We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Gun Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Gun Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Gun Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Arrived night before our booking as we had other accommodation arranged for a sad family gathering. Tried to confirm and pay for our stay with young lad who was very cheerful and helpful unfortunately the owner/manager was ask if it was okay to pay that night. She was not happy as they prefer to take the money on the night...

Thank andy l
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your review, however there are a few points i would like to raise. When you arrived loudly into the bar clearly rather inebriated yourself, tension was instantly created as you vehemently complained about the program choice of other guests while walking across the room. It was then not made clear for which room you wanted to...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Visited the restaurant on Friday evening after a beautiful walk along the nearby shore. We received a lovely warm welcome from Douglas who recommended the "Gun Lodge Stack!!" We were not disappointed. It was delicious and the steak cooked to perfection by Sheena - mother of Douglas and Fantastic Chef! One of the best meals we have had in the...

Thank 256sandra
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We love to hear that our food is being well received. Hope to see you again soon !

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The hotel is perfectly placed for the airport and the city of Inverness and the hotel overall is excellent value for money. The food was lovely and the rooms spotless. We will continue to give this hotel our business and appreciate all the efforts by all of the staff to make our stays as comfortable as possible. Iain Foreman QTS...

Thank iainforeman
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its always a pleasure to have the guys from QTS staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice accommodation. Clean and tidy.i would definitely recommend that to a fellow traveller.i must say this.in my travels i have found 5 star snobs on a beer budget that whine and complain about cheap accommodation. To the negative Nancy's if you want palatial 5 star accommodation. Why not goto the 1000 a night Hilton. The Gun lodge was extremely...

Thank peter m
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it means a lot to us to get feedback. We hope to see you again

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We arrived early on 30th August and our room wasnt ready, but they very kindly took our bags for us, decided to go into Inverness, but be aware buses are incredibly poor on this route, arrived back at our hotel later that afternoon and was shown to our room, the room was nice, but be aware there is a step...

Thank annebX7025WX
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Busses are something that we are also disappointed in and have take this up with the local council. They are generally every hour but do not run to Nairn currently. The law in Scotland is challenge 25 so we are glad that our staff asked for ID- despite being aware that at 16 a beer,...

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while touring, phoned ahead to check when dinner was served and was told chef stopped at 9pm, so had to stop to eat en route as weren't sure we would make it in time. Had a couple of drinks in bar, which then shut at 11! Rooms were comfortable and clean, and breakfast was lovely, although...

Thank Pam M
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our bar shuts at the discretion of the bar staff as we are a small family run hotel in a rural area and we do not have a night porter. It would not be economical to stay open if quiet. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This hotels smells badly of damp and wet dogs. There was a mould problem in the bathroom and corridors.The place needs a thorough clean - every surface was sticky in a nasty way, including doors and tables. Breakfast was spartan and cheap.There must be a better alternative for an Inverness Airport hotel. Why anyone would contemplate staying here for another...

Thank LadyRaGa
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Normally i would thank travellers for their review however i don't feel this review deserves it. With any negative review we try to look at it objectively and without bias to see if there is anything that we can improve however you appear to have stayed somewhere else as this is not reflective of our establishment. The only thread of...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This is the only hotel in this little town, and one of the only pubs and restaurants, as well. It's in an old building that used to house the officers from the nearby fort. This means that the rooms have some of the classic quirks that come with 300+ year old places. The windows leak some air, making it a...

Thank Ian G
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are constants carrying out rolling upgrades and hope to improve some of the quirks you have mentioned without loosing any of the charm. We hope to see you again soon.

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 21 August 2016

WE chose this place to stay because it was off the beaten track. It was an experience. Very quiet one street town. Locals and staff very friendly. Beds comfy, bathrooms clean, Restaurant was mediocre. Coffee was the worst I have ever had. large choice of whiskey made it fun for tastings

Thank Tweettbird
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are upset to have our restaurant described as mediocre as we take great pride in our food and receive much praise for our dishes. It is possible however that a dish was not to your taste so we accept this and hope if you are ever in the area again that you give us...

Inverness, Scotland
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Last night, prior to an evening visit to The Highlanders Museum at Fort Geogem, eight ladies and myself enjoyed an excellent high tea in the Gun Lodge. We were looked after by Sheena and her son Douglas, A young man with infinate patience. Nothing was too much trouble Those of us who ordered fish and chips were treated to a...

Thank Gallipoli007
Dougie F, Public Relations Manager at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again soon !

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Dining (1)
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (24)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (8)
View from Room (2)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardersier
10.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
521 reviews
15.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
15.5 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
9.2 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ardersier
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Gun lodge hotel is nestled in the quiet and historic village of Ardersier, conveniently located three miles from the airport and 25 minutes from the centre of Inverness. With our historic building, ample parking, comfortable Cromal Restaurant & whisky bar and ten charismatic en-suite bedrooms the hotel is perfect for all occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gun Lodge Hotel

Address: High Street, Ardersier, Inverness IV2 7QB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness > Ardersier
Price Range: RM408 - RM537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gun Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Gun Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Gun Lodge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Gun Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 was great, spacious and with a good size bathroom with shower.”
294kate, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs room seemed a little musty.”
N7563ULdeborahs, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the fire door on the landing, it bangs continuously.”
VictoriaW201, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 2, 11 and 12 are all great, Room 11 overlooks a water feature”
shrigson, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Due to there being no lift in the hotel, we suggest asking for a room without many stairs.”
LENMIRI, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5