes we really need in this particular period. BUT your type and way does not match at all with our environment
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$199 - US$286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the sands at chale island hotel diani, sands at chale island ukunda
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceUkundaDiani Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Sands at Chale Island
Which popular attractions are close to The Sands at Chale Island?
Nearby attractions include Kaya Kinondo Sacred Forest (5.5 km) and Bora Bora Widlife Park (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Sands at Chale Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at The Sands at Chale Island?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Sands at Chale Island?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Sands at Chale Island have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Sands at Chale Island offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Sands at Chale Island?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Sands at Chale Island?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Does The Sands at Chale Island have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.