We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Liana Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tena
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Liana Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

This is a well run place close to Tena (1 hour drive + 10 min boat) to get a first good impression of the Amazon. While this is probably not comparable with the isolated amazone lodges, we got a great feeling with nature and people. We stayed for 3 nights and 2 days which is sufficient to do most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
Management response:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are glad to hear that you liked your vaccations in our lodge. We really hope to welcome you back some day! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2016

A very special place, great service, very special, good guides, Eco-friendly in the middle of the Ecuadorean Amazon area. You do not want wifi or electricity, you're in the middle of the Selva! Only already the sound of the night is more than perfect. Beautiful river, great fireplace, good food, great butterflies....

Helpful?
Thank J H
Management response:

Thank you for the comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the stay in our Lodge and that you liked the amtosphere and the nature surrounding the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2016

When interested in the forest, but without an abundance of time, go here. It is a lodge with sufficient comfort (hammock, shower, good bed, candle-lit) including the meals, right next to a river (surprisingly no musquitoes, but unfortunately with sandflies). Combination of pure relaxing and activities: short walks, floating downriver, visiting animal refuge. Meals are good enough (ecuador in itself... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toemaarjongens
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We always try to improve ourselves and so it's nice to hear that you had a good time in our Lodge. We recommend repellent to avoid any sandfly bites - they aren't dangereous because they don't transmit diseases but really nasty. Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team More 

Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. No electricity & quite quaint to use candles for lighting. You need to bring a torch to navigate from the dining area back to your cabin at night Food could be a lot better - pretty boring & no good at dealing with special requests eg allergies /intolerances. Was disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doofer
Management response:

Thank you for your comment. We're sorry had bad experiences, normally it is no problem to deal with allergies and special requests in our Lodge, if you inform the reception or kitchen beforehand. Yet we hope you will come back one day! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at Cabana 3 of the Liana Lodge. The lodge is situated along the river, a 15 minutes canoe ride and 45 minutes drive from Tena bus station. Although there is no electricity in your room, nor in the restaurant area, you can charge your phone/ camera's etc at the reception, which is ofcourse really great.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCC38
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad you had a good time and Suyu will be pleased to hear your compliment. We'd like to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team More 

Groot-Ammers, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We spent three nights here with our son and we walked in the jungle, went down the river with tubes, watched the monkeys go bye and visited a small indian village on the island, the rooms were big but openly connected with the neighbours (you can hear everything), the meals were good and the service very good (they arranged extra... More 

Helpful?
Thank boerekampsj
Management response:

Thank for the positive feedback. We hope you will return some day to enjoy the Ecuadorian rainforest again. Kind regards, The Liana Lodge Team More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Liana Lodge is a boat ride from the nearest road but the rooms had hot showers and the food was excellent. Lovely location with wildlife around all the time. They lend you wellingtons for treks around the lodge. Take a torch though as you need to get from the main lodge to your room at night.

Helpful?
Thank sandjtravels
Management response:

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you will return soon! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2015

A nice place with friendly staff. You can choose tours from te menu and you get a private guide. We went on a hike and in the afternoon we searched for gold with Christian. He spoke really good german (not english). And we found gold :) (a little little bit). We liked the whole experience!

Helpful?
Thank Silvie L
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad you liked the tours and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, the Liana Lodge Team More 

Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Stay at a rustic yet comfortable lodge in the heart of the Amazon for a real jungle experience! The lodge has a restaurant with a good menu & also offers numerous tours, including a tour of the animal rescue center (Amazoonico) that is run through the same organization (Selva Viva). The entire project is very sustainable & supports the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbug882015
Management response:

Thank you for your positive feedback, we're happy you appreciate the values and concept of the Selva Viva project. We hope you will come back one day! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team More 

Bilbao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2015

It was great to spend couple of days in this lodge with the marvelous guide of Soyu, a local guide who made our visit very nice and showed us a lot about the life of his proud tribe and how to minimize our impact on the nature while keeping a good level of life It really worth the prize, so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank urkijokepa
Management response:

Thank you for your comment, Suyu will be happy to hear the positive feedback! Kind regards, the Liana Lodge team More 

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tena
2.6 km away
La Casa del Suizo
La Casa del Suizo
#1 of 1 in Puerto Napo
333 reviews
0.9 km away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia
9.8 km away
Itamandi EcoLodge
Itamandi EcoLodge
#9 of 27 in Tena
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hamadryade Lodge
Hamadryade Lodge
#11 of 27 in Tena
95 reviews
0.0 km away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
9.5 km away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge

Additional Information about Liana Lodge

Address: | Selva Viva, Ahuano, Tena, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Napo Province > Tena
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Liana Hotel Tena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Liana Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lodge without neigbours”
 of 5 bubbles Toemaarjongens, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are in lodges around the grounds, some are up hills and others near the water. This would be the only difference to my knowledge”
 of 5 bubbles sandjtravels, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The geography is you arrive on the river, then walk up a set of steps to reach the public area. From there all rooms are uphill, some quite a ways uphill. If you are lugging a lot of bags or are infirm it will be a challenge if you take a cabana very far from the entrance. Even the close ones are a climb.”
 of 5 bubbles GoOSUCowboys, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
“I loved cabin 5 - the furthest to lug your luggage, but the a great 'lost in the woods' feel! Bring a flashlight or headlamp, consider a mosquito net and good bug spray.”
 of 5 bubbles 2-4-T, 28 Apr 2013 | Read review
“First, ask to be in a cabin in which the other room is unoccupies. Otherwise, try to be as close to the main lodge as possible. This will be helpful in the rain and in the dark.”
 of 5 bubbles RoySandlapper, 20 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5